We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing! Engagement holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sable Chaud

Save Saved
You added Riad Sable Chaud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Sable Chaud
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing! Engagement holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I planned this trip to as part of a winter get away originally from the uk but actually wanted to propose to my lady.

With that said I knew morocco and specifically marrakesh might prove difficult to find that really romantic place, but upon arrival all that I can say is the the riad sable chaud itself is one of the most romantic and amazing little get always in all the world!

From landing at night time we found ourselves blown away by all the mopeds and bicycles, concerns over the small alley ways you get lead down and the typical lurking and socialising in the street but Mohammed met our taxi and took us directly to the riad and upon arrival we where given some sweet mint tea, we sat down and where amazed at what a different world we had just entered...the riad smelt and looked beautiful!

Francesco the riad manager swiftly took our details and escorted us up to our beautiful room where we relaxed.

The next day we had breakfast on the rooftop terrace, maybe not the most filling of breakfasts but it was amazing day after day with pancakes, fruit juice, fresh fruit, coffee or tea with yoghurt. My fiancé had an omelette each day to which they happily obliged. The rooftop terrace itself is amazing as well with beautiful sunsets and where I eventually proposed and she said yes.

Francesco and the staff where just amazing, always helpful and knowledgable, they organised a day trip for us and when we where concerned about anything he always gave the right information to re assure us. He went completely out of his way to organise a beer for me which they don't actually stock. A tip, but some alcohol at duty free before coming over as it is a Muslim country and drink is hard to find.

The riad is down some bendy streets so call ahead of arrival if you coming by yourself for them to meet you where the taxi drops you off.

The service was just glorious and the people great, we mixed with some of the ther guests and other stayed to themselves but otherwise i have to say thanks to Ben who serenaded us while I proposed whilst the sun set.

Room Tip: The riad was a different world and allowed us to absorb some of the local culture and food, much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay for a long weekend in Marrakech, We did not wish to stay in the adjacent modern city, but wanted to get a taste of authentic Marrakech in the medina. This property came up with many highly positive ratings which was the reason why we chose it.
The property is elegantly decorated in traditional Moroccon style. It is accurately depicted on their website. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much bother. It was remarkably quiet given the location in a busy city. Breakfast was different every day, based on local cuisine and served at a time that suited you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We could have stayed at a big hotel, but I would go for this location again and it's personal service without any hesitation.
The only challenge was finding it in a maze of paths and alleyways. We used a Bushnell Backtrack GPS device (checkout Amazon), very simple to use and not expensive. (It indicates direction and how far away a registered point is, it also has a compass built in). Once we had found the Riad, recorded it's location in the GPS device, we could comfortably get lost in the Medina and always find our way back home. I am reasonably well travelled, and have not been to any city quite like this before. I downloaded satellite images of the area and maps, neither were very comprehensive. Many of the alleyways are not detectable from a satellite image because they are covered over, particularly where there are shops. Something you don't appreciate until you are there. There are a lot of passageways not recorded in the guidebooks and it is easy to get lost. We ended up using waypoints (GPS recorded locations) for the Riad front door, the turning off of the main drag to the Riad and the centre of Place Jemaa el Fna. While it may be hard to believe while we were getting oriented there we could not initially locate Place Jemaa el Fna from the Souks. So an independent device that shows you which direction and how far turned out to be very useful.
Don't be put off by the fact that you can get lost. It is an amazing place with something different around every corner. It is a very safe city, we could see evidence of plain clothed police or officials in many locations, they were not obvious, but security is being taken seriously by the Moroccan Government. They are also proactively promoting tourism.
GETTING THERE: We took the Number 19 bus from the airport terminal (runs every 30 minutes), and got off at Bab Doukkala Gate. Facing the city wall take the right hand entrance through the city wall and head down Rue Bab Doukkala. As you pass each turning to the left look at the wall on the corner of the turning about 3-4 metres up. On one of the turnings is a sign pointing to Riad Sable Choud 150 metres. This is the route we used. The website has a downloadable map which was useful. Places we visited that are worth a look: Place Jemaa el Fna particularly in the afternoon and evening. It changes radically through the day. The souks, Maison Tiskwin, Palais El Bahia,Place des Ferbantiers, Palais El Badi, Saadian Tombs, Kasbah, Majorelle Garden, Madrassa Ben Jouseff, Musee de Marrakech, Koubba el Baroudiyn. A restaurant we would recommend on the major square Place Jemma el Fna is Restaurant Le Marrakchi. Also eat in the square at night time "number 1" is recommended. The tanneries are mentioned in guide books, we went to that region, while there are a few tanneries, our experience was that they were small, and unless you could get high above the tanneries to get a photograph from above it was not worth the effort. The guidebook we used the most was Insight Guide to Marrakesh Step by Step. This had some self guided walks which were useful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

With a girlfriend, I stayed here in June 2011. [Easy Jet holidays] Firstly we were greeted by the young woman [in national dress] who runs this hotel but is not the owner. We were given tea and snack while we waited for the manager to arrive.

The setting of this Riad is great. With a nice open courtyard and lots of natural vegetation all around.

