We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place and location but ABUSIVE PRICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sable Chaud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Sable Chaud to your Saves list
Riad Sable Chaud
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place and location but ABUSIVE PRICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Very good location, nice bedrooms and riad in general but very abusive price for a very poor breakfast and NO hot water facilities many times. We had a great holidays but we paid 100€ the night for a suite that is got nothing of suite, the fotographer of the riad made very good work, looks everything stuning and beautiful in the photos but...is not 100% like this and 100€ the night is A LOT for the breakfast they offer and the problems with the hot water, we are talking about MARRAKECH not about PARIS, ROME or BARCELONA, so i found it very abusive the price.

And they even ask us 15€ to smoke a SHISHA!!!! ridiculoes!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadsablechaud, General Manager at Riad Sable Chaud, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
First of all many thanks for having chosen our Riad to spend your holiday and also for having found to write you review.

I am respecting your point of view but I would like just to point out some facts that will be really useful for other guests.

1 - Poor Breakfast:
Our breakfast consisted of:
- Coffee, Milk, Tea (According to the guests requests we are serving also Mint Tea, Milk Chocolate ..
- Pieces of Pie
- Bread
- Orange juice
- Pancakes
- Fruits
Please also that our breakfasts are changing daily, our guests are not having the same breakfast even if they are staying & week. According to all our guests (Please check other reviews that our breakfast is one of the highlights thing during their stay).
Please also note that it’s clearly specified on all the featured documentation concerning our Riad that we are serving a Moroccan breakfast.

2 – Problem of Hot Water:
I am totally surprised about that as nothing was reported during the guest’s stay, Neither from these guests nor from the others who were staying at the Riad at the same period. I would like to clarify that we were fully booked during this period and that we are using a general water boiler for all the rooms.

3 – Smoking a SHISHA:
Please note that our Riad is a non smoking place. The only one place where guests can smoke is on the Terrace. SHISHA is not one of the services we are providing. After investigating this matter I’ve realized that there has been a misunderstanding, my colleague was speaking about the price to buy a SHISHA and not about the cost to smoke it in the Riad.
We are a respectful Riad and we are not providing any services that can create problems for our property or to disturb other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Just had 3 nights in this Riad, Building work going on to create another bedroom and no apology for the noise and mess,

20 minute walk from the main square through some very dark and scary areas

Would only take a card for the stay and we had to pay all extras in cash, some kind of fiddle !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have just spent an amazing week at Riad Sable Chaud and I can strongly recommend the place to anyone.

As a western tourist I think it is impossible to prepare yourself for the culture shock it is to visit a city like Marrakech. Riad Sable Chaud is located inside the medina and it is impossible to drive to the door. I would strongly recommend to have the riad arrange for the transfer from the airport. The first walk from the car parking to the riad is indescribable, it was smelly, noisy and scary, when I stood outside the door I honestly believed that I would never find the way out of what is best described as a maze. As soon as the door was opened a friendly face gave us a warm welcome with Moroccon mint tea and pastry. It might be the contrast between the noisy outside and the calm inside, but entering the riad was like getting a glance of a small piece of heaven :-)

The location was good, both the souks, Djemaa el-Fna, the new city and the Majorell garden are in walking distance. After the first scary walk the distance from the road to the riad seemed short, the people along the route was friendly and after a couple of days they greeted you like a friend.

The rooms are relatively small, but they looks so nice and they gave you all the comfort you need. There were free WiFi connection in all rooms and the line was fast enough. The rooms were cleaned every day, the toweled changed and for the one week stay we had, they also changed our bed once. It is possible to have the riad arrange trips and we both used them and went on our own. The riad arranged for an excellent driver who spoke English very well. The traffic in Marrakech was scary but I felt safe in the hands of our driver. You might get a better price when you arrange on your own, but it is very convenient to use the riad, you will be picked up at the door and the quality will be good. We had dinner at the riad one evening and the food was great.

