We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

ahmed is a hard working host, must be mentioned, trying to satisfy, but he simply is not able to let me forget the old, dark, cold, small, and noizy room at the patio.

the roof terrace is well done, but for the price or a bit more I get a stunning riad in Marrakech with a swimmingpool and a nice decorated and light room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review,i will do the best for your next visit in marrakech to give you a very quite room.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    65
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
88
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming Riad, close to the Souk and main square is a haven in comparison to the alleyways which lead to its front door. The staff want to make your stay pleasant and their finishing touches - such as courtyard fountains festooned with candles and roses, extra sun hats on the roof top terrace, platters of strawberries and dates in each bedroom add to the charm of this peaceful surrounding. We were a group of 10 on an art tour and found plenty of areas on all 3 levels to draw or paint, watch the setting sun, listen to the hum of the city from the rooftop whilst taking mint tea or breakfast and generally experience the best of Marrakech. Comfortable bedrooms and airconditioned should the heat be too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. . All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked this via BA after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Well first impressions you do wonder what you are going to - the taxi pulls up, you are immediately accosted by a couple of people wanting to show you the way and carry bags. To be honest you do need them the first time as you are unlikely to find it on your own. You are taken down twisty alleyway route - filfthy, dark and building work going on around you, path unmade and building materials littering the way... You arrive at the door and the 'porters' want your money - we gave them 25 dhms and they weren't impressed - we held our ground on the basis that our guidebook indicates that unskilled workers normally only earn 100dhms a week.

And then you enter the Riad itself and it's an oasis in a mucky noisy world. It's not luxurious but it has a clean, quiet simple beauty. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak enough English for us to understand them, and them us.

We had a ground floor room, I think I would have preferred one upstairs but it was fine and other residents were all considerate in preserving the peace. The bed was extreemly hard I'm afraid and I didn't sleep well at all. That's normal for me the first night but by the fourth I still wasn't sleeping well primarly due to how hard the bed is. Also if you sleep lightly you may want to take ear plugs - call to prayer at 5.30 is quite loud as you are between several mosques all of whom do seperate calls!!

Highlight is definitely breakfast on the roof - relaxed and warm in the sun with blue skies and birds singing :) Vanilla yoghurt, pancakes, eggs and bread with jam and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square - you can go around the edge of the souks area along a main road. Or you can take a bit longer during the day and go through the souks - take a compass!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is very simple but decorated in a lovely way and with care, simply beatiful.
It's not far from Jama El Fna, but we hardly recomend to take the transfer from the aeroport since arriving there for the first time it isn't easy. Transfer and also excursions sevices work perfectly.
The Stuff of the hotel is extremely nice and diligent, and they speak good English. The breakfast on the terrace has been one of the best things of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Being dropped off at the end of the street and trying to find the Riad was something i will never forget. As two young females and sticking out like a sore thumb with our luggage we were a target to be hassled. A young man did walk us to our Riad but for a fee (later we found out how we gave FAR too much!) :) But it was all part of the experience. The riad its self is stunning and very tradional which we enjoyed. The staff and food that was served was fantastic and everyone was willing to help. Its a very safe and simple walk to the square and once we learnt it once we never got hassled again (just dont carry your suitcases around as they will spot you!) I enjoyed sitting up the top of the roof and in the sunshine away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech aswell. There was a small question of city tax that i was sure i paid through the booking (just be aware of this) but apart from that i would definately reccomend this goregous Riad and a place to base yourself whilst staying in Marrakech. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Riad Dar Baraka & Karam was our base for a 5 day tip to Marrakech early in February. The Riad is within easy walking distance of most of the major attractions in the City including the best restaurants. The interior is authentically finished and makes for a fantastic contrast to the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets and alleyways. Our room which opened onto the inner courtyard on the ground floor was simply furnished but very comfortable with a stone bath/shower room. The traditional open inner courtyard was beautiful with a fountain in the centre and places to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. The roof terrace also provided a great place to just sit out and enjoy the Marrakech experience. The staff are friendly and always helpful even when limited by the language barrier. We thoroughly recommend this Riad as a base of operations whilst in Marrakech, don’t be put off by the walk to the taxi drop-off point to the front door, it’s all part of being in Marrakech!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this Riad at the beginning of February, we were shown to our Riad by someone on the corner of the street, we would never have found it without but someone showing you the way and being paid seems to be customary in Marrakesh. It is down some alleys and does not look hopeful untl you get inside the small door. We were greeted by an extremely friendly gentleman who made us mint tea and showed us around the Riad, the roof terrace was lovely but very litle view apart from satellite dishes but I think this is the same for most of Marrakesh. We had beakfast up here and it was so peaceful. Our room was not very wide and you have to get into bed from the bottom but it was very comfortable, clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted. We had breakfast each morning and had dinner here one evening and the food was lovely, there is no "service" as such, they give you your meal and disappear, we had to order the morning we wanted so that they can prepare, take your own drink even if it is a soft drink. We had a slight issue at the end of the holiday regarding the tourist tax which we are sure was already paid. This could not be sorted before we had to leave so they have trusted us to sort it out now we are back and let them know whether we have paid the taxes or not. It was a lovely Riad and I would definitely go back, it is in a very central location 5 minutes from the souks and in a really peaceful location.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, if you are on a floor upstairs they do not have a lift and the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#166 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.9 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#113 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.