The room was wonderful. Very nice and clean. The shower was good. This is a small very personal location. The main door from the street is locked and you need to ring a bell to get in. The bedrooms are not locked and really this felt the natural thing in this setting. The bedrooms are on the first floor. The stairway from the ground to the second floor is adorned with wonderful photographs of local people and scene. On the second floor there is an open balcony, where you can relax in the shade or in the sunshine. There was often a gentle breeze up there during our stay.

There is a small indoor pool on the ground floor. Very refreshing for a dip, but the water is very cold and perhaps comes from the Atlas mountains.

The breakfast [which was included] was different each day and good. Not buffet style but individually prepared by the people who run the Riad. However I can’t say the same for dinner. We ordered dinner one evening and we were disappointed with this. The ‘chef’ was the man from the hotel and we thought that he should stick to looking after the hotel and not cooking dinners.

This is a hidden gem in Marrakesh and I intend to stay here again if I come to this city.

------o-----o------o--------o--------o
This hotel is well located if you do not mind a little walking. It is only a 15 – 20 minute walk to the main square and souks. You need a taxi from the airport to get near the hotel. Because the Riad is in a narrow ally, you need to walk a short distance from where the taxi drops you. To get to the hotel, you will need a ‘guide’ who will be on hand where the taxi drops you. He will carry your luggage on a cart and you should give him no more than 20 dirhams.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

An absolutely charming small hotel with gracious excellent service

A small authentic hotel c.5 rooms in the heart of the old town. Yet very quite and peaceful. Slept very well. You just hear the birds in the morning. A lovely roof terrace to sun bath and have your breakfast up there if you want. Lovely room. You feel safe and cared for.

They will cook a three course evening meal for you if you tell them in the morning or on the first night if you email them in advance (I wish we had done that). The food every bit as good as more expensive resturants. The meal time “whatever time you want as if it is your own home”. Safe to leave your valuables unlocked. Indeed when we left the cleaner brought us the coins we had left in the room for her in case we had accidently left them there.

Excellent – would not think of going anywhere else when we go again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

We booked the Riad through a travel agency which made it affordable to travel to Marrakesh (we would have paid 40% more if booked independently). The Riad is very well located north of the Medina and very easy from there to get to all the sites. The Riad is lovely and clean. Staff friendly without being intrusive. Mohammed (super-Mo as we called it) serves as waiter, receptionist, guide... we kind of felt sorry for the guy and just hoped the pricey stay pays him and the rest of the staff a decent salary. Breakfast was great (different fruits and pastries every day an great coffee!). If you are after fancy Moroccan food definitely have dinner in the Riad (we would have had it more often but at 25 euros per head had to pass). You will pay in euros for everything so be careful not to over-order mint tea or orange juice (have it outside instead!) . On the night we arrived we asked to be recommended a restaurant and were taken to a lovely venue which unfortunately served poor food and had a creepy show on. If you are arriving at night and are not familiar with the surroundings, call in advance for the Riad to prepare dinner for you instead. After that save your money by eating in the great cheap eateries around the Medina (we did just that and loved it!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Very good location, nice bedrooms and riad in general but very abusive price for a very poor breakfast and NO hot water facilities many times. We had a great holidays but we paid 100€ the night for a suite that is got nothing of suite, the fotographer of the riad made very good work, looks everything stuning and beautiful in the photos but...is not 100% like this and 100€ the night is A LOT for the breakfast they offer and the problems with the hot water, we are talking about MARRAKECH not about PARIS, ROME or BARCELONA, so i found it very abusive the price.

And they even ask us 15€ to smoke a SHISHA!!!! ridiculoes!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadsablechaud, General Manager at Riad Sable Chaud, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
First of all many thanks for having chosen our Riad to spend your holiday and also for having found to write you review.

I am respecting your point of view but I would like just to point out some facts that will be really useful for other guests.

1 - Poor Breakfast:
Our breakfast consisted of:
- Coffee, Milk, Tea (According to the guests requests we are serving also Mint Tea, Milk Chocolate ..
- Pieces of Pie
- Bread
- Orange juice
- Pancakes
- Fruits
Please also that our breakfasts are changing daily, our guests are not having the same breakfast even if they are staying & week. According to all our guests (Please check other reviews that our breakfast is one of the highlights thing during their stay).
Please also note that it’s clearly specified on all the featured documentation concerning our Riad that we are serving a Moroccan breakfast.

2 – Problem of Hot Water:
I am totally surprised about that as nothing was reported during the guest’s stay, Neither from these guests nor from the others who were staying at the Riad at the same period. I would like to clarify that we were fully booked during this period and that we are using a general water boiler for all the rooms.

3 – Smoking a SHISHA:
Please note that our Riad is a non smoking place. The only one place where guests can smoke is on the Terrace. SHISHA is not one of the services we are providing. After investigating this matter I’ve realized that there has been a misunderstanding, my colleague was speaking about the price to buy a SHISHA and not about the cost to smoke it in the Riad.
We are a respectful Riad and we are not providing any services that can create problems for our property or to disturb other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Just had 3 nights in this Riad, Building work going on to create another bedroom and no apology for the noise and mess,

20 minute walk from the main square through some very dark and scary areas

Would only take a card for the stay and we had to pay all extras in cash, some kind of fiddle !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Sable Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sable Chaud

Address: 135 Derb Ejdid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Sable Chaud 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Sable Chaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Sable Chaud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sable Chaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.