So after all this praise I still have left the best part for the ending. The people working at Riad Sable Chaud are amazing. Warm, friendly, thoughtful and very capable at their job. It felt like they would do anything to make sure that your stay in Marrakech would be perfect and like they had a sincere concern for me and my welfare.

You should consider yourself lucky if you ever get a chance to be a part of the Riad Sable Chaud family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying here, and even now I can't believe we were lucky enough to stay at such an incredible place and we went based on the strength of the other reviews listed here on trip advisor.. I would say that Riad Sable Chaud goes above a 5 star, because you feel so exclusive. (at the time of writing this, there are only 4 bedrooms in this riad, so you feel like you have the entire place to yourself)

From the moment you step in, the actual hotel manager himself, Saad warmly welcomes you in, pours you some Moroccan tea and gives you a very relaxed tour of the Riad and introduces you to every member of staff. Every effort is made throughout your stay to make you feel like you are an absolute priority. The Riad itself is spectacular, the rooms are perfect, and the food is also fantastic. Free and very fast broadband WiFi connection, with good coverage to all bedrooms. . They had even ensured the correct mains plug adapter was in the bedroom ready and waiting so I could charge my UK phone etc. I cannot fault this place. Absolute perfection, and a level of service that other Riads and hotels should certainly learn from. - David & Teresa, London UK

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed a few nights, and went back two weeks later. Our (high) expectations in all respects were utterly surpassed. All the staff were perfectly charming without being at all nauseating and sycophantic. The rooms are all stunningly unique, beautiful and clean. The terrace is filled with wonderful flowers/plants/trees with great views over the city and High Atlas mountains. The food was fresh and delicious.

On our return we were stuck with the volcanic ash with nowhere to stay and everywhere booked. Sable Chaud made space for us and gave us breakfast all free of charge - a testament to their extraordinary generosity and brilliance!

Ever-so highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staying at the Riad Sable Chaud really made our holiday in Marrakech. It was so lovely to come back into the riad after a hectic day of exploring the vibrancy of the city, and as other reviews have said, it really is a home from home. The rooms, the courtyard and terrace are beautiful, decorated in a traditional Morroccan style but light and clean as well. The staff were so lovely, quiet but so helpful and eager to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Mohammed serves the breakfasts on the terrace with beautiful fruits, yoghurts and pastries, pancakes etc, and fresh orange juice every day, and we had a meal at the hotel once cooked by Fatima, it was delicious and such an experience to eat a three course meal at night on the roof. The staff helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains which I would reccommend as a completely different experience from the city, and guests can cook with Fatima in the kitchen, which unfortunately I didn't get a chance to do, but she did share recipes! I thought the people of Marrakech were so friendly and welcoming, and the atmosphere in Marrakech was fantastic. I loved Marrakech and so thank you to the brilliant staff and I will definitely be back!

Just something about the location of the hotel, we got the no 19 bus from the airport which drops you at a bus station about a five minute walk from the hotel (which is about as far as taxis could get you anyway) and a man offered to take us to the hotel for a small tip of about £1.50, as many people will try to do throughout the holiday. I'd be aware of these people and not get led off too easily, but to be honest it would have been hard to find the place on our own. In taxis, ask to get dropped off at Bab Doukkala mosque, and its a couple of minutes through some narrow market streets to the riad. It is a fantastic location in the old town though, and once you've walked to city square a couple of times it's easy to find the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

As others have said the Riad Sable Chaud really was an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff were charming and friendly being more than happy to write down the recipes for the wonderful evening meals we had. Breakfasts were also delicious, and huge, and both breakfasts and evening meals had a real home cooked feel. As stated the staff were very friendly, always on hand to help with a query or provide a drink, though not in a way that was overbearing. I would definitely recommend the Raid Sable Chaud to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sable Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sable Chaud

Address: 135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sable Chaud 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Sable Chaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sable Chaud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sable Chaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.