We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Mystery Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #47 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical Mystery Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from five unforgettable days staying in the wonderful Riad Dar Zaman. A complete haven of calm in Marrakech, which is a fascinating city; manic and full of diversity. Negotiating with pedal bikes, motorbikes, donkey carts, taxis not to mention snake charmers and street performers are just part of the everyday hazards encountered in this working environment.
The attention, support and consideration given by both Hassan and Karima were second to none. On our arrival and over a cup of mint tea, Hassan spent time explaining the map, suggesting places of suitable interest and then gave us a personal guided tour of the best route to the square. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he could not have been more helpful throughout our stay.
The Riad is an oasis of peace whether relaxing on the terrace under a vivid blue sky or sampling the delicious food created by Karima, The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable with simple authentic decor. The sounds of the mystical calls to prayers at dawn ensure an early start to the day ahead!
Of course, we will be hurrying back and thoroughly recommend that you do too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    37
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
210
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent Riad with pleasant hard working Client Services Manager who speaks English very well. Breakfasts were varied and satisfying and evening meal very good. Rooms were smallish but more than adequate and the bed was large and comfortable. There is ample common room usage within the Riad to more than compensate for the size of the bedroom. Atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Free wifi on the Riads laptop was a welcome bonus. It's a difficult find and you need to make use of the Riad's excellent transport arrangements for airport transfers. The area is a bit foreboding at first but is quite typical of the old town and we never felt threatened during our stay. We (two couples) feel we made an excellent choice with regard to accommodation and would recommend Dar Zaman without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Riad Dar Zaman. Hassan was really friendly and helpful and without his help we don't know how we would have got around Marrakech.
We were treated so well and all the staff were excellent.
The room was great, really clean and comfortable, the whole place felt like an oasis of calm in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city.
Breakfast was great with a good choice of food.
The mint tea is also excellent.
We recommend taking ear plugs to any riad though as if you are based in the medina you will hear call to prayer at 6am unless you are a heavy sleeper. Having stayed in the riad though we wouldn't recommend anyone miss out on the unique and amazing experience

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the roof if you're a light sleeper as call to prayer sounds loudest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is my first time to write a review for a hotel we stayed at -- because I felt that the world needed to know that there are special places in the world that really knows how to genuinely care for you, not just as a customer but as a person. Riad Dar Zaman is one such place.

Let me just say that our experience in Dar Zaman was amazing! I don't think we felt the kind of genuine care and intimacy anywhere else in the world! And my friend and I both travel a lot! So kudos to you and your team, Peter Mercer! Special kudos to Hassan (the hotel manager and all-around Mr. Nice Guy -- who truly epitomizes "going above and beyond" the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible, no matter what the conditions. Hassan, hats off to you!

We will always have fond memories of Marrakesh and Morocco, in general. We think it's a beautiful country with a rich culture but what made it more memorable was the warmth of home at Riad Dar Zaman. Thank you so much for the beautiful experience. It was well worth the 30-hour trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, whatever you choose they all have their distinct style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discerning lancashire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arranged transport from the airport with Peter, the owner of the Riad. The minibus took us to Rue Sidi Ben Slimane where we were met by Hassan, who guided us through the narrow alleys to Riad Zaman. We did wonder where we had come, but once through the door (only one door) all the hustle and bustle ceased and calm descended! Upon arrival we were treated to Moroccan tea (mint) and biscuits, then Hassan gave us a map and explained various routes through the souk, historical attractions, cafes and the whereabouts of the famous square. We had two rooms during our stay as we had arrived on a Monday and it fitted in better with their arrangements. As we were there for a week it was ok by us. The rooms were simply furnished with a large comfortable bed and a large bath-tub with shower over. All very clean. There are only four rooms, one of which is the 'penthouse' on the roof. From the roof terrace you look out over a sea of satelite dishes to the Atlas Mountains. You are given the key to the door, so can come and go as you please. The rooms are arranged around a small courtyard where there is a small plunge pool, not used when we were there because it wasn't warm enough, but I think it would be very welcome in the heat of the summer.
After unpacking we sallied forth to orient ourselves, and took photos along the way of the alley, (to find our way back in case we got lost).
We booked a meal for the first night there, which was a good idea. The food was good and plentiful. Breakfast included pancakes, eggs, yoghurt bread and fresh fruit.
The staff at the Riad are most helpful, and helped organise a trip to the Atlas Mountains where we had a short walk, culminating at the home of the guide, where his wife served up a tasty lamb tagine.
Marrakech is manic, hundreds of mopeds charging about the narrow streets of the souks, hustle and bustle, very colourful and vibrant. Lots to see. A city of contrasts. The expensive hotels, Kings Palace,ornate mosques, fabulous modern airport and train station and the poverty of the back streets and alleys.
A stay in the medina is a must to experience the different culture.
ps If a light sleeper, take ear plugs as the Mosques call to prayer at the crack of dawn, and there is one just down the road!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment I arrived I felt just like home!
Whatever I needed Hassam, the manager, was always ready to help. And by the way he became a great friend!

This little hotel is perfect when you want to be treated as the unique guest in the place. The staff always did the best they can to make my trip to Marrakesh the most amazing it could be, and they did it with sucess!! =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved it! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left there was nothing that Hassan the guest manager could not do. Amazing.

The Riad is small. Perfect for Marrakech. After walking the souks and bartering or heading to the dessert or Imlil for the day the riad was a haven. Safe and quiet (ok the mosque is close but really didn't interfere much with my sleep).

The central courtyard is a haven and the rooms individually designed by Peter. The roof terrace has amazing views and the moroccan with actually quite good!

Food on arrival was perfect. Lovely and just delicious. Other places really good too - for drinks - Cafe Arabe. The Jardin. And the hotel off the square also call the Jardin -has an amaxing courtyard with pool and roof terrace..... but the riad is just the best.

Peter arranged a 3 day 2 night dessert trip. Camels. Ruins. Kasbahs and a lot LOT lot of dessert. Wonderful trip.

We also went to Imlil and took a walk - in Toubkal national park and returned for lunch at Richard Brandson's Kasbah Tamadot. Wow - really worth it.

Souks - as a barginer I loved chatting to the sellers. Really great experience. Yes we bought a carpet! But do not feel pressured and if you don't want it don't buy it!

Room Tip: Larges room is 1st one upstairs. 2nd room has a bath and shower above. 3rd room has an amazing show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#27 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#167 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#19 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#85 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#38 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison Mnabha
Maison Mnabha
#493 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.