We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Baraka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Save Saved
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Dar Baraka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Dar Baraka for five days in May. The welcome was faultless and the large tastefully decorated rooms and amenities excellent. The riad is an oasis of calm, well located for access to the main medina (7 mins) and to the museum. Dinner on our second night was delicious served in the lovely courtyard surroundings. Breakfast on the roof terrace (or downstairs courtyard if damp) was very good. The riad is a bit off the beaten track, so would recommend that you take advantage of the airport transfer...saves a lot of hassles. Only real downside is for those keen to remain connected, they will be disappointed - the Wi-fi was patchy at best. That aside, all in all, a great place to venture forth into Marrakesh.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is so gratifying to read your fantastic review! We loved taking care of you and we have some wonderful memories of your stay with us. Sorry for the problems wifi, the connection quality is not stable in the medina because of the thickness of the walls. we hoped that it did’nt leave a bad impression on the quality of our services. May be see you again in the futureTake care of yourself. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Riad Baraka is clean, quiet, good-value accommodation for people looking to explore the true nature of Marrakesh. Hidden away down a slightly foreboding alley-way, the riad has five rooms - two each on the ground and first floors and a fifth on the roof-top. Breakfast is simple (continental) but filling, and can be taken on the roof-top (be aware of bees!), in the courtyard or in the games room. Our host Ahmed was always helpful and the service he provided was good - he gave us a map and some essential geographical information when we arrived. Located to the north-west of the main medina square, the riad offers a great location if you're intending to explore Jemaa el fna (10 minute walk), use the local bus station (10 minute walk), see the new city (15 minute walk) or get a train (30 minute walk to the train station). Unlike certain other locations within Marrakesh, which can be a bit tourist-orientated, you feel here that you're seeing the real-deal - Marrakeshi's living everyday life. A good place for backpackers, groups of friends and couples who want to spend more money on eating, drinking , sight-seeing and buying over-priced tagines than they do on accommodation!

Room Tip: In rooms on the bottom floor the call to prayer is barely audible but you do occasionally get noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We thank you for writing about Dar Baraka Karam, sorry for the bees, it's beyond our control, the beautiful smell of mint that attract them.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our riad, we hope to see you in the future.
Regards from all the team. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I did not enjoy my holiday in Marrakech, the people I encountered were 99 percent of the time after your money trying to sell you something. HOWEVER, I would go back to Marrakech one day ONLY if I am able to stay at this AMAZING hotel again.

Good points:
1. The cleaner is an amazing woman, I can't remember her name but the main cleaner was such a sweet lovely lovely lady! The rooms were cleaned once a day, beds made, bathroom cleaned and I felt safe to leave all my belongings out in the open to not get stolen. My friend even ripped the curtain by accident one day and the next day when we came in it was fixed and we weren't charged or told off, we felt very embarrassed at how lovely she was!

2. Breakfast is AMAZING, True Moroccan style breakfast served. Clean food, clean plates. Fresh bread every morning, 2 kinds, a huge jug of freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee, 3 different kinds of jam, butter, tasty fried eggs, pancakes, yogurt, all brought at once, however, it is the same stuff every day, every other day there's a different kind of bread, etc. We only got bed and breakfast so didn't get a chance to try the lunch or dinner options.

3. The hotel in in a great location, about a 10 minute walk to the main square, the Djemaa el Fna. A 30 second walk out the alleyway is where a lot of cabs/taxi's are waiting so transporting around is cheap and easy.

4. Ask for the room right at the top, the door opens out to the balcony/roof which is absolutely stunning, you can see all of marrakech from there, the roof is absolutely beautiful at night, we used to spend our evenings there, eating snacks, smoking shisha, playing cards. The rooms we stayed in had a bathroom with a toilet, sink and shower, all clean and working well.

5. The hotel was never noisy, we could sleep well at night, however, we got woken up many times early in the morning by the sound of the mosque and the azan going off multiple times (not in sync with each other) very loud, but that had nothing to do with the hotel, you would hear that anywhere in Marrakesh.

