We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in hot Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis in hot Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This charming Riad, close to the Souk and main square is a haven in comparison to the alleyways which lead to its front door. The staff want to make your stay pleasant and their finishing touches - such as courtyard fountains festooned with candles and roses, extra sun hats on the roof top terrace, platters of strawberries and dates in each bedroom add to the charm of this peaceful surrounding. We were a group of 10 on an art tour and found plenty of areas on all 3 levels to draw or paint, watch the setting sun, listen to the hum of the city from the rooftop whilst taking mint tea or breakfast and generally experience the best of Marrakech. Comfortable bedrooms and airconditioned should the heat be too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Baraka Karam, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. . All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    60
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
80
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked this via BA after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor.

Well first impressions you do wonder what you are going to - the taxi pulls up, you are immediately accosted by a couple of people wanting to show you the way and carry bags. To be honest you do need them the first time as you are unlikely to find it on your own. You are taken down twisty alleyway route - filfthy, dark and building work going on around you, path unmade and building materials littering the way... You arrive at the door and the 'porters' want your money - we gave them 25 dhms and they weren't impressed - we held our ground on the basis that our guidebook indicates that unskilled workers normally only earn 100dhms a week.

And then you enter the Riad itself and it's an oasis in a mucky noisy world. It's not luxurious but it has a clean, quiet simple beauty. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak enough English for us to understand them, and them us.

We had a ground floor room, I think I would have preferred one upstairs but it was fine and other residents were all considerate in preserving the peace. The bed was extreemly hard I'm afraid and I didn't sleep well at all. That's normal for me the first night but by the fourth I still wasn't sleeping well primarly due to how hard the bed is. Also if you sleep lightly you may want to take ear plugs - call to prayer at 5.30 is quite loud as you are between several mosques all of whom do seperate calls!!

Highlight is definitely breakfast on the roof - relaxed and warm in the sun with blue skies and birds singing :) Vanilla yoghurt, pancakes, eggs and bread with jam and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The riad is about ten minutes walk to the main square - you can go around the edge of the souks area along a main road. Or you can take a bit longer during the day and go through the souks - take a compass!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is very simple but decorated in a lovely way and with care, simply beatiful.
It's not far from Jama El Fna, but we hardly recomend to take the transfer from the aeroport since arriving there for the first time it isn't easy. Transfer and also excursions sevices work perfectly.
The Stuff of the hotel is extremely nice and diligent, and they speak good English. The breakfast on the terrace has been one of the best things of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Being dropped off at the end of the street and trying to find the Riad was something i will never forget. As two young females and sticking out like a sore thumb with our luggage we were a target to be hassled. A young man did walk us to our Riad but for a fee (later we found out how we gave FAR too much!) :) But it was all part of the experience. The riad its self is stunning and very tradional which we enjoyed. The staff and food that was served was fantastic and everyone was willing to help. Its a very safe and simple walk to the square and once we learnt it once we never got hassled again (just dont carry your suitcases around as they will spot you!) I enjoyed sitting up the top of the roof and in the sunshine away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech aswell. There was a small question of city tax that i was sure i paid through the booking (just be aware of this) but apart from that i would definately reccomend this goregous Riad and a place to base yourself whilst staying in Marrakech. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Riad Dar Baraka & Karam was our base for a 5 day tip to Marrakech early in February. The Riad is within easy walking distance of most of the major attractions in the City including the best restaurants. The interior is authentically finished and makes for a fantastic contrast to the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets and alleyways. Our room which opened onto the inner courtyard on the ground floor was simply furnished but very comfortable with a stone bath/shower room. The traditional open inner courtyard was beautiful with a fountain in the centre and places to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. The roof terrace also provided a great place to just sit out and enjoy the Marrakech experience. The staff are friendly and always helpful even when limited by the language barrier. We thoroughly recommend this Riad as a base of operations whilst in Marrakech, don’t be put off by the walk to the taxi drop-off point to the front door, it’s all part of being in Marrakech!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this Riad at the beginning of February, we were shown to our Riad by someone on the corner of the street, we would never have found it without but someone showing you the way and being paid seems to be customary in Marrakesh. It is down some alleys and does not look hopeful untl you get inside the small door. We were greeted by an extremely friendly gentleman who made us mint tea and showed us around the Riad, the roof terrace was lovely but very litle view apart from satellite dishes but I think this is the same for most of Marrakesh. We had beakfast up here and it was so peaceful. Our room was not very wide and you have to get into bed from the bottom but it was very comfortable, clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted. We had breakfast each morning and had dinner here one evening and the food was lovely, there is no "service" as such, they give you your meal and disappear, we had to order the morning we wanted so that they can prepare, take your own drink even if it is a soft drink. We had a slight issue at the end of the holiday regarding the tourist tax which we are sure was already paid. This could not be sorted before we had to leave so they have trusted us to sort it out now we are back and let them know whether we have paid the taxes or not. It was a lovely Riad and I would definitely go back, it is in a very central location 5 minutes from the souks and in a really peaceful location.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, if you are on a floor upstairs they do not have a lift and the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay at Dar Baraka. A group of 3 friends on our second visit to Marrakech. We booked through Expedia and the Riad offers transfers to and from the airport for 150 Dirhams, I would highly recommend you take this option as it could be very hard to find without some help. Our only negative comment would be that we had difficulty getting hold of anyone at the Riad in the days before we left to confirm our transfer, which did lead to some confusion when we arrived.

It was very quiet when we stayed and we were offered two double rooms on the ground floor (1 & 2) these were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable with wonderful showers and limitless hot water - something that was sadly lacking on our previous stay at a different Riad.

Breakfast is served on the roof top if warm enough or in one of the numerous seating areas scattered around the Riad. We had fresh breads, pancakes, jams, eggs, orange juice, coffee and mint tea all delightfully served up by Ahmed the host.

We spent out days finding our way to the main square and had our best meals at the food stalls in the square, pick one with lots of locals at it - we ate at no's 22 and 20 and were both very good. Cafe Arabe was nice for a drink as we wandered home.

The highlight of our stay was a trip to the Atlas Mountains, arranged via Ahmed at the Riad, for 250 dirhams each our driver took us to the foothills of the mountains for the day. There are some stops en route which were interesting but aimed at selling you various things such as jewellery, carpets and toiletries/herbs but you can choose to go straight there if you prefer.

We followed a river gorge to the top and then proceeded on foot to see the waterfalls. A guide will take you up but make sure that you agree a price before setting off and I cannot stress enough the importance of wearing sensible shoes for this trip! You have a choice of how far you go up but even to make it to the first waterfall is quite a trek and a scramble up rock faces with no handrail or "pathway" to follow, we LOVED it and was such a welcome change from the safety conscious world we live in at home but be warned it is not for the feint hearted or less able bodied. We were wearing sensible shoes and made it to the highest waterfall, via a vertical ladder (tip to be paid to attendant) and this was the highlight of our stay.

We loved Marrakech and loved this Riad :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.