We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #50 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Riad Dar Zaman is in the Sidi Ben Slimane district and is walking distance from all the highlights of the Medina. Our hosts were Karima and Hassan both of whom were extremely courteous and made our stay in Marrakech really enjoyable. Nothing was too much for them – our room in the riad was well appointed, clean and had a comfortable bed and good shower. Breakfast was of very good quality – the omelettes were particularly tasty. Hassan recommended us a few good places to eat (try Cafe des Espices, Le Jardin, and Earth Cafe - the vegetarian one as there are two in Marrakech) and provided us a handy map. The riad was peacefully quiet as other guests seemed to be respectful of noise. Our washing was done free of charge and Hassan even showed us how to make Mint tea – the proper way – I must have had mint tea a dozen other times in Morocco and Riad Dar Zaman’s was the best.
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    31
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
181
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

first time to marakech andafter a couple of months reading reviews for a birthday treat for my wife I plumped for this riad and was not dissapointed it was very cosy as it has only four bedrooms making it easier to talk to other travellers and the staff who were wonderful and would do anything for you especially Hassan who took great lengths to explain all about the sousse and local sights etc I hate to give great reviews as I would like to return here and don`t want to find it booked out but seriousley if you go to marakech this Riad is a must as it is in the medina but not too difficult to find and a taxi to the main square is £3 at the dearest we had a fantastic stay

Room Tip: larger room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you go to Marrakech stay in a riad. You can stay in hotels all over the world but not many places offer the riad experience. At the risk of sounding cheesy Dar Zaman really is an oasis of calm from the mayhem outside. ,We were collected at the airport and then met by Hassan who walked us through the alleys. Peter the owner was there to welcome us, You will not find this place on you own so book the transfer.

Another good idea is to eat at the riad on your first night.The food was the best we had during our 5 day stay. We took the smallest room on the roof and felt it to be quieter and more private than the others. I think the riad experience has a lot to do with your fellow guests and riad staff and we were lucky on both counts.

Dar Zaman is located away from the main square (15 mins walk) which we also felt was an advantage. The area is still within the old city walls but is in a quiet residential area.

Go. Enjoy. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for one week which i originally thought that would be more than enough time in Marrakech but i proven wrong almost instantaineously. Marrakech is a bustling city with streets filled with noice and chatter, not to mention a maze of small cobbled streets lined with tiny shop fronts ozzing with rich colour and strong tradition.
However exciting this city may be It would most definately would have not been the same had we not been staying in DAR ZAMAN.

We were met by a very friendly taxi driver at the airport who brought us back to the riad. After gazzing out the window whilst we drove through this busy city, we reached our Riad which is without a doubt a unique santuary.
we were greeted by peter the owner of the riad who gave us some information about the area and briefly went through a few things with us and answered any questions we had. He was such a help and always a friendly face to see. We had dinner in the riad and this was very difficult to match anywhere else we ate.. the smells and flavours were amazing( make sure to try the lemon and olive tagine)
One person who most definately made an impact was our friend HASSAN. In all my travels i have never met someone so warm and dedicated to his job.. he went out of his way time and time again to accomodate us... giving us any tips and directions we may need and even inside scoop on haggling in souks. All of this was very helpful but the most important thing for me was being able to come back after a long day in a buslting city and have someone there to greet you with a smile on their face available for any questions you may have.
Hassan made our stay more interesting and constantly filled us with information about the place and culture, but most of all made this hidden gem feel like a Home for our entire stay.

The Riad is beautifully designed and the decor is tradional but not over the top or tacky. We had the option to stay in two different rooms during our stay, both equally amazing. every room differs in decoration and design which makes them feel that little more special. The terrace was my favouraite part of riad.. there was nothing like listening to the call the prayer whilst sitting and enjoying a morrocan breakfast on the sunny terrase.

RIAD DAR ZAMAN is one of the most fantastic places i have ever stayed in, from arranging trips to the mountains, mint tea in abundance, advice on things to see and do, and overall friendly manner of all staff. Wether you are on your own looking to site see, as a group looking to take on the city or a couple looking for a romantic retreat this special riad has something for everyone.

Big Thank you to everyone at Riad, hope to be back again one day
Best wishes from Ireland
Aoife

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony if you can so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Tucked away behind some of the side streets, passed the kids playing football and after the mini-house bridge over your head, you reach a set of imposing wooden doors, as if taken from a Gladiators locker room. And from the chaos of the Medina and souks, you enter a paradise of calmness and tranquility.

For 5 days we spent our time living the dream in this wonderfully crafted celebration of living. The patron of the hotel was hugely helpful- we sorted out bills easily and booked ourselves in for a couple of meals.

The room was splendid- tastefully decorated and very simple. One down side is the lack of a TV- but I think that defeats the purpose. Very clean, and very comfortable. I felt like I could have just gone on holiday to the Riad and forgotten about Marrakesh!

Food was superb- such a sumptuous Tagine, and wonderful and quaint dining room. Breakfasts were also wonderful on the terrace.

This place had charm and character in abundance, and I loved it!

And all of this for around £60 a day for 2 people- it was a bargain!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent New Year's Eve and a few days after that at Dar Zamman. So calm, relaxing, clean and quiet in the midst of busy Marrkeach. Peter, Hassan and Karima provided a fantastic service throughout our stay and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Thoroughly enjoyed a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was organised through the riad. Had a lovely meal on New Years eve, absolutely fantastic food. I would recommend this place without hesitation, and am looking forward to the next trip to Dar Zaman.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having just come back from a (too short!) stay at Dar Zaman we are already looking into a longer return visit.
Efficient taxi transfer with friendly, English speaking driver, easily arranged with Peter via email and recommeded as a stress free way of getting to your destination. Hassan met us to take us the last part of the journey on foot then we were provided with a very welcome meal prepared by the lovely Karima. Delicious doesn't do it justice!
The area is a residential one with people going about their daily business and few tourists. What seems like a maze of alleyways is actually quite simple once you have done it a couple of times and Hassan provided a clear map. I didn't feel at all intimidated, day or night - on the contrary, we were met with polite greetings and smiles even from the children.
Dar Zaman really is like the photographs. We had La Carbone which was simple and elegant with a spacious shower. I liked having the little balcony looking straight into the courtyard. The bed was very comfortable and I was tempted to smuggle out the wonderful pillows! The water heater made a strange noise at times but this would only be an issue if you wanted to sleep at unusual hours. The call to prayer was not a problem for us either - a melodic intrusion into my dreams and I soon drifted back to sleep (and I'm not generally a good sleeper!). Because of the design, sound travels within the building and this might be a problem if you are easily disturbed or unlucky with fellow guests. I can't say it was a problem for us.
Marrakech itself was everything I had anticipated - and more. Hassan gave excellent advice on where to eat and shop and how to avoid any problems.
I chose Dar Zaman almost at random as there are so many riads with excellent reviews to choose from but I don't think I could have chosen better. Thank you Karima, Hassan and Peter for an unforgettable stay and see you soon (Inshallah).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for coming to stay Muddy86 and for your kind words :)
We had the plumber fix the water heater so no more strange noises!
Come back and see us again soon!
Kind regards,
Peter, Hassan and Karima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.