Bad points:
NONE!
However, the alleyway to the hotel is very dark and a bit scary at night, full of stray cats outside the hotel and a few weirdo's, but as long as you are not alone it is fine, it's the same anywhere in Morocco at night, so just be careful, it can be a dangerous country if you are not with a man.

Also, there was no pool, but the view, homely moroccan feel and location makes up for it!

Room Tip: Pick the room right at the top with the door opening up to the roof, you will NOT be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations clients at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
nice review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. we are very happy to read you. All the best from Ahmed and his team, they wish to see you an other time. As we say in Morocco, you have a second home in Marrakech now. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepajv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

You do need one of those kids to help you find it when the taxi (which you shouldn't pay more than 100 dirham for from the airport) drops you off. You're closer than you think, but it's good to get help the first time. You likely won't need assistance for the remainder of your trip.
Ahmed greeted us very hospitably on our arrival and served lovely syrupy mint tea (remember to ask for half the sugar if you prefer, tea in Marrakech is served very sweet in general). The check-in process took a while, but it was easy enough and our group was thankful for a bit of a respite in the cool interior of the riad. Ahmed led us to lunch at Dar Cherifa from the riad, upon our inquiry for a recommendation.
The service was very nice and all of the staff were very eager to help where they could throughout our stay. We had many pots of mint tea, served at all times of the day.
The breakfast is the perfect start to the day, enjoy the delicate crepes.
The medina is just across the road, so it's a nice separation from the hecticness that comes with the souk area, but easy to get to.
The beds are firm, but they were perfect for us and we slept quite well.

Room Tip: There is only wifi in the lower common spaces, so don't expect it in the rooms. Dar Baraka/ Dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in the Riad.As i suggest it's better to get a transfer arrival .We are looking forward to meet you next time.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

ahmed is a hard working host, must be mentioned, trying to satisfy, but he simply is not able to let me forget the old, dark, cold, small, and noizy room at the patio.

the roof terrace is well done, but for the price or a bit more I get a stunning riad in Marrakech with a swimmingpool and a nice decorated and light room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review,i will do the best for your next visit in marrakech to give you a very quite room.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming Riad, close to the Souk and main square is a haven in comparison to the alleyways which lead to its front door. The staff want to make your stay pleasant and their finishing touches - such as courtyard fountains festooned with candles and roses, extra sun hats on the roof top terrace, platters of strawberries and dates in each bedroom add to the charm of this peaceful surrounding. We were a group of 10 on an art tour and found plenty of areas on all 3 levels to draw or paint, watch the setting sun, listen to the hum of the city from the rooftop whilst taking mint tea or breakfast and generally experience the best of Marrakech. Comfortable bedrooms and airconditioned should the heat be too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. . All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked this via BA after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Well first impressions you do wonder what you are going to - the taxi pulls up, you are immediately accosted by a couple of people wanting to show you the way and carry bags. To be honest you do need them the first time as you are unlikely to find it on your own. You are taken down twisty alleyway route - filfthy, dark and building work going on around you, path unmade and building materials littering the way... You arrive at the door and the 'porters' want your money - we gave them 25 dhms and they weren't impressed - we held our ground on the basis that our guidebook indicates that unskilled workers normally only earn 100dhms a week.

And then you enter the Riad itself and it's an oasis in a mucky noisy world. It's not luxurious but it has a clean, quiet simple beauty. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak enough English for us to understand them, and them us.

We had a ground floor room, I think I would have preferred one upstairs but it was fine and other residents were all considerate in preserving the peace. The bed was extreemly hard I'm afraid and I didn't sleep well at all. That's normal for me the first night but by the fourth I still wasn't sleeping well primarly due to how hard the bed is. Also if you sleep lightly you may want to take ear plugs - call to prayer at 5.30 is quite loud as you are between several mosques all of whom do seperate calls!!

Highlight is definitely breakfast on the roof - relaxed and warm in the sun with blue skies and birds singing :) Vanilla yoghurt, pancakes, eggs and bread with jam and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square - you can go around the edge of the souks area along a main road. Or you can take a bit longer during the day and go through the souks - take a compass!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.