We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Baraka Karam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Baraka Karam to your Saves list
Dar Baraka Karam
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 1,104 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Dar Baraka for a week. Easy to find, very attentive staff, extremely clean and good service. The riad is very small - only 5 rooms. Windows, with shutters, open on to the courtyard and talk from neighbouring rooms is very clear. No TV means that it's a welcome break from the outside world. The area appears very safe although the group of guys hanging around the door way each night is a little intimidating at first, however they were friendly enough. If you want a small and intimate riad which is clean and with great service then this is your place. If you want a larger riad with more amenities, then you'd need to look elsewhere. Overall, an enjoyable stay and certainly worth considering again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    64
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
82
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The riad is very well located, 10 minutes from the main square and close to many good restaurants. The breakfast is super good, fresh orange juice, morrocan bread, 3 types of jam and butter, cakes or pancakes, and always the great Moroccan mint tea.
The service was excellent, always smiling and helping on every single detail.
Rooms have air conditioning and are very spacious.

Room Tip: We booked one superior room, is very spacious and quite. Other rooms close to the breakfast areas mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great breakfast, calm and peaceful which is good cause in July Marrakech is hectic! Staff were nice and helpful. rooms were lovely and a nice terrace (bit hot in july though). I cant think of anything bad about the place. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for a total of eight nights in February 2011.

Location
Marrakech is a mix of the old town and the new town. The new town is a few miles from here; this is located within the old town. Marrakech is a mix of alleyways in the old town, so can be hard to navigate. This riad though was very easy to find we arrived by taxi and got taken to the hotel. Once we were there the hotel owner told us very easy directions for finding our way back to the hotel. It is not too far from the main square, so you can either take a main road to the square or alleyways, but it should never take more than fifteen minutes. The riad is very close to a big mosque so it cannot be missed!

Rooms
The rooms are very clean, and very traditional for a riad. The room I had came with a huge bath, enough for three people, and also a shower. For me the rooms were what made this riad. The courtyard is beautifully decorated. We had breakfast on the roof for many of the mornings, and some mornings we ate in the breakfast room, what I could only describe as a temple with its intricate decoration.

Cleanliness
The hotel was extremely clean, cleaned daily by the staff. The bedsheets were changed constantly and the rooms seemed clean. Even the areas what are not normally clean were cleaned.

Staff
The owner Hamid was really handy, welcomed us with some mint tea! And then told us the best way to get around. We booked a trip to the mountain with the hotel through him to the mountains, it was a brilliant trip, very scenic and well worth the money. We also ate in the hotel and the food was one of the best meals I have had in my stay in Marrakech, you have to give the staff 24 hours notice so it is cooked fresh but it was worth it!

Sleep quality
The streets of Marrakech are crazily busy, although no worries here as it is in an alley and not on a main street, the windows of our room faced into a quiet courtyard where there was little to no noise, making for a pleasant evening of sleep.

Overall
I would recommend this riad to even the most picky of travellers, you cannot fail to be impressed. I feel it would mainly appeal to couples.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be the same high quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Like always, people makes the difference and at Dar Baraka is no exception. We had an incredible support from the staff, they were friendly and really helpfull in finding the right choices for day activities. The room was always clean and the breakfast was excellent! Raccomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This riad was recommended to us by Charlie of Epic Morocco who organised our trip to Marrakesh and to the mountains.
The riad is tastefully decorated and is immaculately clean with comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. We were lucky enough to have room 5 which is a large room on the roof terrace which was very quiet.
The staff are attentive without being intrusive and keen to help; thank you Briham and Ahmed.
A substantial breakfast is served on the roof terrace - breads, pancakes, jam, eggs, yoghurt, fresh orange juice and coffee.
The riad is in the northern medina about 15 mins stroll from Djemma el Fna or several hours if you go via the souks!!! The staff provide a map but after the first outing we didn't need it.
Being in a peaceful part of the medina the effect of the evening call to prayer from dozens of mosques was an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: room 5 on the roof terrace is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews in Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. There are only five rooms in each Dar (Baraka and Karam). It is cosy and has a homely feeling. The management was so willing to please, always accommodating our every need. We had breakfast late and they served it outside our room and on the roof terrace as well. They organized a car tour of Marrakesh for us and also a wheelchair for my mother. They recommended wonderful restaurants (Dar Zeillij, Riad 72 and Maison Arabe). The location was perfect for walking to the medina, Kotoubia, the souk etc. They offered a courtesy drop off to the airport (for those staying three nights). The staff were absolutey adorable and treated us like family. I would thoroughly recommend this Dar.

Room Tip: For me the ground floor rooms suited my elderly mother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Baraka Karam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Baraka Karam

Address: 11 Derb Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 1,104 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Baraka Karam 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Baraka Karam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Baraka Karam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Baraka Karam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.