We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #50 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we recommend it so highly. The riad is beautiful and just as described. Beds are comfy, rooms clean and air com/wifi both fully work. Breakfast is delicious and location is perfect - 15 min walk/5 min taxi to Jemaa el Fna. We didn't meet the owner Peter but if he is anything like Hassan the manager you will be so looked after. Hassan was amazing and looked after us like royalty. It was our first time in Marrakech and Hassan took the time to sit with us for half an hour and show us/ recommend everything there was to know and ways to avoid trouble in the markets etc. he helped us with all our requests and made us feel so welcome. He even went to get our bus tickets for us! Couldn't say a bad word about this place and want to thank everyone at dar zaman for our incredible stay - we will definitley come back and stay here again as soon as possible. Amazing couple of days!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    31
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
181
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our one-week stay at Dar Zaman. It is within the medina but an interesting 10-minute walk from the chaos, a feature that we liked because the area seems more authentic and less touristy. As you maneuver the twists and turns to find the Riad, you will scatter neighborhood kids bouncing things and rolling hoops, chattering and giggling all the while. You will see guys loading up their donkey carts and women returning home from the open-air market with fruits and baguettes. Within the Riad, the hustle and bustle vanishes, and you find peace and comfort. We rented the entire place for our family of 5. We had two delicious dinners cooked by Karima and enjoyed every breakfast, with its lavish spread of pastries, baguettes, fruit, omelettes, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and yogurt. The roof terrace at sunset, with its view of the ochre roofs, minarets, and palm trees of Marrakech and its sounds of muezzin announcing the end of the day's fast (we were there during Ramadan) is going to be my new "happy place"! We enjoyed the plunge pool. We relaxed in the living room and appreciated its large library of guidebooks. We took a daytrip to the High Atlas, arranged by the Riad, and had a terrific time. The climate is so dry that you can wash clothes, lay them out on the terrace, and find them dry within two hours -- so it was a week of great clean clothes! The best feature, though, was Hassan. We really enjoyed getting to know him, and he definitely went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that we had the right directions and the best recommendations. If you want to be right in the epicenter of touristy kitsch and touts, stay elsewhere. If, instead, you'd like a bird's eye view of the medina and a feel for local living, despite your proximity to everything you want to visit, jump at this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in all four rooms. All have good wifi access (correcting a prior commenter's issue wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault this fabulous intimate Riad. Lovely clean rooms and great breakfasts lunches and evening meals,in a great location .... Only 10 mins walk from the square.
However, the friendly warm welcome, by staff Hassan and Karima and owner Peter are what make this Riad extra special, nothing is too much trouble, and Hassan is always happy to give advice and tips on how to get around, or to give suggestions of what to see and do, he is always happy to help with anything at all that you need. This is beautiful peaceful haven, hidden in the fantastic sensory overload that is Marrakech. We will be back...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Dar Zaman is a wonderful little riad in the heart of Marrakech. Peter and Hassan were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The riad decor was very tasteful, the food was amazing, the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax after a full day of sightseeing. We would recommend this amazing place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Wonderful little riad in the heart of Marrakech with all the amenities you will need. Great value for money. Peter was very helpful in getting us familiar with the area which is fairly difficult to navigate at first. Breakfast was tasty. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Well done to Peter and Hassan for making our break so memorable. The riad is a hidden gem and I mean hidden! .... but Hassan will give you a map and detailed instructions of all the places to eat and visit. From collection at the airport to providing a lovely meal on the first night Hassan will try and anticipate your every need in a caring but unobtrusive way. The riad is small, intimate and beautiful. Excursions arranged through Peter and Hassan were top quality too. Thanks to both, staying here will not disappoint and a great contrast to the hustle and bustle outside.

Room Tip: Querky small en suite rooms - none will disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I work in the travel industry and have been visiting Marrakech for the past 15 years. I have stayed in a wide range of accommodation throughout Morocco and love the country. In recent years I have spoken to various travellers who have mentioned Dar Zaman, always giving glowing reports of the building, services, and most of all, the excellent staff. In May my Wife and I decided to find out what all the fuss was about. Our visit could not have impressed us more, a truly wonderful experience, made perfect by the attentions of our host Peter. The rooms are a delight, beautifully decorated and conveying a truly intimate atmosphere. It is immediately obvious that Dar Zaman has been created by someone who truly cares about the customer experience. The food is pure Heaven and the staff are a delight. A very special place, perfect for a romantic getaway or family holiday. Go, go now!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are delightful but talk to owner Peter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.