We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad & excellent staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jona to your Saves list
Riad Jona
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad & excellent staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this gorgeous riad for a week after finding it on Expedia. I loved it.

When we first got dropped off by our taxi driver, I wasn't overly impressed with the streets of the medina and was concerned about where the riad was located. However, I had nothing to worry about as the riad was in a clean street, away from the markets.

We had a clean room on the ground floor. The room was very clean. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain which may bother some, but not me. The bed was hard but after a couple of nights, I got used to it and actually found it comfortable. There is also air con, which is a god send!

The riad is intimate so if you are in a ground floor room, your door will open onto the court yard where other guests may be having breakfast.

Breakfast each morning consisted of pancakes, toasted rolls, fruit & yoghurt and was very filling.

The riad serves beer and wine & we discovered the best place to indulge is on the roof terrace by the lovely pool. The pool is small so you can't do lengths but is perfect for a dip to cool down after walking around in the intense heat. The roof top terrace is tranquil and pretty. We had dinner here on the last night & it was gorgeous. Julien, the owner, recommended lamb tagine & he was spot on!

I would also recommend the hammam and massage - it was lovely and very relaxing! And not very expensive (about 470 dirhams).

For me, the best part of the riad were the staff. Mohammed, Mohammed and Faisel were just fantastic. One evening, Mohammed invited us to break fast (it was Ramadan), with his colleague and a French couple who were staying there. We sat and chatted over dinner and laughed and joked and it was a lovely way to spend an evening. The guys were so lovely and we were gutted we didn't get to say good bye to every member of staff when we left! They were so accommodating and ran up and down the stairs getting things for guests all the time.

Julien has made a beautiful riad and I have already recommended it to anyone else who wants to go to Marrakech. The only con about the room is that there is no little fridge to keeps drinks cool but that's not really a big deal.

I loved the riad. Thank you for making our stay in Marrakech so welcoming. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
197
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I liked this riad. From start to finish, staff were courteous and helpful. The room was lovely, nicely decorated. The hammam experience at the riads own hammam was great. The fact that it serves a beer is a real plus in the medina and actually is was one of the cheapest places we could have a drink. What made it ever better was that you could drink it in the pool on the lovely roof terrace - great after a day walking round the city.


A few minus points - the bathroom was only separated from the bedroom by a curtain. Not good if you are uncomfortable to using the loo in front of traveling companions. Also we had a ground floor bedroom and as the windows were only shuttered, I was not comfortable while suffering from a stomach bug to find guests breakfasting outside the bathroom window (I will spare the graphic details).

Secondly, breakfasts were plentiful but tended to be very carb heavy. While I'm not expecting bacon in a muslim country, I found myself craving eggs by day 3.

Finally and probably worst for me, I wanted to do a days walking in the mountains, and I had read that thus was perfectly achievable fr to Marrakech. The riad really was not clued up on this sort of thing and instead sold us as trip to the 7 waterfalls from setti Fatima that was a complete waste of time and money. The guide was rubbish, barely prepared to engage in conversation. I guess the riad would get commission for the booking but I didn't feel that they were very helpful or prepared to assist with something considered to be out of the ordinary.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived at the Riad early in the morning after our flight from UK and having been guided there by a local guide through the maze of streets. We would never had got there otherwise and the luggage cart was essential in the heat. The riad was ever so slightly disorganised but the staff were delightful and brought us the first of many mint teas to welcome us. Our son loved this and has been a mint tea drinker ever since. The suite was spectacular when we got in- completely strewn with fresh rose petals everywhere...which looked pretty but was rather over whelming by the quantity.By the end of our visit the staff said that they wished we could be a part of their family and they certainly looked after us in a way that was exceptional, making our son feel that he would be warmly welcomed wherever he went to in the riad. The owner came to see us on the second night. He was very pleasant but not as pleasant as the staff, He saved his warmth for his fellow frenchmen. The plumbing is slightly inconsistent- the water that comes out the taps is scalding when it is hot, the toilets don't flush quite as well as they might and there is not a limitless supply of hot water as we discovered when I got the hot bath and the boys did not...Notwithstanding this was a great place to stay and being able to eat on the terraces upstairs looking at the starts was just magical, at least on one evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of our trip. The location is superb, less than a 10 minute stroll to Jemaa El-Fnaa square where the bustling Souks begin, and the evening street food market gets started at about 6pm.

Our hosts were so friendly, and obliged our every wish. We had the room on the roof terrace, which was divine. Opened our doors in the morning to look across the rooftops to the Atlas Mountains, and could jump in the little rooftop pool before anyone else had even woken up.

The food was also excellent, definitely the best we had during our stay

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the roof called "Encens", the bathroom facilities aren't at all pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is definitely the Riad of Roses! Your welcome is assured from the moment you walk into this richly decorated Moroccan hotel. The greeting is warm and genuine, you are invited to sit around a rose petal filled fountain and offered traditional pastries and sweet mint tea. Your bedroom is strewn with rose petals, one single gorgeous bloom decorates the washbasin in the bathing area, the perfume throughout the riad is divine.
Breakfast is served on the roof terrace where the breeze softens the air, every moring the fare is different, thick fruity yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of pastries, crepes, toasted bread, preserves, cheese and large pots of tea and coffee.
Dinner is available too, pre-ordered, delicious tagines, couscous, Moroccan salads.
Not particularly child-friendly, the riad is situated in a typical medina walking street (no vehicle access) and does not have an elevator so if you find stairs a challenge this may not be the place for you.
We were in the Wardle room on the ground floor. The en suite bathroom facilites were located at one end of the room behind a three quarter wall that did not reach the ceiling. Although the shower/handbasin/toilet were divided by walls there were no doors, a curtain could be drawn to provide some visual privacy, but no real privacy if you wanted a good fart!

Room Tip: When you are making a reservation ask if the en suite is seperated from the bedroom by a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

my daughter and I stayed at Riad Jona for 6 nights, it was the 2nd best part of our trip (the 1st was our hammam) from the 1st instance we walked in, the welcome of both Julien and this staff we knew this was going to be great, every morning we would have our breakfast when and where we requested and it was always wonderful, our room was so beautiful and peaceful, we arrived when it started getting very hot, so in the mid afternoon we would seclude ourselves in the AC of our room while getting ready for our evening adventures. the Riad is about a 5 minute walk from Jemaa and even thou we were two women and my daughter a beautiful 27 year old walking back to the riad late, we felt safe, it is so well situated just off a main road leading to the plaza. the upstair terrace was a santuary were one can go to read or just relax after a day of sight seeing. being in the travel business for over 25 years, i must say that this is one of the best adventures we have been on, and staying at this lovely riad was our highlight.

Room Tip: we stayed in musc on the ground level we loved our room it was great for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Jona. We were warmly welcomed and both the Owner Julien and all staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our room was beautiful and roomy with a lovely bunch of flowers. Breakfast on the top terrasse was delicious and the pool was most welcome after a long day walking. We had dinner twice in the riad and there again the food prepared was delicious. A great address.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jona

Address: Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jona 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jona is very well located at five minutes by walk from the famous place "Dejma el Fna" and at few steps from the most emblematics monuments of Marrakech.This riad is recently renovated with traditional style and a cosy atmosphere ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Jona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jona Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.