We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Monceau

Save Saved
You added Le Riad Monceau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Riad Monceau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #398 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The highlite of our stay in Marrakech was the Riad Monceau.
the rooms are very comfortable and the peace and tranquility abounds.
The staff were very helpful in many ways from our arrival to departure.
the food was delicious. I met the owner on many occasions and she was delightful.
the owner's receptionist/ assistant was very helpful and kind. When we arrived we found we had a room on the first floor. it was my mistake as i did not think there would be no elevator. When we explained the problem with the stairs we were immediately given a room on the main level off the courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    56
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
238
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We did not enjoy our stay in Marrakech as a city for a number of reasons, but the absolute highlight of our stay was being able to escape back to the Riad Monceau for respite. The peace and tranquility was amazing after the sights and sounds of the city. The restaurant in the hotel was incredible.

The only downsides were that there is no view from the roof, the hammam was incredibly small, and some of the rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Le Riad Monceau‏. It had a very nice french colony atmosphere. The rooms were fantastic with our own jacuzzi! The hotel restaurant served tasty maroccan food and the staff were overall very friendly and helpfull. Although one of the waiters were very pushy about getting a taxi for us. He even told us that it could be very difficult getting one. Which is completely BS!

The location was right next to all the shops and markets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

That’s the first word that comes to mind:perfection... Our stay was just PERFECT and all about this lovely boutique was flawless. Perfect location – all other riads we were interested in were at least 10 minutes walk from the main square (which means quite far here !!) whereas Riad Monceau was less than 2 minutes) ; a huge bonus !
Fantastic decor, gorgeous surroundings… What else can I say? Oh yes : fantastic staff! All so helpful and friendly.
Thanks all guys for making our stay an enchanting and never to be forgotten moment

Room Tip: The Pasha suite is the most expensive of all rooms but it's absolutely amazing ; huge private ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay and relax.
The rooms are superb, spacious, very comfortable and feature great en-suite bathrooms. All spotless clean and perfectly kept.
On site Restaurant Riad Monceau is also a must and the 2 dinners we had there were fantastic. Would definitely recommend to give it a try at least once during your stay.
Having dinner here on your arrival night can be a good idea so you can relax and enjoy the fantastic surroundings and ambiance of the riad at night. Probably the most enjoyable way to start a great stay in magic Marrakech !
And if you are interested in cooking do not hesitate to participate to one of the cookery workshops that are held in the restaurant kitchen every morning. This is a lot of fun and a very friendly moment.
Would definitely recommend this for a romantic getaway, food is exquisite, staff are all wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be great though they are all different. All rooms are shown on the hotel officia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Have just returned after a weeks stay in the fantastic Le Riad Monceau. The staff, rooms, food and its location make it the place to stay. If you want to stay in a concrete box, go to one of the many universal modern hotels on the outskirts. If on the other hand, you want to be made to feel at home in an exotic location, then the Riad Monceau and it's staff make it so. We used their guides and drivers on a number of occasions and were excellent.
The call to prayer can sound very loud at about 5.00am, you may not notice it. One of our group did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Monceau for a couple of nights in ocotober. The place is right in the middle of the Medina, just steps away from the central market. The service was great, the food amaizing and the rooms are tastefully decorated. we even got a free upgrade. This is the place to stay if you are thinking of staying in the Medina

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Riad Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Monceau

Address: 7 / 8 derb Chaabane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Riad Monceau 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet side street just off the Djemaa El Fna (about 100 metres from the square) Le Riad Monceau is a cosy 7-room boutique hotel with pool, hammam-spa, rooftop terraces overviewing the Koutoubia Mosque, and a renowned Moroccan gourmet restaurant where you will enjoy the best of Moroccan gastronomy. Famous friendly cooking workshops are held every morning in the restaurant's kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Le Riad Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Monceau Marrakech
Le Riad Monceau Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad Monceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.