We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good riad but nothing extra.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jona to your Saves list
Riad Jona
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #86 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A really good riad but nothing extra.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a price worthy riad with a good location at a close walk from Djemaa el Fnaa and close to a major street where you can grab a taxi. The room was quite big and charming and with a high level of cleanliness. The riad has a nice roof top with a tiny pool. We have nothing to complain about but also nothing to get too exited about. The owner/manager and staff were not so visible and the service was good but not very personal. I would however recommend it if you want to stay in the medina for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boppan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newport
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Riad Jona is a small Riad right in the centre of the old city(the Medina),5 minutes walk from the main square,and the souks.Julien is the owner,a very nice,helpful person,and a source of good advice.The staff are fantastic,and the Riad is quiet,quite luxurious,with beautiful bedrooms,and a rooftop terrace where you can have all your meals,and see right across the city.The food is really good.You have to get from the nearest square to the Riad Jona,and although initially the tiny street looks daunting,there are no problems at all.There are plenty of porters with wheelbarrows to take your suitcases,and they are cheap.
The Riad also offers a Hamma(steam room and massage)that lasts over an hour and a half,and is extremerly good value.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: None really,I guess not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClouddancerNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am not one to write reviews, but after my recent trip tp Marrakech I felt compelled to do so. Marrakech,fantastic. Riad Jona Excellent. Julien and his wife have created a wonderful Oasis in the Medina. Great location, great staff, nothing was to much trouble. Loved every miniute of it.

If you can't get booked try the Riad Paula opposite. Julien has recently taken ownership of it. Equally good, although I prefer the decour of the Riad Jona.

Good luck Julien, hope to see you again.

Regards

Allan & Karen

Room Tip: We loved the roof terrace room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Super friendly people, you feel like at home in a family. Great sofa corner on the terrase. Fantastic local food, don't miss it! Rooms are a little bit dark but have its oriental charm. It would be good to have a small safe in the room. Also at arrival it is a little bit difficult to find Riad without help. But in general - unique experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_F-ova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed there for a week and it was amazing. The Riad is beautifully decorated, the swimming pool is a must and the rooms are in a good size and always clean. The location is perfect, only 10 min walk to the "place Jema el fna". It's a quiet place in the middle of a busy part of Marrakech. The food and beverages are excellent but expensive, 20€ for a main course & desert is 4 times more than what you can find around. This is however a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O2rey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great location - minutes away from the Square - it was superb to have the Jacuzz/plunge pool on the roof, such a relief in the heat.. Room was lovely .. Only 3 night break and had our first meal in Marrakech on the roof of the Jona.. Best meal we had .. though to be fair to others it was more expensive and we only had two more nights..there are many to choose from.. Everybody at the Riad Jona are very helpful and friendly. Do contact to arrange taxi transfers as it makes it so much easier, No stress !! - Would be my first choice if we ever go back to Marrakech.. I really recommend the Riad Jona for its location, its staff, its food, its roof top plunge pool and serenity. A real "Oasis in the Medina".
Thank you Julien and everybody

Room Tip: from what we saw any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFazeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Riad Jona is fantastic, its as simple as that really. The location is amazing, its easy to find, the staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. I spent a month travelling Morocco and decided to stay here at the end of my trip as a treat and it was indeed that. It is also rare to find a riad where the owner spent so much time with his guests and this was really lovely, as other reviews have mentioned you really are part of the Riad Jona family from the moment you arrive. Unfortunately I was sick when I arrived, but I couldn't honestly think of anywhere I would rather be ill, the staff were amazing and basically cared for me and nursed me back to health, I was only supposed to stay there for a day or so and ended up staying a few more and Julian and the staff were so accommodating. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. And... it has a hot tub, terrace, and covered outside lounge area, what more could you want to escape the hussle and bussle of Marrakech. If you want the proper riad experience... look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#86 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jona

Address: Riad zitoune el kedim | 34, derb jdid, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jona 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jona is very well located at five minutes by walk from the famous place "Dejma el Fna" and at few steps from the most emblematics monuments of Marrakech.This riad is recently renovated with traditional style and a cosy atmosphere ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Jona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jona Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing