We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Save Saved
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this Riad at the beginning of February, we were shown to our Riad by someone on the corner of the street, we would never have found it without but someone showing you the way and being paid seems to be customary in Marrakesh. It is down some alleys and does not look hopeful untl you get inside the small door. We were greeted by an extremely friendly gentleman who made us mint tea and showed us around the Riad, the roof terrace was lovely but very litle view apart from satellite dishes but I think this is the same for most of Marrakesh. We had beakfast up here and it was so peaceful. Our room was not very wide and you have to get into bed from the bottom but it was very comfortable, clean and perfectly adequate for what we wanted. We had breakfast each morning and had dinner here one evening and the food was lovely, there is no "service" as such, they give you your meal and disappear, we had to order the morning we wanted so that they can prepare, take your own drink even if it is a soft drink. We had a slight issue at the end of the holiday regarding the tourist tax which we are sure was already paid. This could not be sorted before we had to leave so they have trusted us to sort it out now we are back and let them know whether we have paid the taxes or not. It was a lovely Riad and I would definitely go back, it is in a very central location 5 minutes from the souks and in a really peaceful location.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, if you are on a floor upstairs they do not have a lift and the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay at Dar Baraka. A group of 3 friends on our second visit to Marrakech. We booked through Expedia and the Riad offers transfers to and from the airport for 150 Dirhams, I would highly recommend you take this option as it could be very hard to find without some help. Our only negative comment would be that we had difficulty getting hold of anyone at the Riad in the days before we left to confirm our transfer, which did lead to some confusion when we arrived.

It was very quiet when we stayed and we were offered two double rooms on the ground floor (1 & 2) these were beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable with wonderful showers and limitless hot water - something that was sadly lacking on our previous stay at a different Riad.

Breakfast is served on the roof top if warm enough or in one of the numerous seating areas scattered around the Riad. We had fresh breads, pancakes, jams, eggs, orange juice, coffee and mint tea all delightfully served up by Ahmed the host.

We spent out days finding our way to the main square and had our best meals at the food stalls in the square, pick one with lots of locals at it - we ate at no's 22 and 20 and were both very good. Cafe Arabe was nice for a drink as we wandered home.

The highlight of our stay was a trip to the Atlas Mountains, arranged via Ahmed at the Riad, for 250 dirhams each our driver took us to the foothills of the mountains for the day. There are some stops en route which were interesting but aimed at selling you various things such as jewellery, carpets and toiletries/herbs but you can choose to go straight there if you prefer.

We followed a river gorge to the top and then proceeded on foot to see the waterfalls. A guide will take you up but make sure that you agree a price before setting off and I cannot stress enough the importance of wearing sensible shoes for this trip! You have a choice of how far you go up but even to make it to the first waterfall is quite a trek and a scramble up rock faces with no handrail or "pathway" to follow, we LOVED it and was such a welcome change from the safety conscious world we live in at home but be warned it is not for the feint hearted or less able bodied. We were wearing sensible shoes and made it to the highest waterfall, via a vertical ladder (tip to be paid to attendant) and this was the highlight of our stay.

We loved Marrakech and loved this Riad :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were here for a short trip over Christmas to get away from the Xmas hype of home. We booked a taxi from the airport through the Riad, and it all went beautifully (apart for the tip to the cart boys, seems the other group paid that, under duress :-)).

The Riad was great, the three of us, myself, my wife and daughter, all loved it at first sight. Yes it is down a few alleyways, but the old city is like that. The rooms were bight, airy and clean, the bathroom worked well, the safe was a bonus.

Ahmed works hard, I hope he gets a decent wage, and the ladies were all friendly and happy. We enjoyed the breakfasts, a bit samey, but varied and plenty (loved the orange juice).

The location is just right, close to Dar-el-Bacha, a convenient dropping point for taxis, near enough to all of the main sights, and crucially for us, close to Gueliz which has a variety of restaurants to rescue you from tagines and couscous every day.

The day we arrived was hot, but most of the rest of the week was milder, but that was fine, I am not one for the heat.

We travelled to Essaouira on the local buses. I was cagey about this, but my wife and daughter really wanted to, and although it was 3 hours each way, it was not a problem and flew by.

Be aware that smoking in restaurants is still permitted in Morocco. This was not a problem in local restaurants, but the foreign restaurants in Gueliz can get smoggy.

Room Tip: Take low value Dirhams for tipping on first day, but don't take too many, you'll get a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved staying at Barak Karam earlier this month. Ahmed the host is wonderful and was attentive to all our needs. This Riad is a hidden gem amongst the winding streets of Bab Doukkala andThe roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after wandering through the Medina and the Souks. The breakfast was a traditional taste of the area and varied daily, there were 3 types of jam and homemade yogurt (we think) - tip: jam works well in the yogurt!!!

We thoroughly recommend this Riad for a couple to stay in Marrakech - tip top.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the roof terrace - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Baraka for 5 nights. As it was our first time in Marrakech, we were positively surprised.
We booked a transfer from the airport and at our arrival in the town centre they were already waiting for us to bring our suitcases to the Riad (not for free, of course... After a couple of hours in Marrakech you´ll notice that nothing is for free... You have to give a tip to everyone, even if you ask for a street direction).
It´s located just 10 minutes from Jamaa El-Fna, in the middle of the old town, with its narrow and dark streets. At first, it might seem scary but it´s not: it´s a quiet location in a typical neighbourhood.
Beatiful patio, nice room with big bed, a sofa, an impresively beatiful bathroom, heating, no TV, free safety deposit box... all with a chic moroccan style. Perfect!
Best thing: Breakfast... Served in the roof terrace, with lounge sofas. Fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, milk, fruit, mermelades, local bread and toasts... delicious!
Staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echt, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

When you visit marrakech then this Riad in the old medina is a really good choise. Very clean, nice rooms with very good beds and pillows and a beautiful bathroom. The riad ordered many original features from the 17th century including magnificent ceilings. The typical Moroccan breakfast will served at the rooftop, so you can enjoy your breakfast in the sun, with bad weather, there is a nice breakfast room. The service was excellent, always very helpful and friendly.
From the riad it is just 10 minutes to walk to the djna el fna the main square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dar Baraka for a week. Easy to find, very attentive staff, extremely clean and good service. The riad is very small - only 5 rooms. Windows, with shutters, open on to the courtyard and talk from neighbouring rooms is very clear. No TV means that it's a welcome break from the outside world. The area appears very safe although the group of guys hanging around the door way each night is a little intimidating at first, however they were friendly enough. If you want a small and intimate riad which is clean and with great service then this is your place. If you want a larger riad with more amenities, then you'd need to look elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay and certainly worth considering again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Prestigia, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.