We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should consider yourself lucky if you ever get a chance to be a part of the Riad Sable Chaud family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sable Chaud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Sable Chaud to your Saves list
Riad Sable Chaud
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 1,058 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Trondheim
1 review
“You should consider yourself lucky if you ever get a chance to be a part of the Riad Sable Chaud family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have just spent an amazing week at Riad Sable Chaud and I can strongly recommend the place to anyone.

As a western tourist I think it is impossible to prepare yourself for the culture shock it is to visit a city like Marrakech. Riad Sable Chaud is located inside the medina and it is impossible to drive to the door. I would strongly recommend to have the riad arrange for the transfer from the airport. The first walk from the car parking to the riad is indescribable, it was smelly, noisy and scary, when I stood outside the door I honestly believed that I would never find the way out of what is best described as a maze. As soon as the door was opened a friendly face gave us a warm welcome with Moroccon mint tea and pastry. It might be the contrast between the noisy outside and the calm inside, but entering the riad was like getting a glance of a small piece of heaven :-)

The location was good, both the souks, Djemaa el-Fna, the new city and the Majorell garden are in walking distance. After the first scary walk the distance from the road to the riad seemed short, the people along the route was friendly and after a couple of days they greeted you like a friend.

The rooms are relatively small, but they looks so nice and they gave you all the comfort you need. There were free WiFi connection in all rooms and the line was fast enough. The rooms were cleaned every day, the toweled changed and for the one week stay we had, they also changed our bed once. It is possible to have the riad arrange trips and we both used them and went on our own. The riad arranged for an excellent driver who spoke English very well. The traffic in Marrakech was scary but I felt safe in the hands of our driver. You might get a better price when you arrange on your own, but it is very convenient to use the riad, you will be picked up at the door and the quality will be good. We had dinner at the riad one evening and the food was great.

So after all this praise I still have left the best part for the ending. The people working at Riad Sable Chaud are amazing. Warm, friendly, thoughtful and very capable at their job. It felt like they would do anything to make sure that your stay in Marrakech would be perfect and like they had a sincere concern for me and my welfare.

You should consider yourself lucky if you ever get a chance to be a part of the Riad Sable Chaud family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying here, and even now I can't believe we were lucky enough to stay at such an incredible place and we went based on the strength of the other reviews listed here on trip advisor.. I would say that Riad Sable Chaud goes above a 5 star, because you feel so exclusive. (at the time of writing this, there are only 4 bedrooms in this riad, so you feel like you have the entire place to yourself)

From the moment you step in, the actual hotel manager himself, Saad warmly welcomes you in, pours you some Moroccan tea and gives you a very relaxed tour of the Riad and introduces you to every member of staff. Every effort is made throughout your stay to make you feel like you are an absolute priority. The Riad itself is spectacular, the rooms are perfect, and the food is also fantastic. Free and very fast broadband WiFi connection, with good coverage to all bedrooms. . They had even ensured the correct mains plug adapter was in the bedroom ready and waiting so I could charge my UK phone etc. I cannot fault this place. Absolute perfection, and a level of service that other Riads and hotels should certainly learn from. - David & Teresa, London UK

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed a few nights, and went back two weeks later. Our (high) expectations in all respects were utterly surpassed. All the staff were perfectly charming without being at all nauseating and sycophantic. The rooms are all stunningly unique, beautiful and clean. The terrace is filled with wonderful flowers/plants/trees with great views over the city and High Atlas mountains. The food was fresh and delicious.

On our return we were stuck with the volcanic ash with nowhere to stay and everywhere booked. Sable Chaud made space for us and gave us breakfast all free of charge - a testament to their extraordinary generosity and brilliance!

Ever-so highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staying at the Riad Sable Chaud really made our holiday in Marrakech. It was so lovely to come back into the riad after a hectic day of exploring the vibrancy of the city, and as other reviews have said, it really is a home from home. The rooms, the courtyard and terrace are beautiful, decorated in a traditional Morroccan style but light and clean as well. The staff were so lovely, quiet but so helpful and eager to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Mohammed serves the breakfasts on the terrace with beautiful fruits, yoghurts and pastries, pancakes etc, and fresh orange juice every day, and we had a meal at the hotel once cooked by Fatima, it was delicious and such an experience to eat a three course meal at night on the roof. The staff helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains which I would reccommend as a completely different experience from the city, and guests can cook with Fatima in the kitchen, which unfortunately I didn't get a chance to do, but she did share recipes! I thought the people of Marrakech were so friendly and welcoming, and the atmosphere in Marrakech was fantastic. I loved Marrakech and so thank you to the brilliant staff and I will definitely be back!

Just something about the location of the hotel, we got the no 19 bus from the airport which drops you at a bus station about a five minute walk from the hotel (which is about as far as taxis could get you anyway) and a man offered to take us to the hotel for a small tip of about £1.50, as many people will try to do throughout the holiday. I'd be aware of these people and not get led off too easily, but to be honest it would have been hard to find the place on our own. In taxis, ask to get dropped off at Bab Doukkala mosque, and its a couple of minutes through some narrow market streets to the riad. It is a fantastic location in the old town though, and once you've walked to city square a couple of times it's easy to find the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

As others have said the Riad Sable Chaud really was an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff were charming and friendly being more than happy to write down the recipes for the wonderful evening meals we had. Breakfasts were also delicious, and huge, and both breakfasts and evening meals had a real home cooked feel. As stated the staff were very friendly, always on hand to help with a query or provide a drink, though not in a way that was overbearing. I would definitely recommend the Raid Sable Chaud to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We returned this morning from a long weekend at this Riad. It was everythingand more that previous reviews have indicated. We arrived at the airport and had a long wait for the previously arranged transport that did not arrive, so we rang them, decided not to wait and took a taxi, which dropped us of outside of the city walls, the Riad was extremely difficult to find and it was only with the help of a local boy that we eventually found it, Once there we fell in love with the place, the welcome was perfect, food, especially breakfast, was superb. Rooms were a great size, extremely well maintained and well equiped. All in all one of the quietest places that we have ever stayed at. The only word of warning would be for visitors to the Riad too be aware that it is off the main tourist trail and as such it takes a couple of days to get used to the route to and from, other than this you just have to go and stay here for an authentic visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at this Riad ("B&B") based on TripAdvisor reviews (which I find to be incredibly useful and reliable). We loved it! They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and easily helped us arrange a tour to go out to the Atlas Mountains for the day. This Riad is in the heart of the old town, and is appropriate if you want an authentic experience. They will prepare lunch or dinner for you for an extra charge - and both were delicious. Breakfast is included. We met another nice couple while staying there. Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Sable Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sable Chaud

Address: 135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,058 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sable Chaud 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Sable Chaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sable Chaud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sable Chaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.