We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of the very best hotels in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Monceau

Save Saved
You added Le Riad Monceau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Riad Monceau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the very best hotels in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Though I use to come on Tripadvisor to get information everytime I am looking for a hotel or a restaurant - best of all travel sites! - this is the very first time I write a review. I thought I should do so because it seems there’s something wrong with the ranking of this fantastic boutique hotel.
I checked the reviews about Riad Monceau before making our reservation a couple of weeks ago – say 5 weeks - and then it was top ranked as it is on most travel websites (we made our booking on Expedia.co.uk where Riad Monceau was rated 4.9/5 ; as far as I remember it was the best rated of all Marrakesh hotels). And for what I can see it’s now ranked… 384 / 440 !? It’s probably a bug that makes the ranking wrong but this is so absurd I thought I should confirm travellers that this is definitely a top hotel !!
In short the house is pure gem (I made some photos but unfortunately the weather was not sunny enough to get good light), the location is really top notch - right off the main square... couldn't be any better - great service, beautiful rooms and on top of it all a fabulous onsite Moroccan restaurant where my wife and me had 2 fantastic meals (first one on the day we arrived and the other one on our last night).
We had the Sultan room which was a great one (right in front of the little swimming pool but unfortunately the weather was a bit cold and rainy so we were not really in the mood for a swim !). Excellent anyway.
So... a perfect boutique hotel for a perfect short break in Marrakesh. Definitely deserves to be top ranked !
Justin, London.

Room Tip: The Sultan room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    56
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
237
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Undoubtedly an incredibly beautiful riad with much attention to detail and very helpful staff, not to mention a great location. Unfortunately, for the price paid compared to other much more reasonably priced riads in the same area (within a few minutes walk in fact), the service was helpful but not personal in the slightest. As european travellers we are accustomed to high quality but impersonal service, but having stayed at other riads within our trip to morocco and after a few days desert tour, it felt very jarring and was not the morocco we had come to expect, despite the luxury of the riad. Definitely more hotel than 'riad'.
Breakfast was very basic too, a surprise considering the quality of lunches and dinners.
This is all excusable and obviously a matter of personal preference, but for the price it was not quite as expected.
The only real complaint we both had was the absolute din at night time rising up from the courtyard, making it very hard to sleep with other diners, cutlery and music seeming to get louder as it went up. Down in the courtyard it seemed fairly quiet, but in our room it was incredibly loud. Not a problem at all if you are out late or dine late, but if you've just come in from a few days camping with berber guides in the desert and you're suffering from a heat induced headache and desperate to get to sleep before 10pm as one of us was, you'll be out of luck.

Room Tip: Ground floor, as courtyard noise gets louder upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-management, Propriétaire at Le Riad Monceau, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Feedbacks from our guests are very useful and very important to us so I would like to thank you for this comment.

I understand you appreciated Riad Monceau was “an incredibly beautiful riad with much attention to detail and very helpful staff, not to mention a great location” which is… no so bad ! But I understand also you were a bit disappointed and unhappy with your stay.

I am really sorry for that as we make great efforts to ensure every guest has a great time with us. But I don’t think we’re to blame.

As you perfectly explain you were coming to Morocco for a trek in the desert and after this trek you were looking for a simple and friendly guesthouse where to rest. You were already used to this type of inexpensive hotels and you were expecting Riad Monceau to be one of them.
But, as you say, though it is very small – 7 rooms only - Riad Monceau is more a hotel than a guesthouse managed by its owner and just one or two people. My husband and I are there of course but due to the standing of our house we’ve also 14 people working with us to make sure our guests receive the best service. And even though our staff are renowned for their kindness and helpfulness this can’t be compared for sure to a owner who can offer spending hours chatting with his guests.

