We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sable Chaud

Save Saved
You added Riad Sable Chaud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Sable Chaud
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Short but great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at this marvellous Riad. From initial contact with Francesco to final payment everything was perfect. The Riad is beautiful, the people perfect, very accommodating and willing to help in any way they can. Great service whilst not intrusive was always a pleasure and nothing appeared to be a problem for them.

We ate in on our first night great as we didn’t arrive until late afternoon and didn’t fancy the hustle and bustle of the souks on our first night. The food was very good; the local Moroccan wine offered was also surprising good.

Breakfast was served each day, when you arrived was always different and although different to our usual start very much enjoyed it. We did feel home from home and where genuinely sad to leave. The roof terrace is a good spot to chill with a bottle of wine and has a mass of seating so there will always be seating and space even when the Riad is full.

The raid itself as others has mentioned is about a 15 min walk from the souk and although down some pretty narrow and winding passages we did not feel at all threatened.

So thank you Francesco, Mohammed, Fatima and Samira (hope I’ve got that right) we had one of the most relaxing and welcoming stays we have had at the many places we have stayed in around the world. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our week with Francesco, Mohammed, and Fatima at the Riad Sable Chaud was a wonderful escape from rainy England. It was also a lovely relaxing place to return to after the hustle and bustle of the souks and Medina. The Riad is in the labyrinth of alleys in the Medina but after the first day we felt at home and confident finding our way around. Francesco was extremely helpful and we felt we were staying with a friend. We also had dinner in the Riad several evenings which was always delicious.
A fabulous place to stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from spending 4 nights in the Riad Sable Chaud in the heart of the Medina. Prior to our arrival, we were aware that there would be a short walk through the alleyways of the Medina to arrive at our Riad as motorised access to the doorstep isn't possible. To say the walk to the Riad was an eye-opener is an understatement; we almost had second thoughts but this was merely as a result of the immediate culture shock of our first experience of the Medina. However, once the door of the Riad Sable Chaud was opened, we were invited into an authentic Moroccan sanctuary and any fears we had were immediately dispelled.

The Riad Sable Chaud is a delightful and genuine experience of staying in a Marrakech Riad and one that I would thoroughly recommend over any of the larger hotels which you will find outside the Medina city walls. Clean, welcoming, wonderful staff and a great varied breakfast each morning.

As we were arriving in Marrakech late evening, we opted to have the Riad Sable Chaud prepare an evening meal for us on our arrival. Despite what you may read in other reviews, the meal was an outstanding 3 course offering and well worth the 25 euros per person and prepared to our awkward requirements ( a vegetarian and a non-fish eating meat eater). Ok, a little more expensive than restaurants in 'The Big Square', but no comparison in terms of quality. Eating that meal on our first night, on the rooftop terrace, was a fantastic experience both culinary and the tranquil setting. Do not visit the hotel without sampling their food; if you do, you will be missing something outstanding. In fact, we enjoyed the meal so much that we asked that they also prepare a further meal for us on our last night rather than eat out in a restaurant. Again, prepared to our request.

The staff were just delightful. I can't commend Francesco, Mohammed and the two ladies (Fatima and Samira) enough. They were excellent hosts who looked after us far beyond what we would have expected. Arranging transport (to and from airport), day trips, advice on things to see and do, directions, meals etc. was always provided without any complaint. Excellent.

If I had one, and there's only one, complaint about the Riad Sable Chaud it's one that is probably beyond their control. As explained, to get to the hotel, you have to walk approx 300 yards of narrow alleyways which aren't very pleasing on the eye. Unfortunately, the final 50 yards or so were completely unlit as the final two street lights weren't working which was a slightly scary experience in total darkness. This meant that we arranged our return to the Riad each night a little earlier than we normally would to avoid any risk. However, the excellent service of the Riad also had this covered as they offered to meet us each night at the start of the alleyway to accompany us if we required. We didn't take up this offer but it's comforting to know that this is available particularly to any female travellers.

So, if you're travelling to Marrakech and want to experience a truly authentic Moroccan Riad which is clean, welcoming, hospitable and great value for money...look no further than the Riad Sable Chaud. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Riad Sable Chaud offered us the reassurance to take this type of holiday. Its staff oversaw our transport from airport to a spot in the medina then its by foot through tiny narrow streets. Its mayhem and completely non western- with traders selling bunches of herbs to gutting fish to crates full of chickens and rabbits to spices being sold in sacks and motor bikes nearly knocking you down and squeezing through the Mayhem - to the peaceful haven of our riad. The staff ensure your comfort and greet you with fresh orange juice and the courtyard is so pretty with beautiful birds singing. The rooms are airconditioned and very comfortable complete with a safe. The breakfast is traditonal and presented beautifully, the riad management will ensure you do not get ripped off and can arrange trips for you to the mountains and other destinations and very happy to give you directions or suggestions on places to eat etc. It is an exceptional city dont be scared go appropriately dressed and keep your shoulders covered, i travelled with my sister and we were fine just look like you know where you are going because people will charge you for directions and take a guide with you to the Soukks or you will get ripped off and constantly hassled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I planned this trip to as part of a winter get away originally from the uk but actually wanted to propose to my lady.

With that said I knew morocco and specifically marrakesh might prove difficult to find that really romantic place, but upon arrival all that I can say is the the riad sable chaud itself is one of the most romantic and amazing little get always in all the world!

From landing at night time we found ourselves blown away by all the mopeds and bicycles, concerns over the small alley ways you get lead down and the typical lurking and socialising in the street but Mohammed met our taxi and took us directly to the riad and upon arrival we where given some sweet mint tea, we sat down and where amazed at what a different world we had just entered...the riad smelt and looked beautiful!

Francesco the riad manager swiftly took our details and escorted us up to our beautiful room where we relaxed.

