We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly dirty. Way overpriced. Horrible atmosphere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fantasia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fantasia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fantasia
184 Arset, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #451 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Tubingen, Germany
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Disgustingly dirty. Way overpriced. Horrible atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The very few positive things:
- The building itself is rather pretty (if it wasn't that rundown)
- The location is very close to Jama El Fna and it is real easy to find (which is a rare treat froa riad in marrakech)

And now the negatives:
- This place is incredibly dirty. It was soooo freaking disgusting that I would have left if it hadn't been newyears with all the places booked solid. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned for ages (dust and age old toothpaste all over the sink) plus the worst of all: the whole bathroom was splattered with puke (see pictures)!!! Sooooo gross!!!!!! And the toilet - oh my god the toilet.... I went to complain and while I was out someone apparently dis some cleaning but it was still very dirty with lots of puke left everywhere.
- The riad is really run down. Even if the place had been clean it would have still been nasty. Rugs were so old the fibre merged into some kind of solid state. The doors were half broken (looked like they'd been broken open before).
- Interior design is not nice at all. All totally cheap, no taste. Sad.
- my room's door was partly made of glass which admitted so much light into the room that it was difficult to sleep at night
- Above the door was only a mosquito screen, so all the noise that built up in the courtyard and worse the public bathroom entered the room with full force and, hell, was there a lot of noise!!! Worst of all was the owners fighting all day long. Before that you had some French tour groups in the morning and in the evening there was a TV tuned up to the extreme.
- The room was very small
- There is absolutely NO heating in the room and it does get very cold in winter there.
- breakfast was a waste of space and time
- owners weren't exactly mean but apparently had no interest in being particularly friendly either.
- There was constantly someone trying to sell drugs to the guests!!!
- the restaurant was closed all the time


There are so many really nice places in Marrakech. One like this has no right to exist next to those. It is a nasty, disgusting place that doesn't even have the standard of a hostel. One of the worst experiences of my travelling life!

Room Tip: go to antoher hotel/riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    2
    12
See reviews for
4
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel for New Years eve based on a travellers recommendation. As it was New Years eve I did expect to pay a little more. I got the last room. I accepted it and its share bathroom at DH300 to discover the room rates were published in the room at DH125. When I raised it with the owner the next morning he offered me another suite at DH300 per night which was that rooms normal rate. He seems to haveussed the point. He was grossly overcharging me. The room had dirt marks along the walls bit the share bathroom was clean enough. Just no toilet paper. Had to ask for a towel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lith, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

In a narrow street, through the dark door to a beautiful courtyard. Rooms are well maintained, clean and tastefully decorated.
Dining room and the rest of the hotel is cozy and clean. Showers are doing well as hot and cold water in the morning and in the evening.
Food is standard ones, are made ​​outside the hotel. It does not taste bad.
On the terrace, there is less well cared for. the terres has had its day and has to turn to a small maintenance. From the staff is the best man Abdul. Abdul has a special talent to do everything for the guests to his wish to make. Abdul makes the stay really komformabel and fun.

Room Tip: On the first floor with the arco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Well situated at 6 min walking from the main square Jemaa el Fna in the medina but easy to find

New Franco Moroccan team ... so friendly ... trying and succeeding to make you feel at home

Nice huge terrace with jaccuzi on two levels with nice views
Charming open patio for lovely breakfasts
Nice traditionnal but renovated bathrooms
My best address in Marrakech every time I go ... every 2 months
Enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This place was so comfortable, the owner is so lovely and the breakfast was delicious! Our room was huuuuuge, and came with an ensuite complete with a bath! It is really easy to find and not far from the main Djemaa El Ena square.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, UK
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I love the charm of this hotel, admittedly standard not as UK hotels but why would I want that in Morocco? we have stayed here many times over the last 10 years infact I only ever stay here when we visit Marrakesh, we have stayed as a couple, with our wider Moroccan family (3 rooms) and with our small child.

for all those that complain about the level of cleanliness etc this has never been as issue for us, and we have never had issues with hot water or staff.

Hotel Fantasia is not a 5* rated hotel! and it does not pretend to be, It is a charming hotel for a budget traveller and as such worth the price. as for the price per night ther taffif is on their website. the location and closeness to the square make it a great place to stay. I would also add that I feel quite safe at any time of night walking to and from this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland. NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Don't know what all the whingeing is about in other reviews, we had no problems, loved the over-the-top Morroccan decoration, and glossy pomegranate walls of the room. Sure the room was small, but it worked OK for us. Breakfast in the courtyard was adequate, and after the room we had in Barcelona which in itself wasn't too bad, this place was like dying and going to heaven! For half the price. Went back for a second stay.
David Spiers, NZ

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Address: 184 Arset, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fantasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.