We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Monceau

Save Saved
You added Le Riad Monceau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Riad Monceau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Stay in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A dream stay for a very affordable price. The benefits are excellent. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the main square near a main road and plenty of establishments. The room is really nice, as nice as the pictures and all the comfort that comes with it. The staff is brilliant and makes sure that you will fell just like home. I’d definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    54
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
242
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing riad, hidden away just by the main square. Really cute rooms but no hairdryer or shower which was a disappointment. Staff are eager to please and the restaurant offered one of the best meals we had whilst we were in Marrakech. Negatives- birds and flies eating the breakfast before you do! Wish they would cover the dishes! And call to prayer every morning at 6am that you cannot sleep through. Not their fault but being central and near the mosque the speakers are next to the riad. Having said all that, it's beautiful, the massages were amazing, the terrace is faultless and it's a real experience to be so central

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is an exquisite riad located 2 minutes walk from the central square. We stayed in 2 rooms in the course of our 5 day visit and both were interesting, comfortable and with good plumbing. There are three aspects that especially commend Riad Monceau: the friendliness and honesty of the staff (honesty was glaringly absent in the rest of Marrakech), secondly the roof terrace is vast and well equipped to read a book in the shade during the heat of the day and thirdly the restaurant which has wonderful Moroccan food with a fixed price menu that changes every night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you want somewhere that is under a minutes walk to Jamaa el-Fnaa (the main square) yet offers a complete contrast to the squares busy and noisy atmosphere. As soon as you step in you enter into a peaceful and calm environment. When you first arrive they greet you with the classic Moroccan mint tea, and helpful advice for your stay. The place itself is small and quaint, with various places on each floor where you can sit comfortably and read or rest. The small pool in the centre adds to the tranquility of the riad, and is a lovely romantic place to sit around if eating in the top class restaurant (which may require booking). Some rooms are situated around this same area, as ours was, which was of no concern to us, and may or may not be of some peoples taste concerning noise and privacy when entering and exiting the room. Breakfast is also on this ground floor and can be enjoyed around the pool if wished. A majority of guests and workers at the riad are French speaking (apart from the helpful receptionist who speaks very good English), so a little knowledge of the French language would help but it is not a necessity. You are also welcome to pay in Euros via card which is very useful.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the personal, caring quality that this riad had to offer. It was easy to get to and easy to feel at home there which enhanced the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this beautiful Riad. About a minute walk from the busy main square in the Medina this is a gorgeous retreat in the middle of an amazing city. The location is perfect for shopping at the souks and checking at the food, snake charmers and orange juice sellers in the square. Once you walk down the alley off a bustling lane you are confronted by a big wooden door opening into Riad Monceau. Inside the contrast couldn't be more apparent with birds tweeting and the beautiful pool featuring in the centre of the Riad. We had the Emir room with a wonderful Moroccan bath. Upstairs there are large sofa areas where we took the opportunity to read our books and take afternoon naps whilst listening to the enchanting sound of the call to prayer (which despite having read some reviews before we left wasn't obtrusive in the slightest and is part of the Moroccan way of life).
Each night we ate at one of the many food stalls in the main square, the food is delicious, fast and authentic - and we never got sick!
We booked transport from the airport through Riad Monceau - I recommend doing this as it would be difficult to find your way.
Thanks everyone at Riad Monceau for welcoming us and for making sure we had such a fantastic time - we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a beautiful experience at this hotel. It's a nice, quiet, stay away from the hustle and bustle outside. Staff were superb, helpful and the rooms were stunning. The hotel is walking distance from major sights and excellent restaurants. They offer a shuttle service, which we took, and which, in hindsight was quite useful. Breakfast was superb (actually their entire restaurant experience was superb too). Meals througout the day were delicious. All in all, our stay was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The rooms here are large and comfortable. The hotel is in the center of the city so you can walk anywhere you want to go, even so, it was nice and quiet here. The room we stayed in had a nice little terrace which we really liked. The restaurant is also very good, we had dinner there once and breakfast there twice. The management goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Can’t recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
Our clients' opinions are very useful - to us as well as to other fellow travellers, so please let me thank you for writing this very nice review. I understand you have enjoyed this time spent with us and this makes me sincerely happy.
I hope we’ll have the pleasure and opportunity to welcome you again if you happen to come back to Marrakech.
Thank you to TripAdvisor to allow us this management response.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner of Riad Monceau,
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school in Marrakech
Promoter of the MarrakChef Trophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Riad Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Monceau

Address: 7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Riad Monceau 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet side street just off the Djemaa El Fna (about 100 metres from the square) Le Riad Monceau is a cosy 7-room boutique hotel with pool, hammam-spa, rooftop terraces overviewing the Koutoubia Mosque, and a renowned Moroccan gourmet restaurant where you will enjoy the best of Moroccan gastronomy. Famous friendly cooking workshops are held every morning in the restaurant's kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Riad Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Monceau Marrakech
Le Riad Monceau Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad Monceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.