We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Zaman" -- Days Gone By, in the 21st Century” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #48 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"Zaman" -- Days Gone By, in the 21st Century”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

"Zaman" evokes the day of old in a way few English words do. And stepping into Riad Dar Zaman is like stepping back in time -- but with a 21st century twist. The Riad has been beautifully restored, but much of the furniture is contemporary and sleek. Use of Malian mud cloth as art work pays tribute to Marrakech's establishment as a northern crossroads linking the Sahara and Africa to Morocco's Atlantic and Mediterranean trading routes. Food is wonderful -- salads rarely seen in tourist Moroccan restaurants, and as a special request the sublime quince tajine... Rooms are comfortable, and unusually for a riad, very quiet. Best of all is the wonderful service of manager Hassan and chef/housekeeper Karima. Worth many return visits!

Room Tip: Not a room tip -- an arrival tip. Ask to be picked up at either the airport or train station, as ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    32
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
190
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A review of Dar Zaman was always going to be tricky. Reviews are comparative; I can pit one restaurant against another easily enough, and the same thing goes for hotels. But a riad? I’d never really even heard of a riad before booking into Dar Zaman, let alone stayed in one. Was it similar to a B&B or Guest House? I had no idea.

First impressions? We got those before even arriving at the place, as Peter (the owner) emailed up prior to our arrival to see if he could arrange an airport transfer service for us. Little touches like these always breed enormous confidence in any place at which I stay.

The riad was – like most of anywhere in Marrakech – not the most straightforward place to find on arrival so the transfer was very useful, and being met at the nearby square by Hassan (the day-to-day manager) was very welcome. As he led us through the tight streets to Dar Zaman he filled us in on local landmarks for later trips back and forth and, once we were check into our room, spent half an hour talking us though a printed map, marking tourist sites, restaurants and other notable areas on it. Also furnishing us with the phrase “la chokran” was certainly as helpful as all the directions! You tend to need it in Marrakech.

The riad was a very beautiful building, decorated in an appealing mix of Moroccan/Moorish and African themes, obviously loved and scrupulously clean throughout. For people who are used to hotels when on holiday, be prepared for a smaller space to stay. The riad is pretty much just a house, so your room will be much like a standard European bedroom with an en suite bathroom. “Snug” might be a good description of the room but it was a very pleasant space in which to stay.

While there we were completely looked after by Hassan and Karima, and there was nothing that were unable to help us with. You just don’t get this level of service and attention to detail in most places – from organizing excursions, through changing money into smaller notes, on to giving advice on how and where to travel and how much it should all cost, they helped with everything. Peter has picked his staff very well and after spending an afternoon eating cake and drinking tea with him as we crossed paths in Essaouira, it became clear how this place is a very good reflection of his personality and charm. His knowledge of Marrakech and the surroundings is excellent and he was always willing to make suggestions to improve your stay. For example, he heard we were heading for a Lebanese restaurant and suggested that we might like trying a different one, somewhere less well known but with what he deemed higher quality food. He was right, and La Cuisine de Mona was a wonderful place to eat.

Dar Zaman gave us an excellent place to stay. The little touches that showed how much they cared about their guests and the riad itself shone through – on one occasion a stomach bug had us to staying in our room until late afternoon, and when we eventually left to buy water and a few snacks, we returned to find the room made up in that narrow window of opportunity – and you will always feel utterly comfortable there.

Marrakech was an interesting experience and it’s possibly not a place to which we’ll be desperately trying to arrange our next visit. However, if and when we do return here, we will almost certainly return to Dar Zaman. Having now stayed in a riad, I can imagine others would have find it a difficult standard to beat.

Room Tip: Don't expect acres of space! Use the website and if you want a specific room I'm sure an ema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This riad is wonderful. Hassan is the most helpful person on the planet! It was very overwhelming being shown a map of the medina for the first time (and wondering how you wouldn't get lost), but Hassan walked us through everything and we didn't get lost once! He also had wonderful suggestions for restaurants, shops, and attractions. Peter was also very nice and helped to set up many day trips for us.

