We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #46 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay if you are visiting Marrakech. Hassan couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms were lovely, as was the roof terrace. We were made to feel very welcome and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    31
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
183
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I do not know the reviewer above, but couldn't have put the comments better myself. This small Riad has a lovely, cosy atmosphere, great food, (highlight was our magical dinner on the roof terrace) and friendly, helpful service from the nothing-is-too-much-trouble Hassan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just returned from 4 perfect days in Marrakech, perfection largely due to our fabulous host, Hassan. We already miss his warm smile and kind demeanor... Upon arrival, we were greeted and quickly walked to the serenity of the riad, where Hassan plotted an expert route through the city, providing us with tips and tricks around navigating the maze that is the Medina. We were well equipped to venture onward with confidence, complete with great recommendations for restaurants, landmarks and must sees.
We opted to hire a half day guided tour booked through Dar Zaman which was filled with exciting unexpected stops tailored to our own interests.
Exhausted, hot and hungry, we returned to the riad, all sultry fragrant and candlelit where we were served a sumptuous Moroccan feast on the rooftop terrace, thanks to Karima's culinary artistry and Hassan's impeccable service.
The room was immaculate, the bed very comfortable and all amenities provided.
We awoke to a delicious breakfast of fresh pastries, msemen (traditional Moroccan pancakes), amazing omelettes and freshly squeezed orange juice - excellent fuel for the day ahead.
Uncertain and a little nervous about booking online, I was very pleased with Peter's prompt and professional replies - I had many questions and he provided all the answers. We chose to have all the extras - transfers, tour guide, Atlas Mountains excursion, etc. booked through Peter and Hassan - every detail was provided for and exceeded our expectations.
Lastly, Peter has done a beautiful job with the overall design and decoration of the property; every space worthy of a feature in a home decor magazine. Our room, La Carbone, was simply gorgeous.
All in all, an unforgettable visit - we considered Dar Zaman our home; Peter, Hassan and Karima our friends... We were very sad to go, but happy knowing that we now have a new favorite place to visit.
We shall return to Dar Zaman & can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent five nights at Dar Zaman in March, It was a much needed break to the sun. After a good flight we were met at the airport and promptly delivered without a worry. Hassan led us through the narrow alleys to the riad, which was all aglow with candles and music, a beautiful sanctuary in a very chaotic city. Our room was very comfortable and spotless, dinner delicious and we felt immediately at home.. Hassan is the most amazing host, he gave us a detailed map and directions, ordered us taxis, helped us book a trip to the dessert and even fetched our coach tickets from the station to go to Essouira for the day. He was always around to chat but never intrusive, always smiling and helpful.
The medina is a crazy, wonderful place, full of beautiful things to buy and foods to eat. I highly recommend taking a trip through the mountains to the dessert if you are feeling adventurous. Well worth the long drive!!
Lastly, congratulations Peter, for investing your time and energy into making other peoples vacations wonderful. You have created a fantastic home from home and I am very much looking forward to coming again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent a week in the Riad and had a really wonderful time. The room was comfortable and the staff were brilliant. Hassan and Karima were both very helpful and knowledgable and took very good care of us. Thank you both for making outstay with you so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the terrace room. Great views of the Atlas Mountains when the weather was clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent four nights here and had such a fun, fabulous time. Hassan is the best! He was so helpful, kind, and really made us feel at home and comfortable. Always smiling and friendly without being intrusive. The rooms were small, but the beds were comfy and the entire Riad was spotless. The location was great, and it was so fun getting lost in the maze and trying to find 'our door'! Breakfast was lovely and I really wanted one of those fantastic croissants this morning. It was nice to meet Peter, who is a pretty amazing guy! If we have a chance to go back I would definitely stay here. I highly recommend Dar Zaman!

Room Tip: We stayed in La Douiriia and in La Carbone. We preferred La Douiria. It was lighter and brighter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Having returned from a few days stay in this riad, all I can do is highly praise it. From the warm welcome to the advice offered and always with a smile. Hassan is fantastic at being a great host. Friendly, polite and obviously proud of his work. It was great to see Peter, the owner, calling in and karima made us lovely fresh breakfasts. Our room was clean and had a fabulous waterfall like shower. The rooftop terrace was a lovely place to rest following the craziness of the medina and soak up the sun and atmosphere. Overall I highly recommend this Riad and hope to visit again in the future. If you read this Hassan. Thank you. X

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.