We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hicham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hicham to your Saves list
Hotel Hicham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 av Mansour Eddahbi | Quartier Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #417 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you love staying near the Souk dont stay here. The best thing about this hotel is that it is not in the Souk, which personally I do not like: I dont like being aggressively accosted by people to buy things or have them follow you around if they dont, or have them demand that you pay them money when all they did was lie to you that they won't ask for money, then talk to you, and then aggressively demand money at the end. Yuck! This is why if I ever return to Marrakech I would never chose a hotel near the souk or old part of town, I dont care how good the reviews are.

Fortunately Hicham is away from all that mess. But still, although its clean, they have friendly staff, and they provide you a free breakfast every morning, which is good; other people are right that there is a loud bar downstairs that plays kareoke till 3am and also that it takes at least 3-5minutes for the shower to get between "warm" and "hot," and that is as good as it gets. The other good thing about Hicham is that it is fairly cheap. The best hotel in my opinion is Sofihotel (yes, better than momounia) if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    17
    17
    17
See reviews for
6
26
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just to say all fine here - having travelled throughout Morocco I am perhaps more experienced in terms of expecting Moroccan hotels to be very basic and not as well maintained as European hotels. People need to remember that most moroccans are very poorly paid, and it is a very different culture. I'm not sure why people expect things like eggs at breakfast in a hot African country?! Mint tea and bread are staples at breakfast and with ALL meals...people should research countries before they go and assume it will be like England...

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

IMPORTANT NEWS!! Went to Marrakech with lads an one of the lads booked this hotel where we stayed at this useless place its an out of date hotel an it is so dirty its all falling apart what ever you touch it breaks the food was ok but the waitor smelt of sweat and cig smoke, no one can even speak English at all. Even etap hotel is better than this waste of crap. weather was good overall. ADVISE!! Pay extra an if you go with friends always check the place out what the friend has booked or else you will regret. Lovely country

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

made the mistake of booking after I read the reviews, but anyway went in with a open mind. When we arrived, took one hour to book in, due to no one speaks english or very little, had to pull someone from the street and pay them.. Great start. The breakfast is not edible, bread and honey, coffee is crap and the milk was sour, we decided to give the rest of the week a miss. Staff.. Seriously perverted men 'all of them' so if your female and young, expect them to be talking to your chest and undressing you with their eyes everytime you pass there presence. Everytime my partner left me they preyed on me like a piece of meat. Female staff made fun of me throughout the stay. Rooms - air con not working, shower leaked heavily, same bed sheets for 3 days,just made the bed sockets hanging off the walls with electrics exposed, tv doesn't work if it rains outside, kettle but nothing to accompany it with so bring your teabags etc. Service, asked for a beer not realising the supermarket over the road, male worker says.. I bring you special beer.. clearly ran over the road and bought one for 9dhs (I reliased later when I went there.. and charged me 35dhs. Staff are so so rude its unbelievable! Perverted moroccans off the street pay to mess around in the pool all day, splashing fellow hotel stayers who are minding their own buisness. And if your thinking of sunbathing, get to a sunlounger by 10.30am as there are only 4 loungers and one of them is broken.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The hotel rooms were average, I was happy with the rooms. The food, now here is where we have problems. No eggs for breakfast, the breakfast was so boring, all you see is bread, bread and lots of bread and don’t forget the mint tea, not a healthy breakfast. The staff was miserable and they only speak a little English. The evening meal, lots of salad and bread, the main course was boring, we had to pay for water and for desert either a banana and an apple or a yoghurt. The receptionist does not have a smile on their faces, unbelievable. This hotel was like come here, pay and disappear, we don’t know how to make friends. If a couple is thinking of going to this hotel, please don’t, I will assure you; you will be depressed in a couple of hours, this hotel is very empty. Pay a bit extra and find a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

This Hotel leaves a lot to be desired, it advertises a buffet style meal service "nonsense" you are served one choice and are usually the left overs from the day before ! Restauarant staff are very rude and arrogant especially Mohammed who in my opinion should be sacked !! however Sherriff deserves every dirham he earns, hes a lovely man.
The Hotel is noisy loud music every night at the adjoining bar, frequented by Ladies of the night. The whole appearance is shabby, outdated, pool very shaded and not clean, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, Lowcost holidays and Holidays for you should be reported to ATOL this hotel is the pits

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Yes, the hotel has seen better days and is looking a little tired but it wasnt an expensive hotel so I wont complain. the room was quite large for a single and the bed was comfortable and bigger than a normal single bed. There was aircon/heating which worked and enough cupboard space for me and plenty enough blankets to keep me warm on a cold Moroccan evening. If you wanted it there was a tv that worked that had a channel dedicated to English speaking films with Moroccan/Arabic subtitles. The bathroom was large enough and it had plenty of hot water. The shower didnt quite fit properly in its holder and escaped a couple of times soaking the floor but the cleaner always cleared it up and gave me fresh dry towels each morning. The room was cleaned, beds made and fresh towels given every day. The breakfast was the same as in most hotels, many different types of bread type products, olives, butter and a selection of jams/honey. There was mint tea, teabags (I think) and coffee (though their coffee was probably the worst I have tasted in Morocco). There was a large balcony that opened onto the main road at the front. I was concerned about noise but with the door shut I couldnt hear a thing. If I had to make a complaint it would be that with the heavy doors and the noisy locks you were disturbed when people came in and out. I don't think you could be quiet getting in and out of your room if you tried! The hotel staff really were friendly and amazingly helpful, I could not fault them at all. Every staff member I came across really was an asset to the hotel. If I was after a budget hotel in this part of town I would definately use them again. Although I felt it was quite expensive for a late check out the hotel quite happily kept luggage behind the front desk.

Just out onto the main road, turning left is an eaterie called 404. If you are after budget food that tastes good then this is the place for you. If you turn right on the main road, just opposite the petrol station is a supermarket (Acimas?) that sells alcohol. Again turning left, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk from supratours (turn right when you get to the train station). Though I didn't get the bus to the airport the number 19 takes you there and you catch it from near the tourist office. The medina was a 25 - 35 minute walk away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hicham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hicham

Address: 4 av Mansour Eddahbi | Quartier Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hicham 3*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hicham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicham Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hicham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.