We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice personnel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jona to your Saves list
Riad Jona
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #122 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice personnel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our trip to Marrakech wouldn't have been the same if we hadn't stayed in Riad Jona. Mohammed and Mohammed were perfect hosts and made us feel like home. We could plan all trips through them and had great chats with them to learn about Morrocan music etc A true advantage and peaceful place away from busy life in the medina. They even arranged a special transport to and from a conference centre I had to go to. But because of the riad and my partner coming along it was a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    54
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
223
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. The Riad was absolutely beautiful and very clean. Centrally located, near the main souk Jemaa el fna. The entire staff were phenomenal, very courteous, kind, always smiling and very helpful. We stayed in the Warda room which is located on the main floor. The room is very spacious and the AC worked well. The Wi-fi connection was also very good. I recommend eating at the Riad, although it is a bit expensive, the food does not even compare to what we came across outside the Riad. Ask Fatima for her famous lamb & chicken couscous tajine and harira soup. Tip: I booked my trip through a third party website however in retrospect I would suggest just contacting the Riad owner directly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 night stay in Marrakech and I have to say that Riad Jona was the best bit! It is a beautiful Riad, situated just 5 minutes from the square and 5 minutes to the taxi rank. The staff we're very welcoming and instantly we felt at home as they told us that this was like our second home; they really couldn't do more for you and catered to your every need. Be prepared when going to Marrakech to expect some hassling from people at the Souks, which is daunting at first but by the end of our 4 days my partner and I were experts at haggling and ignoring them. Riad Jona was a very safe haven where you can relax in the swimming pool/jacuzzi or in the sauna room. The roof terrace is lovely and we had dinner on our first night there - the only thing was that it was a bit cloudy on our arrival so we couldn't see the atlas mountains very well. After 2 nights, my partner and I went to climb Mount Toubkal for 3 days and upon our arrival back to Riad Jona, the staff were so lovely and could tell we just wanted to go straight to our room and relax and took our bags up for us.

My only negative would be that the Riad charged us around £20 to get a transfer from the airport to the Riad - I would recommend getting your own taxi at the airport (there are plenty of them) and you shouldn't pay more than 50-70dirham which is around £3.50-£5.50. Don't pay more than 70Dh and if you start walking away and looking for another taxi they will come running back to you!

I would recommend this Riad to any single, couple or friend travellers wanting a relaxing trip in Marrakech. Thankyou so much Riad Jona for making our stay a holiday of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Jasmine room is underneath the jacuzzi so can become quite noisy when the jacuzzi is on - not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I cannnot recommened the Riad Jona enough! From the moment we arrived until the day we left we felt at home here. The place is very clean & looks beautiful, with rose petals greating you in your room. The staff (the 3 Mohammeds) were very welcoming & made every effort to speak to us English which we appreciated. We pre booked a tagine on arrival & after eating at various places we decided the riads food was the best! The location is great for visiting the main square where you can experience the souks and find petit taxis & caleches to explore further a field. If you have any questions there are always people in the Riad to help, even the owner Julien was on hand! With a 2nd Riad Jona opening this year I wish Julien,his family & all the staff the best of luck. Hope to see you all again in the future. Ma'asalama,sahbee.x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely Riad in a busy city. Great looking :) and wonderful staff that catered to our every need.
The owner Julian gave helpful advice to what our plans were, from the camel rides which were closer than expected and within a walk from the hotel, to a vegetarian restaurant and the main plaza which was a safe 5-10 minute walk away.
The room was small but clean and smelled of roses and spices. Maybe the only drawback would be that the bathroom is not exactly private and the shower doesn't have a curtain so the people you travel with have to be either super great friends or family.
Marrakech is surprisingly different than expected! Tourist police are everywhere and take the safety of its visitors EXTREMELY seriously and the locals know it. I never had to pay to take a photograph of anyone because I asked first (except for the snake charmer and a guy with the monkey). Plus I think I was kinda nice and showed them the picture and engaged in conversation.
I did buy a little kid a glass of juice for .40 cents because it was .40 cents and I bartered ALL THE TIME for clothes, beads and spices because it is expected. If they asked for 900 dirham, I paid around 300 or so. And they are not offended because it is part of the deal. So don't be afraid. Remember, they want to sell and bartering can be kind of fun.
One last thing, we went during Ramadan which is a wonderful time to go because of the ceremonies and the sounds of prayers in the city. You will NOT go hungry if you visit during this time!!! Everything is open all the time despite what you read!
So have fun! Travel safe!

