We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let me live here! Oasis of wonderment, for a fraction of the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #50 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Let me live here! Oasis of wonderment, for a fraction of the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Tucked away behind some of the side streets, passed the kids playing football and after the mini-house bridge over your head, you reach a set of imposing wooden doors, as if taken from a Gladiators locker room. And from the chaos of the Medina and souks, you enter a paradise of calmness and tranquility.

For 5 days we spent our time living the dream in this wonderfully crafted celebration of living. The patron of the hotel was hugely helpful- we sorted out bills easily and booked ourselves in for a couple of meals.

The room was splendid- tastefully decorated and very simple. One down side is the lack of a TV- but I think that defeats the purpose. Very clean, and very comfortable. I felt like I could have just gone on holiday to the Riad and forgotten about Marrakesh!

Food was superb- such a sumptuous Tagine, and wonderful and quaint dining room. Breakfasts were also wonderful on the terrace.

This place had charm and character in abundance, and I loved it!

And all of this for around £60 a day for 2 people- it was a bargain!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    31
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
181
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent New Year's Eve and a few days after that at Dar Zamman. So calm, relaxing, clean and quiet in the midst of busy Marrkeach. Peter, Hassan and Karima provided a fantastic service throughout our stay and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Thoroughly enjoyed a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was organised through the riad. Had a lovely meal on New Years eve, absolutely fantastic food. I would recommend this place without hesitation, and am looking forward to the next trip to Dar Zaman.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having just come back from a (too short!) stay at Dar Zaman we are already looking into a longer return visit.
Efficient taxi transfer with friendly, English speaking driver, easily arranged with Peter via email and recommeded as a stress free way of getting to your destination. Hassan met us to take us the last part of the journey on foot then we were provided with a very welcome meal prepared by the lovely Karima. Delicious doesn't do it justice!
The area is a residential one with people going about their daily business and few tourists. What seems like a maze of alleyways is actually quite simple once you have done it a couple of times and Hassan provided a clear map. I didn't feel at all intimidated, day or night - on the contrary, we were met with polite greetings and smiles even from the children.
Dar Zaman really is like the photographs. We had La Carbone which was simple and elegant with a spacious shower. I liked having the little balcony looking straight into the courtyard. The bed was very comfortable and I was tempted to smuggle out the wonderful pillows! The water heater made a strange noise at times but this would only be an issue if you wanted to sleep at unusual hours. The call to prayer was not a problem for us either - a melodic intrusion into my dreams and I soon drifted back to sleep (and I'm not generally a good sleeper!). Because of the design, sound travels within the building and this might be a problem if you are easily disturbed or unlucky with fellow guests. I can't say it was a problem for us.
Marrakech itself was everything I had anticipated - and more. Hassan gave excellent advice on where to eat and shop and how to avoid any problems.
I chose Dar Zaman almost at random as there are so many riads with excellent reviews to choose from but I don't think I could have chosen better. Thank you Karima, Hassan and Peter for an unforgettable stay and see you soon (Inshallah).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for coming to stay Muddy86 and for your kind words :)
We had the plumber fix the water heater so no more strange noises!
Come back and see us again soon!
Kind regards,
Peter, Hassan and Karima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from five unforgettable days staying in the wonderful Riad Dar Zaman. A complete haven of calm in Marrakech, which is a fascinating city; manic and full of diversity. Negotiating with pedal bikes, motorbikes, donkey carts, taxis not to mention snake charmers and street performers are just part of the everyday hazards encountered in this working environment.
The attention, support and consideration given by both Hassan and Karima were second to none. On our arrival and over a cup of mint tea, Hassan spent time explaining the map, suggesting places of suitable interest and then gave us a personal guided tour of the best route to the square. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he could not have been more helpful throughout our stay.
The Riad is an oasis of peace whether relaxing on the terrace under a vivid blue sky or sampling the delicious food created by Karima, The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable with simple authentic decor. The sounds of the mystical calls to prayers at dawn ensure an early start to the day ahead!
Of course, we will be hurrying back and thoroughly recommend that you do too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent Riad with pleasant hard working Client Services Manager who speaks English very well. Breakfasts were varied and satisfying and evening meal very good. Rooms were smallish but more than adequate and the bed was large and comfortable. There is ample common room usage within the Riad to more than compensate for the size of the bedroom. Atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Free wifi on the Riads laptop was a welcome bonus. It's a difficult find and you need to make use of the Riad's excellent transport arrangements for airport transfers. The area is a bit foreboding at first but is quite typical of the old town and we never felt threatened during our stay. We (two couples) feel we made an excellent choice with regard to accommodation and would recommend Dar Zaman without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Riad Dar Zaman. Hassan was really friendly and helpful and without his help we don't know how we would have got around Marrakech.
We were treated so well and all the staff were excellent.
The room was great, really clean and comfortable, the whole place felt like an oasis of calm in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city.
Breakfast was great with a good choice of food.
The mint tea is also excellent.
We recommend taking ear plugs to any riad though as if you are based in the medina you will hear call to prayer at 6am unless you are a heavy sleeper. Having stayed in the riad though we wouldn't recommend anyone miss out on the unique and amazing experience

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the roof if you're a light sleeper as call to prayer sounds loudest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is my first time to write a review for a hotel we stayed at -- because I felt that the world needed to know that there are special places in the world that really knows how to genuinely care for you, not just as a customer but as a person. Riad Dar Zaman is one such place.

Let me just say that our experience in Dar Zaman was amazing! I don't think we felt the kind of genuine care and intimacy anywhere else in the world! And my friend and I both travel a lot! So kudos to you and your team, Peter Mercer! Special kudos to Hassan (the hotel manager and all-around Mr. Nice Guy -- who truly epitomizes "going above and beyond" the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible, no matter what the conditions. Hassan, hats off to you!

We will always have fond memories of Marrakesh and Morocco, in general. We think it's a beautiful country with a rich culture but what made it more memorable was the warmth of home at Riad Dar Zaman. Thank you so much for the beautiful experience. It was well worth the 30-hour trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, whatever you choose they all have their distinct style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.