We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sable Chaud

Save Saved
You added Riad Sable Chaud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Sable Chaud
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay - a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staying at the Riad Sable Chaud really made our holiday in Marrakech. It was so lovely to come back into the riad after a hectic day of exploring the vibrancy of the city, and as other reviews have said, it really is a home from home. The rooms, the courtyard and terrace are beautiful, decorated in a traditional Morroccan style but light and clean as well. The staff were so lovely, quiet but so helpful and eager to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Mohammed serves the breakfasts on the terrace with beautiful fruits, yoghurts and pastries, pancakes etc, and fresh orange juice every day, and we had a meal at the hotel once cooked by Fatima, it was delicious and such an experience to eat a three course meal at night on the roof. The staff helped us organise a trip to the Atlas mountains which I would reccommend as a completely different experience from the city, and guests can cook with Fatima in the kitchen, which unfortunately I didn't get a chance to do, but she did share recipes! I thought the people of Marrakech were so friendly and welcoming, and the atmosphere in Marrakech was fantastic. I loved Marrakech and so thank you to the brilliant staff and I will definitely be back!

Just something about the location of the hotel, we got the no 19 bus from the airport which drops you at a bus station about a five minute walk from the hotel (which is about as far as taxis could get you anyway) and a man offered to take us to the hotel for a small tip of about £1.50, as many people will try to do throughout the holiday. I'd be aware of these people and not get led off too easily, but to be honest it would have been hard to find the place on our own. In taxis, ask to get dropped off at Bab Doukkala mosque, and its a couple of minutes through some narrow market streets to the riad. It is a fantastic location in the old town though, and once you've walked to city square a couple of times it's easy to find the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

As others have said the Riad Sable Chaud really was an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff were charming and friendly being more than happy to write down the recipes for the wonderful evening meals we had. Breakfasts were also delicious, and huge, and both breakfasts and evening meals had a real home cooked feel. As stated the staff were very friendly, always on hand to help with a query or provide a drink, though not in a way that was overbearing. I would definitely recommend the Raid Sable Chaud to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We returned this morning from a long weekend at this Riad. It was everythingand more that previous reviews have indicated. We arrived at the airport and had a long wait for the previously arranged transport that did not arrive, so we rang them, decided not to wait and took a taxi, which dropped us of outside of the city walls, the Riad was extremely difficult to find and it was only with the help of a local boy that we eventually found it, Once there we fell in love with the place, the welcome was perfect, food, especially breakfast, was superb. Rooms were a great size, extremely well maintained and well equiped. All in all one of the quietest places that we have ever stayed at. The only word of warning would be for visitors to the Riad too be aware that it is off the main tourist trail and as such it takes a couple of days to get used to the route to and from, other than this you just have to go and stay here for an authentic visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at this Riad ("B&B") based on TripAdvisor reviews (which I find to be incredibly useful and reliable). We loved it! They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and easily helped us arrange a tour to go out to the Atlas Mountains for the day. This Riad is in the heart of the old town, and is appropriate if you want an authentic experience. They will prepare lunch or dinner for you for an extra charge - and both were delicious. Breakfast is included. We met another nice couple while staying there. Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The Riad exceeded our expectations, from welcome to departure. The staff were always on hand, but not intrusive, to offer a welcome mint tea ("Whiskey Morrocaine") or help and advice as necessary. The room was kept spotless and the food excellent. The Riad is located in the Medina and we very much enjoyed the walk through local alleyways and Souk each day to the main attractions in Marrakech. Check this out before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This Riad is truely great.
We struggled to find it at first as it is tucked away in the side streets of the medina but once we had got to grips with our location it was easy. The riad is excellently located to gain the full experience of Marrakech and the people were amaizingly helpful. There are very little places in Marrakech to have an alcoholic drink as it is not part of their culture but the staff at the riad even sent for some specifically for us - they really couldnt of been more accomodating. The riad was clean and stylish and the atmosphere was great, they want you to make it your home and do make you feel very much like that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound TX. USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This was our first trip to Marrakech and the wife and I were looking for a three dimensional yet simple travel experience. Riad Sable Chaud is located in the middle of the medina about ten minutes walk through the marketplace from the Bab Doukkala gateway.
The staff treated us like family (to the point where the wife cried when we left), the rooms were spotlessly clean, the quality of meals and service was above excellent and the Riad was centrally located enough to walk to and thru both the Djemma El Fna and the ville nouvelle areas to visit Morocco's past and future for that three dimensionality we sought. We'll likely return to Marrakech and when there will only stay at one place and one place only...Riad Sable Chaud..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sable Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sable Chaud

Address: 135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sable Chaud 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Sable Chaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sable Chaud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sable Chaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.