The next day we had breakfast on the rooftop terrace, maybe not the most filling of breakfasts but it was amazing day after day with pancakes, fruit juice, fresh fruit, coffee or tea with yoghurt. My fiancé had an omelette each day to which they happily obliged. The rooftop terrace itself is amazing as well with beautiful sunsets and where I eventually proposed and she said yes.

Francesco and the staff where just amazing, always helpful and knowledgable, they organised a day trip for us and when we where concerned about anything he always gave the right information to re assure us. He went completely out of his way to organise a beer for me which they don't actually stock. A tip, but some alcohol at duty free before coming over as it is a Muslim country and drink is hard to find.

The riad is down some bendy streets so call ahead of arrival if you coming by yourself for them to meet you where the taxi drops you off.

The service was just glorious and the people great, we mixed with some of the ther guests and other stayed to themselves but otherwise i have to say thanks to Ben who serenaded us while I proposed whilst the sun set.

Room Tip: The riad was a different world and allowed us to absorb some of the local culture and food, much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay for a long weekend in Marrakech, We did not wish to stay in the adjacent modern city, but wanted to get a taste of authentic Marrakech in the medina. This property came up with many highly positive ratings which was the reason why we chose it.
The property is elegantly decorated in traditional Moroccon style. It is accurately depicted on their website. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much bother. It was remarkably quiet given the location in a busy city. Breakfast was different every day, based on local cuisine and served at a time that suited you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We could have stayed at a big hotel, but I would go for this location again and it's personal service without any hesitation.
The only challenge was finding it in a maze of paths and alleyways. We used a Bushnell Backtrack GPS device (checkout Amazon), very simple to use and not expensive. (It indicates direction and how far away a registered point is, it also has a compass built in). Once we had found the Riad, recorded it's location in the GPS device, we could comfortably get lost in the Medina and always find our way back home. I am reasonably well travelled, and have not been to any city quite like this before. I downloaded satellite images of the area and maps, neither were very comprehensive. Many of the alleyways are not detectable from a satellite image because they are covered over, particularly where there are shops. Something you don't appreciate until you are there. There are a lot of passageways not recorded in the guidebooks and it is easy to get lost. We ended up using waypoints (GPS recorded locations) for the Riad front door, the turning off of the main drag to the Riad and the centre of Place Jemaa el Fna. While it may be hard to believe while we were getting oriented there we could not initially locate Place Jemaa el Fna from the Souks. So an independent device that shows you which direction and how far turned out to be very useful.
Don't be put off by the fact that you can get lost. It is an amazing place with something different around every corner. It is a very safe city, we could see evidence of plain clothed police or officials in many locations, they were not obvious, but security is being taken seriously by the Moroccan Government. They are also proactively promoting tourism.
GETTING THERE: We took the Number 19 bus from the airport terminal (runs every 30 minutes), and got off at Bab Doukkala Gate. Facing the city wall take the right hand entrance through the city wall and head down Rue Bab Doukkala. As you pass each turning to the left look at the wall on the corner of the turning about 3-4 metres up. On one of the turnings is a sign pointing to Riad Sable Choud 150 metres. This is the route we used. The website has a downloadable map which was useful. Places we visited that are worth a look: Place Jemaa el Fna particularly in the afternoon and evening. It changes radically through the day. The souks, Maison Tiskwin, Palais El Bahia,Place des Ferbantiers, Palais El Badi, Saadian Tombs, Kasbah, Majorelle Garden, Madrassa Ben Jouseff, Musee de Marrakech, Koubba el Baroudiyn. A restaurant we would recommend on the major square Place Jemma el Fna is Restaurant Le Marrakchi. Also eat in the square at night time "number 1" is recommended. The tanneries are mentioned in guide books, we went to that region, while there are a few tanneries, our experience was that they were small, and unless you could get high above the tanneries to get a photograph from above it was not worth the effort. The guidebook we used the most was Insight Guide to Marrakesh Step by Step. This had some self guided walks which were useful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

With a girlfriend, I stayed here in June 2011. [Easy Jet holidays] Firstly we were greeted by the young woman [in national dress] who runs this hotel but is not the owner. We were given tea and snack while we waited for the manager to arrive.

The setting of this Riad is great. With a nice open courtyard and lots of natural vegetation all around.

The room was wonderful. Very nice and clean. The shower was good. This is a small very personal location. The main door from the street is locked and you need to ring a bell to get in. The bedrooms are not locked and really this felt the natural thing in this setting. The bedrooms are on the first floor. The stairway from the ground to the second floor is adorned with wonderful photographs of local people and scene. On the second floor there is an open balcony, where you can relax in the shade or in the sunshine. There was often a gentle breeze up there during our stay.

There is a small indoor pool on the ground floor. Very refreshing for a dip, but the water is very cold and perhaps comes from the Atlas mountains.

The breakfast [which was included] was different each day and good. Not buffet style but individually prepared by the people who run the Riad. However I can’t say the same for dinner. We ordered dinner one evening and we were disappointed with this. The ‘chef’ was the man from the hotel and we thought that he should stick to looking after the hotel and not cooking dinners.

This is a hidden gem in Marrakesh and I intend to stay here again if I come to this city.

------o-----o------o--------o--------o
This hotel is well located if you do not mind a little walking. It is only a 15 – 20 minute walk to the main square and souks. You need a taxi from the airport to get near the hotel. Because the Riad is in a narrow ally, you need to walk a short distance from where the taxi drops you. To get to the hotel, you will need a ‘guide’ who will be on hand where the taxi drops you. He will carry your luggage on a cart and you should give him no more than 20 dirhams.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sable Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sable Chaud

Address: 135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sable Chaud 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Sable Chaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sable Chaud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sable Chaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.