We stayed in the smallest room (with a bathtub). It was certainly small, but decorated very nicely and had everything you needed. We ate dinner at the riad the first night and it was a great meal, so I would suggest it.

The only thing I would change about the riad is it's location, although it was only a short walk to the main square (maybe 10 or 15 minutes), the first couple of minutes is through a busy road which got a little intense at times. Also, sometimes you could really hear other people opening and closing the doors to their rooms (the fasteners were a little loud). But all and all, the riad was wonderful, the staff was really welcoming and helpful, and we would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here one night. The room is small but comfortable, clean and plush. The toiletries provided are nice as well. The water pressure in shower and wash basin was good and there was hot water all the time (which is not the case in many other places we stayed in Morocco). Hassan and Peter were helpful with directions and any other questions we had. This riad is a little away from the main souks and Djema el-Fna. We did not book any trips through them, so I cannot comment on those. Breakfast is the usual fare with bread basket, moroccan flatbread, eggs, OJ and fruit. I will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was our second time in this Riad and it is was the same warm feeling of being at home. Peter, the owner and Hassan, the manager are always there to help you get around and makes sure that your stay in Marrakech is a great experience. Peter helped us organize our trip to the desert and everything was just perfect. We stayed in the top room which is right next to a beautiful terrace with long chairs, couch and tables...great to have breakfast there (wonderful croissant, home made yogurt, fresh juice, bread, jam...)...I would say that after being in many Riad across Morocco, Dar Zaman is the one we prefer because of the warm presence of Peter and Hassan and the way that they care about their guests. Thanks again!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor opens on a wonderful terrace (long chairs, table to have your breakfast, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Dar Zaman is elegant and stylish with an atmosphere of calm tranquillity which is much appreciated after the madness of the medina.

It is located in a residential area a litle away from the main souks etc so you don't find yourself being accosted by people selling their wares as soon as you step out of the door.

Rooms are small but perfectly formed with large, very comfortable beds and ours had a particularly impressive shower. There is also a lounge for guests' use and the sun terrace is perfect for relaxing and catching the sun.

Breakfast is fresh and plentiful with delicious yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and eggs cooked to order as well as pastries and fresh fruit. If you choose to eat dinner at Dar Zaman (highly recommended) the food is beautifully cooked and presented. We tried a number of places to eat and all were good but Karima's cooking was the best by far!

But what makes Dar Zaman really special is the team who runs it: Peter, Hassan and Karima. Nothing is too much trouble, from making refreshing mint tea to answering endless questions on everything Moroccan or just making you feel welcome. In a short time they will seem like old friends and as you leave you will already be planning your next visit.

I love Marrakech but I'm carefull who I recommend it to as the noise and chaos might not be to everyone's taste. However, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Dar Zaman. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Marcos da Serra, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had the most wonderful holiday at the Dar Zaman Riad, nothing was to much trouble for peter and his amazing staff, the rooms were just wonderful, clean and very confortable all with A/C, Breakfast was a joy, I had dinner every night I was there, the cook is a wonder, and with only 4 rooms you have a much more " Personal Experience " along with the added bonus that all the guests were chatting and swapping tales of there shopping trips.The fact that we had someone on call 24/7 who sleeps in the Riad I found most reassuring,Peter arranged to have me picked up and dropped off at the Airport,along with Peters " chat " including maps and whats what in Marrakech,He also met me at the taxi drop off, Plus and I have to say this was the best thing , Peter booked a guide which was a truly amazing experience. As someone who has travelled the world I cant recommend this Riad highly enough ..STUNNING with attention to detail that made my trip a true joy, I will return to the Zaman and recommend it fully in all ways ...Well done Peter and his team AAA ***

Room Tip: All the rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.