There are about 700 riads in Marrakech, most of them being small guesthouses like the ones you’re used to stay. As far as we’re concerned we are more an exclusive place used to receive people looking for a romantic and luxury stay. We offer them a perfect location, fantastic surroundings and décor, luxury rooms and a unique onsite gourmet restaurant. In short : all they need to get great days and nights ; great food, nice ambiance, even at night which makes Riad Monceau quite a unique place (after 8pm most riads offer no other possibilities than going to bed or going outside to have dinner…). Therefore, though Riad Monceau is definitely NOT a noisy place it is true we offer some ambiance at night, and we’re really proud of it ! So I totally understand that, because your only purpose was going to bed early, this ambiance was not the one you were looking for. It’s really a pity because, as said before, Riad Monceau is quite unique in its own way whereas most Marrakech small riads are perfect places to rest and.. do no more than rest.

I am not sure we deserve this 3/5 mark but I perfectly understand why you are giving it to us. I am not sure we deserve to be blamed either and we’ve definitely no reason to blame you (even though we don’t like very much average marks !). The only one to be blamed in fact is the agency that suggested you should stay at Riad Monceau without making sure this would be the best place for you to stay. Of course, due to our very good reputation we know that most agencies suggest their clients to stay at our hotel but this is not fair : the best hotel is the one that is going to be good for you… and it is obvious that Riad Monceau, whatever its qualities, cannot pretend to be the perfect hotel for every traveler coming to Marrakech.

This is why I strongly suggest to every traveler to arrange his stay personally. First of all one should think of what he’s exactly looking for, then one should take time to visit the hotels’ websites and check carefully the reviews and tips on Tripadvisor. If you do so there’s a good chance you find and choose a hotel that matches perfectly your wishes. That’s the best way to avoid misunderstandings and disappointments.

Thank you to Tripadvisor for allowing us to publish this management reply.
Isabelle Aubry
Owner Le Riad Monceau
Boutique hotel, gourmet restaurant and cooking school
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel, great courtyard dining area with dip pool. Traditional RIAD minutes from the main square but an oasis of calm and quiet. Excellent food and nice rooms, not overdone but very classy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Without a doubt the best solution to see Marrakech. Riad Monceu is located in the centre of city, 2 mins of walkin from the big square (El Fna). Here you can breathe the real culture of Marocco and this is the reason why i hate go through the big hotel (like Sofitel or Mamounia)
The restaurant is absolutely elegant with an incredible athmosfere.The quality of food is superb and the two girls who work on the staff are so kind and professional (and to be honest very nice, which is good no? ;) )
Everything was fine.
Marcello

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Riad for 3 nights and it couldn't have been bettered.
Very close to the main square and all the cultural attractions and yet quiet and calm within the walls. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant was amazing - the evening menu was typical Moroccan- beautifully cooked with local ingredients - delicious!! The roof terrace was a great place to watch the sun go down with a beer. I also had an oriental massage in the spa which was excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great but you may want one on the first floor if you sleep lightly as breakfast i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Marrakech and Riad Monceau was a great place to stay, it ticks all the boxes. The location is superb it is only metres away from Jamaa el Fna and the souks. The staff are all very friendly and polite. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the cooking course was great fun. We have already recommended it to friends and hope to go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A beautiful hotel and rooms, and an oasis of calm and tranquility a very short walk away (less than 2 minutes) from the bustling main square. We travelled in February so the temperature did drop overnight, and we did experience some problems with the heating in the room which could have been managed by the hotel a bit better, although generally the staff were very helpful and responsive. Also the cost of the transfer service arranged by the hotel to the airport was a bit higher than I would have expected.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was a it noisy in the morning as we could constantly hear staff cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Riad Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Monceau

Also Known As:
Le Riad Monceau Hotel
Le Riad Monceau Marrakech
Le Riad Monceau Hotel Marrakech
Address: 7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Riad Monceau 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet side street just off the Djemaa El Fna (about 100 metres from the square) Le Riad Monceau is a cosy 7-room boutique hotel with pool, hammam-spa, rooftop terraces overviewing the Koutoubia Mosque, and a renowned Moroccan gourmet restaurant where you will enjoy the best of Moroccan gastronomy. Famous friendly cooking workshops are held every morning in the restaurant's kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Riad Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad Monceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.