We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #50 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not have chosen a better Riad for my first trip to Marrakech. My friend and I have just spent four wonderful nights at Dar Zaman and felt totally at home. With just four stylish, compact but well appointed rooms, this Riad is a real home from home. My friend has stayed in two other Riads in Marrakech and whilst both had many positives, this Riad is the whole package. Hassan, Karima and Peter made us feel totally relaxed immediately by being friendly, kind, welcoming and cheerful. Both Peter and Hassan have excellent local knowledge and gave invaluable tips on how to deal with the day to day 'attention' from the locals, be they taxi drivers, souk merchants or children in the street offering their 'help'. They also have many recommendations for things to do and places to eat. We were never rushed and everything was for us, not for their convenience.

Dar Zaman is in a local neighbourhood of the Marrakech Medina and, whilst a longer walk to the souks and main square than more central Riads, we both felt it was fantastic to be in an area that felt real rather than touristy. Dar Zaman is in a very quiet back street. There is no noise from outside, apart from the occasional call to prayer which, in itself, is all part of the experience. As with any building in hot climates, there are lots of cooling, hard surfaces meaning noise from within the Riad does carry but this is not a major issue. My room, La Carbonne, was excellent with air-conditioning, a comfy bed, Juliet balcony and the beautiful black shower room - very contemporary but nodding to traditional Moroccan style. In fact the whole Riad is like this. The communal areas are comfortable and with a fusion design aesthetic which looks especially beautiful at night.

We ate dinner at the Riad on two occasions, the first, our three course arrival dinner and, again, on our final evening, the latter being by far the best meal we ate in Marrakech. Karima is an excellent cook and went out of her way to cook to order for a fussy vegetarian: three Moroccan salads and one Moroccan dhal-like dish to start followed by a divine potato, pea, olive and preserved lemon tagine for me (the vegetarian) and brochettes of spiced chicken with a fresh, herby salad for my friend. Dessert was a simple but effective and tasty cinnamon orange with vanilla sugar. We would urge anyone to eat 'à la carte' here at least once, even if you have the welcome dinner also. Breakfast is also great - a perfect start to the day with delicious omelettes, crèpes, pastries, fruit plus bread and preserves.

Riad Dar Zaman offers excellent value. I know there is a myriad of Riads in Marrakech which I can't possibly comment on but as a whole deal: comfort, style, cuisine, relaxed atmosphere, knowledgeable and friendly team and location, I would challenge anyone not to be impressed with this fabulous find.

Thank you to you all at Dar Zaman. We had a marvellous time in Marrakech, made all the more enjoyable by staying with you.

Room Tip: La Carbonne is worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    30
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
176
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I have stayed in this Riad and again it didn't disappoint. I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a place in the heart of Marrakech. This beautiful, small, friendly place is relaxing and the owner and staff can not do enough to make you stay one to remember. A great base to explore Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A fantastic experience being my first time in Morocco. Dar Zaman Riad is the most perfect place to stay - it is such a relaxing place, the rooms are beautiful, the food is delightful, delicious and the menu is designed around you and how you want to eat. On arrival you are cared for from the moment you walk through the door. A small Riad filled with authenticity, calmness, luxury, genuine friendship and the utmost hospitality - Peter, Hasan and his unique chef will make sure all your needs are met. When visiting Marrakesh I would look no further than to book in at Dar Zaman. Save yourself the hassle of looking around just go there, you will not be disappointed........ you will absolutely love it........... )-:

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great location for exploring Marrakech. Small but perfect riad tucked away not far from souks. Friendly professional staff that are extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this riad and will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

- the traditional building of this riad means that its super quiet and also much cooler than out in the streets of the medina
- the room was spacious with a very comfortable bed with high quality bedding
- great bathroom with toiletries
- very relaxing space (you'll need it!)
- Peter and Hasan are extremely helpful with lots of tips and recommendations (but certainly not in a prescriptive way) on things to do, arranging excursions, restaurants etc
- great breakfast and would recommend you eat there in the evening at least once!
- the rooms face out onto the courtyard which is very nicely styled with local visiting birds paying a visit in the morning
- there is aircon for when its very hot
- there is a terrace which was great for some air in the evenings
- there are just four rooms so not too many people unlike the larger riads
- would definitely stay again if back in town

Room Tip: La Carbone has a small balcony facing onto the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from a fantastic stay at dar zaman with a friend. The riad was a definite highlight of the trip. It was a friendly sociable place and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Organising trips, giving directions, making fantastic recommendations as well as ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay. I would definitely recommend dar zaman.

Room Tip: La douria was one of the larger rooms overlooking the central atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbrian
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and myself booked a 11day holiday to Adair but to break it up slightly we had two days in Marrakech. We are so glad we picked the darzaman to stay in, as the riad is in the middle of the medina we felt we got the authentic Marrakech experience. We really felt that the whole riad was authentic from bedrooms with ornate shutters and black shower room to Moroccan wall hangings and carved wooden furniture. But the biggest asset is the staff team of Hassan the manager and Karima the housekeeper/cook. Hassan was full of information and tips and was always there to help with any thing you might want .karima prepared us a beautiful meal on our first night which was the tastiest meal we had for ages and also Peter the ownwer,who was extremely helpfull, was always on hand with hints and tips of what to do and where to go. All in all a great couple of days and I would recommend dar Kaman highly to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel
Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Expedia so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.