We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday for the Xmas period” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hicham

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hicham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hicham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 av Mansour Eddahbi | Quartier Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #425 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A holiday for the Xmas period”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed over Xmas holidays from the 21th of December2012 till the 3rd of January 2013.The only saving grace was the people on the reception who were very helpful and tried their best to be accommodating under the circumstances.We managed to have hot water once.They moved us to another room which they promised the water situation was better but to no avail.The air conditioning didn't work,the kettle was broken and we had no bidet but only exposed pipes where they removed the bidet.The breakfast was O.K. but very boring after a while.It was the worse Hotel We ever stayed in Marrakesh,we certainly wouldn't advise anyone to stay there.the maids never cleaned our room ,only changed the bathroom towels.

Room Tip: our 4th floor was quire noisy.They had a club playing loud noise till very late at night.Rooms on si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    15
    17
    17
See reviews for
6
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you love staying near the Souk dont stay here. The best thing about this hotel is that it is not in the Souk, which personally I do not like: I dont like being aggressively accosted by people to buy things or have them follow you around if they dont, or have them demand that you pay them money when all they did was lie to you that they won't ask for money, then talk to you, and then aggressively demand money at the end. Yuck! This is why if I ever return to Marrakech I would never chose a hotel near the souk or old part of town, I dont care how good the reviews are.

Fortunately Hicham is away from all that mess. But still, although its clean, they have friendly staff, and they provide you a free breakfast every morning, which is good; other people are right that there is a loud bar downstairs that plays kareoke till 3am and also that it takes at least 3-5minutes for the shower to get between "warm" and "hot," and that is as good as it gets. The other good thing about Hicham is that it is fairly cheap. The best hotel in my opinion is Sofihotel (yes, better than momounia) if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just to say all fine here - having travelled throughout Morocco I am perhaps more experienced in terms of expecting Moroccan hotels to be very basic and not as well maintained as European hotels. People need to remember that most moroccans are very poorly paid, and it is a very different culture. I'm not sure why people expect things like eggs at breakfast in a hot African country?! Mint tea and bread are staples at breakfast and with ALL meals...people should research countries before they go and assume it will be like England...

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

IMPORTANT NEWS!! Went to Marrakech with lads an one of the lads booked this hotel where we stayed at this useless place its an out of date hotel an it is so dirty its all falling apart what ever you touch it breaks the food was ok but the waitor smelt of sweat and cig smoke, no one can even speak English at all. Even etap hotel is better than this waste of crap. weather was good overall. ADVISE!! Pay extra an if you go with friends always check the place out what the friend has booked or else you will regret. Lovely country

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

made the mistake of booking after I read the reviews, but anyway went in with a open mind. When we arrived, took one hour to book in, due to no one speaks english or very little, had to pull someone from the street and pay them.. Great start. The breakfast is not edible, bread and honey, coffee is crap and the milk was sour, we decided to give the rest of the week a miss. Staff.. Seriously perverted men 'all of them' so if your female and young, expect them to be talking to your chest and undressing you with their eyes everytime you pass there presence. Everytime my partner left me they preyed on me like a piece of meat. Female staff made fun of me throughout the stay. Rooms - air con not working, shower leaked heavily, same bed sheets for 3 days,just made the bed sockets hanging off the walls with electrics exposed, tv doesn't work if it rains outside, kettle but nothing to accompany it with so bring your teabags etc. Service, asked for a beer not realising the supermarket over the road, male worker says.. I bring you special beer.. clearly ran over the road and bought one for 9dhs (I reliased later when I went there.. and charged me 35dhs. Staff are so so rude its unbelievable! Perverted moroccans off the street pay to mess around in the pool all day, splashing fellow hotel stayers who are minding their own buisness. And if your thinking of sunbathing, get to a sunlounger by 10.30am as there are only 4 loungers and one of them is broken.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The hotel rooms were average, I was happy with the rooms. The food, now here is where we have problems. No eggs for breakfast, the breakfast was so boring, all you see is bread, bread and lots of bread and don’t forget the mint tea, not a healthy breakfast. The staff was miserable and they only speak a little English. The evening meal, lots of salad and bread, the main course was boring, we had to pay for water and for desert either a banana and an apple or a yoghurt. The receptionist does not have a smile on their faces, unbelievable. This hotel was like come here, pay and disappear, we don’t know how to make friends. If a couple is thinking of going to this hotel, please don’t, I will assure you; you will be depressed in a couple of hours, this hotel is very empty. Pay a bit extra and find a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This Hotel leaves a lot to be desired, it advertises a buffet style meal service "nonsense" you are served one choice and are usually the left overs from the day before ! Restauarant staff are very rude and arrogant especially Mohammed who in my opinion should be sacked !! however Sherriff deserves every dirham he earns, hes a lovely man.
The Hotel is noisy loud music every night at the adjoining bar, frequented by Ladies of the night. The whole appearance is shabby, outdated, pool very shaded and not clean, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, Lowcost holidays and Holidays for you should be reported to ATOL this hotel is the pits

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hicham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hicham

Address: 4 av Mansour Eddahbi | Quartier Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hicham 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hicham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicham Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hicham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.