We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jona

Save Saved
You added Riad Jona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Jona
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
brighton england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

a beautiful riad centrally located, just a few minutes walk from the main square in one direction and the same to the palaces (ruins) and taxi rank in the other. arrange a transfer as you would find it difficult to get right to the front door. from the drop off point you walk straight back into the past, up tiny alleys thronging with life, shops, food stalls and all sorts of people selling all sorts of goods. however a turn of a corner leads down another alley into almost silence and the riad, a world away from the hustle and bustle of outdoor life. the riad is tastefully decorated and you can sense that this is how people lived years ago, the colours and smells are great. we were welcomed with a mint tea and given a tour of the riad and then shown our room, it was clean, strewn with petals and traditional. we had air conditioning and wifi but no television which was a bonus. there is a lovely roof terrace with a small pool and jacuzzi and plenty of seating and sunbeds, there are also places to find shade as it can get extremely here. the staff are very attentive, mohammed and mohammed really make you feel at home, they were always polite and would stop and chat but would not be overbearing, nothing was too much trouble for them. we had dinner here the first night and had a good selection of traditional starters, a sumptious tagine followed by a huge fresh fruit salad. if we needed any help or needed to ask a question there was always someone there with an answer, they do arrange trips but we never took any. when we checked out we were able to leave our cases there and go off to explore for the day, when we came back we were offered a drink and could still use the pool and sit on the terrace until it was time to leave. riads are traditional properties so do not expect a faceless hotel but be prepared for a quaint experience with a veiw into the past, even if this means that not everything is perfect. this riad is is in a perfect location, has great staff and is kept spotlessly clean, we would have no problem recommending it and would stay here again if we ever returned. overall one of the nicest properties we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: try to get a room upstairs as the noise echoes around downstairs especially at breakfast when everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
188
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alken, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our trip to Marrakech wouldn't have been the same if we hadn't stayed in Riad Jona. Mohammed and Mohammed were perfect hosts and made us feel like home. We could plan all trips through them and had great chats with them to learn about Morrocan music etc A true advantage and peaceful place away from busy life in the medina. They even arranged a special transport to and from a conference centre I had to go to. But because of the riad and my partner coming along it was a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. The Riad was absolutely beautiful and very clean. Centrally located, near the main souk Jemaa el fna. The entire staff were phenomenal, very courteous, kind, always smiling and very helpful. We stayed in the Warda room which is located on the main floor. The room is very spacious and the AC worked well. The Wi-fi connection was also very good. I recommend eating at the Riad, although it is a bit expensive, the food does not even compare to what we came across outside the Riad. Ask Fatima for her famous lamb & chicken couscous tajine and harira soup. Tip: I booked my trip through a third party website however in retrospect I would suggest just contacting the Riad owner directly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 night stay in Marrakech and I have to say that Riad Jona was the best bit! It is a beautiful Riad, situated just 5 minutes from the square and 5 minutes to the taxi rank. The staff we're very welcoming and instantly we felt at home as they told us that this was like our second home; they really couldn't do more for you and catered to your every need. Be prepared when going to Marrakech to expect some hassling from people at the Souks, which is daunting at first but by the end of our 4 days my partner and I were experts at haggling and ignoring them. Riad Jona was a very safe haven where you can relax in the swimming pool/jacuzzi or in the sauna room. The roof terrace is lovely and we had dinner on our first night there - the only thing was that it was a bit cloudy on our arrival so we couldn't see the atlas mountains very well. After 2 nights, my partner and I went to climb Mount Toubkal for 3 days and upon our arrival back to Riad Jona, the staff were so lovely and could tell we just wanted to go straight to our room and relax and took our bags up for us.

My only negative would be that the Riad charged us around £20 to get a transfer from the airport to the Riad - I would recommend getting your own taxi at the airport (there are plenty of them) and you shouldn't pay more than 50-70dirham which is around £3.50-£5.50. Don't pay more than 70Dh and if you start walking away and looking for another taxi they will come running back to you!

