We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Save Saved
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #391 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were here for a short trip over Christmas to get away from the Xmas hype of home. We booked a taxi from the airport through the Riad, and it all went beautifully (apart for the tip to the cart boys, seems the other group paid that, under duress :-)).

The Riad was great, the three of us, myself, my wife and daughter, all loved it at first sight. Yes it is down a few alleyways, but the old city is like that. The rooms were bight, airy and clean, the bathroom worked well, the safe was a bonus.

Ahmed works hard, I hope he gets a decent wage, and the ladies were all friendly and happy. We enjoyed the breakfasts, a bit samey, but varied and plenty (loved the orange juice).

The location is just right, close to Dar-el-Bacha, a convenient dropping point for taxis, near enough to all of the main sights, and crucially for us, close to Gueliz which has a variety of restaurants to rescue you from tagines and couscous every day.

The day we arrived was hot, but most of the rest of the week was milder, but that was fine, I am not one for the heat.

We travelled to Essaouira on the local buses. I was cagey about this, but my wife and daughter really wanted to, and although it was 3 hours each way, it was not a problem and flew by.

Be aware that smoking in restaurants is still permitted in Morocco. This was not a problem in local restaurants, but the foreign restaurants in Gueliz can get smoggy.

Room Tip: Take low value Dirhams for tipping on first day, but don't take too many, you'll get a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved staying at Barak Karam earlier this month. Ahmed the host is wonderful and was attentive to all our needs. This Riad is a hidden gem amongst the winding streets of Bab Doukkala andThe roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after wandering through the Medina and the Souks. The breakfast was a traditional taste of the area and varied daily, there were 3 types of jam and homemade yogurt (we think) - tip: jam works well in the yogurt!!!

We thoroughly recommend this Riad for a couple to stay in Marrakech - tip top.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the roof terrace - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Baraka for 5 nights. As it was our first time in Marrakech, we were positively surprised.
We booked a transfer from the airport and at our arrival in the town centre they were already waiting for us to bring our suitcases to the Riad (not for free, of course... After a couple of hours in Marrakech you´ll notice that nothing is for free... You have to give a tip to everyone, even if you ask for a street direction).
It´s located just 10 minutes from Jamaa El-Fna, in the middle of the old town, with its narrow and dark streets. At first, it might seem scary but it´s not: it´s a quiet location in a typical neighbourhood.
Beatiful patio, nice room with big bed, a sofa, an impresively beatiful bathroom, heating, no TV, free safety deposit box... all with a chic moroccan style. Perfect!
Best thing: Breakfast... Served in the roof terrace, with lounge sofas. Fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, milk, fruit, mermelades, local bread and toasts... delicious!
Staff is always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echt, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

When you visit marrakech then this Riad in the old medina is a really good choise. Very clean, nice rooms with very good beds and pillows and a beautiful bathroom. The riad ordered many original features from the 17th century including magnificent ceilings. The typical Moroccan breakfast will served at the rooftop, so you can enjoy your breakfast in the sun, with bad weather, there is a nice breakfast room. The service was excellent, always very helpful and friendly.
From the riad it is just 10 minutes to walk to the djna el fna the main square. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dar Baraka for a week. Easy to find, very attentive staff, extremely clean and good service. The riad is very small - only 5 rooms. Windows, with shutters, open on to the courtyard and talk from neighbouring rooms is very clear. No TV means that it's a welcome break from the outside world. The area appears very safe although the group of guys hanging around the door way each night is a little intimidating at first, however they were friendly enough. If you want a small and intimate riad which is clean and with great service then this is your place. If you want a larger riad with more amenities, then you'd need to look elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay and certainly worth considering again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The riad is very well located, 10 minutes from the main square and close to many good restaurants. The breakfast is super good, fresh orange juice, morrocan bread, 3 types of jam and butter, cakes or pancakes, and always the great Moroccan mint tea.
The service was excellent, always smiling and helping on every single detail.
Rooms have air conditioning and are very spacious.

Room Tip: We booked one superior room, is very spacious and quite. Other rooms close to the breakfast areas mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great breakfast, calm and peaceful which is good cause in July Marrakech is hectic! Staff were nice and helpful. rooms were lovely and a nice terrace (bit hot in july though). I cant think of anything bad about the place. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.