Room Tip: The room locks from the outside too so be aware of that. The bathroom is not private so stay here if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay in Marrakech (landing home just yesterday afternoon), and we stayed at Riad Jona.

What a truly lovely place.

The staff were absolutely excellent - friendly, warm, helpful - a real welcome after the hassle of the constant bartering in the Medina and the general agressiveness that seems to take over the majority of Marrakech men during Ramadan.

Our room was Jasmine (a Superior room type) - very comfortable, spacious, and superb air-con. The bathroom was separate, which I believe may not be the case in some of the rooms, so that was ideal. The possible only downside to the room was that it was immediately below the rooftop jacuzzi, so if you are back in the room in the afternoon looking to have a kip, it can sound a bit like a waterfall is erupting over your head as someone turns on the jacuzzi!

We ate here on our last night - it was superb. The cook certainly knows her stuff, and the starters and the tagine were delicious - easily the best meal we had. We asked to eat on the rooftop terrace, which was not a problem - in fact, nothing seems a problem for the staff.

The riad sells alcohol too, which is a plus, so we were able to enjoy Moroccan wine with our dinner, and on the other days, we were able to enjoy a nightcap before turning in.

We took a taxi from the airport to the riad, and I must admit, that was a mistake - we should have arranged a transfer. We got dropped off in the smaller square, and just told that the riad was 'down there' - we did find the riad OK, but that was probably due more to luck than judgement! Much better to ask Julian the owner to arrange a transfer and get taken right to the door. We got the transfer back to the airport to avoid having to argue with a taxi driver about the fare!

All in all, a top, top place. I can't see us returning to Marrakech, but if I did ever get the urge, I would most definately stay here again, and I am happy to recommend this highly to anyone else.

Room Tip: Personally, I would go for one of the rooms on the middle floor. Whilst the rooms on the rooftop te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this gorgeous riad for a week after finding it on Expedia. I loved it.

When we first got dropped off by our taxi driver, I wasn't overly impressed with the streets of the medina and was concerned about where the riad was located. However, I had nothing to worry about as the riad was in a clean street, away from the markets.

We had a clean room on the ground floor. The room was very clean. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain which may bother some, but not me. The bed was hard but after a couple of nights, I got used to it and actually found it comfortable. There is also air con, which is a god send!

The riad is intimate so if you are in a ground floor room, your door will open onto the court yard where other guests may be having breakfast.

Breakfast each morning consisted of pancakes, toasted rolls, fruit & yoghurt and was very filling.

The riad serves beer and wine & we discovered the best place to indulge is on the roof terrace by the lovely pool. The pool is small so you can't do lengths but is perfect for a dip to cool down after walking around in the intense heat. The roof top terrace is tranquil and pretty. We had dinner here on the last night & it was gorgeous. Julien, the owner, recommended lamb tagine & he was spot on!

I would also recommend the hammam and massage - it was lovely and very relaxing! And not very expensive (about 470 dirhams).

For me, the best part of the riad were the staff. Mohammed, Mohammed and Faisel were just fantastic. One evening, Mohammed invited us to break fast (it was Ramadan), with his colleague and a French couple who were staying there. We sat and chatted over dinner and laughed and joked and it was a lovely way to spend an evening. The guys were so lovely and we were gutted we didn't get to say good bye to every member of staff when we left! They were so accommodating and ran up and down the stairs getting things for guests all the time.

Julien has made a beautiful riad and I have already recommended it to anyone else who wants to go to Marrakech. The only con about the room is that there is no little fridge to keeps drinks cool but that's not really a big deal.

I loved the riad. Thank you for making our stay in Marrakech so welcoming. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#73 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#62 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Lena & SPA
Riad Lena & SPA
#393 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#148 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jona

Address: Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jona 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jona is very well located at five minutes by walk from the famous place "Dejma el Fna" and at few steps from the most emblematics monuments of Marrakech.This riad is recently renovated with traditional style and a cosy atmosphere ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Jona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jona Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.