I would recommend this Riad to any single, couple or friend travellers wanting a relaxing trip in Marrakech. Thankyou so much Riad Jona for making our stay a holiday of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Jasmine room is underneath the jacuzzi so can become quite noisy when the jacuzzi is on - not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I cannnot recommened the Riad Jona enough! From the moment we arrived until the day we left we felt at home here. The place is very clean & looks beautiful, with rose petals greating you in your room. The staff (the 3 Mohammeds) were very welcoming & made every effort to speak to us English which we appreciated. We pre booked a tagine on arrival & after eating at various places we decided the riads food was the best! The location is great for visiting the main square where you can experience the souks and find petit taxis & caleches to explore further a field. If you have any questions there are always people in the Riad to help, even the owner Julien was on hand! With a 2nd Riad Jona opening this year I wish Julien,his family & all the staff the best of luck. Hope to see you all again in the future. Ma'asalama,sahbee.x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely Riad in a busy city. Great looking :) and wonderful staff that catered to our every need.
The owner Julian gave helpful advice to what our plans were, from the camel rides which were closer than expected and within a walk from the hotel, to a vegetarian restaurant and the main plaza which was a safe 5-10 minute walk away.
The room was small but clean and smelled of roses and spices. Maybe the only drawback would be that the bathroom is not exactly private and the shower doesn't have a curtain so the people you travel with have to be either super great friends or family.
Marrakech is surprisingly different than expected! Tourist police are everywhere and take the safety of its visitors EXTREMELY seriously and the locals know it. I never had to pay to take a photograph of anyone because I asked first (except for the snake charmer and a guy with the monkey). Plus I think I was kinda nice and showed them the picture and engaged in conversation.
I did buy a little kid a glass of juice for .40 cents because it was .40 cents and I bartered ALL THE TIME for clothes, beads and spices because it is expected. If they asked for 900 dirham, I paid around 300 or so. And they are not offended because it is part of the deal. So don't be afraid. Remember, they want to sell and bartering can be kind of fun.
One last thing, we went during Ramadan which is a wonderful time to go because of the ceremonies and the sounds of prayers in the city. You will NOT go hungry if you visit during this time!!! Everything is open all the time despite what you read!
So have fun! Travel safe!

Room Tip: The room locks from the outside too so be aware of that. The bathroom is not private so stay here if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay in Marrakech (landing home just yesterday afternoon), and we stayed at Riad Jona.

What a truly lovely place.

The staff were absolutely excellent - friendly, warm, helpful - a real welcome after the hassle of the constant bartering in the Medina and the general agressiveness that seems to take over the majority of Marrakech men during Ramadan.

Our room was Jasmine (a Superior room type) - very comfortable, spacious, and superb air-con. The bathroom was separate, which I believe may not be the case in some of the rooms, so that was ideal. The possible only downside to the room was that it was immediately below the rooftop jacuzzi, so if you are back in the room in the afternoon looking to have a kip, it can sound a bit like a waterfall is erupting over your head as someone turns on the jacuzzi!

We ate here on our last night - it was superb. The cook certainly knows her stuff, and the starters and the tagine were delicious - easily the best meal we had. We asked to eat on the rooftop terrace, which was not a problem - in fact, nothing seems a problem for the staff.

The riad sells alcohol too, which is a plus, so we were able to enjoy Moroccan wine with our dinner, and on the other days, we were able to enjoy a nightcap before turning in.

We took a taxi from the airport to the riad, and I must admit, that was a mistake - we should have arranged a transfer. We got dropped off in the smaller square, and just told that the riad was 'down there' - we did find the riad OK, but that was probably due more to luck than judgement! Much better to ask Julian the owner to arrange a transfer and get taken right to the door. We got the transfer back to the airport to avoid having to argue with a taxi driver about the fare!

All in all, a top, top place. I can't see us returning to Marrakech, but if I did ever get the urge, I would most definately stay here again, and I am happy to recommend this highly to anyone else.

Room Tip: Personally, I would go for one of the rooms on the middle floor. Whilst the rooms on the rooftop te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jona

Address: Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jona 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jona is very well located at five minutes by walk from the famous place "Dejma el Fna" and at few steps from the most emblematics monuments of Marrakech.This riad is recently renovated with traditional style and a cosy atmosphere ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Jona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jona Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.