We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dar Zaman: The Warmth of Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Marrakech Smart Deal
Ranked #46 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Davao City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Riad Dar Zaman: The Warmth of Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is my first time to write a review for a hotel we stayed at -- because I felt that the world needed to know that there are special places in the world that really knows how to genuinely care for you, not just as a customer but as a person. Riad Dar Zaman is one such place.

Let me just say that our experience in Dar Zaman was amazing! I don't think we felt the kind of genuine care and intimacy anywhere else in the world! And my friend and I both travel a lot! So kudos to you and your team, Peter Mercer! Special kudos to Hassan (the hotel manager and all-around Mr. Nice Guy -- who truly epitomizes "going above and beyond" the call of duty to make our stay as pleasant as possible, no matter what the conditions. Hassan, hats off to you!

We will always have fond memories of Marrakesh and Morocco, in general. We think it's a beautiful country with a rich culture but what made it more memorable was the warmth of home at Riad Dar Zaman. Thank you so much for the beautiful experience. It was well worth the 30-hour trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, whatever you choose they all have their distinct style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    32
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
192
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
discerning lancashire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arranged transport from the airport with Peter, the owner of the Riad. The minibus took us to Rue Sidi Ben Slimane where we were met by Hassan, who guided us through the narrow alleys to Riad Zaman. We did wonder where we had come, but once through the door (only one door) all the hustle and bustle ceased and calm descended! Upon arrival we were treated to Moroccan tea (mint) and biscuits, then Hassan gave us a map and explained various routes through the souk, historical attractions, cafes and the whereabouts of the famous square. We had two rooms during our stay as we had arrived on a Monday and it fitted in better with their arrangements. As we were there for a week it was ok by us. The rooms were simply furnished with a large comfortable bed and a large bath-tub with shower over. All very clean. There are only four rooms, one of which is the 'penthouse' on the roof. From the roof terrace you look out over a sea of satelite dishes to the Atlas Mountains. You are given the key to the door, so can come and go as you please. The rooms are arranged around a small courtyard where there is a small plunge pool, not used when we were there because it wasn't warm enough, but I think it would be very welcome in the heat of the summer.
After unpacking we sallied forth to orient ourselves, and took photos along the way of the alley, (to find our way back in case we got lost).
We booked a meal for the first night there, which was a good idea. The food was good and plentiful. Breakfast included pancakes, eggs, yoghurt bread and fresh fruit.
The staff at the Riad are most helpful, and helped organise a trip to the Atlas Mountains where we had a short walk, culminating at the home of the guide, where his wife served up a tasty lamb tagine.
Marrakech is manic, hundreds of mopeds charging about the narrow streets of the souks, hustle and bustle, very colourful and vibrant. Lots to see. A city of contrasts. The expensive hotels, Kings Palace,ornate mosques, fabulous modern airport and train station and the poverty of the back streets and alleys.
A stay in the medina is a must to experience the different culture.
ps If a light sleeper, take ear plugs as the Mosques call to prayer at the crack of dawn, and there is one just down the road!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment I arrived I felt just like home!
Whatever I needed Hassam, the manager, was always ready to help. And by the way he became a great friend!

This little hotel is perfect when you want to be treated as the unique guest in the place. The staff always did the best they can to make my trip to Marrakesh the most amazing it could be, and they did it with sucess!! =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved it! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left there was nothing that Hassan the guest manager could not do. Amazing.

The Riad is small. Perfect for Marrakech. After walking the souks and bartering or heading to the dessert or Imlil for the day the riad was a haven. Safe and quiet (ok the mosque is close but really didn't interfere much with my sleep).

The central courtyard is a haven and the rooms individually designed by Peter. The roof terrace has amazing views and the moroccan with actually quite good!

Food on arrival was perfect. Lovely and just delicious. Other places really good too - for drinks - Cafe Arabe. The Jardin. And the hotel off the square also call the Jardin -has an amaxing courtyard with pool and roof terrace..... but the riad is just the best.

Peter arranged a 3 day 2 night dessert trip. Camels. Ruins. Kasbahs and a lot LOT lot of dessert. Wonderful trip.

We also went to Imlil and took a walk - in Toubkal national park and returned for lunch at Richard Brandson's Kasbah Tamadot. Wow - really worth it.

Souks - as a barginer I loved chatting to the sellers. Really great experience. Yes we bought a carpet! But do not feel pressured and if you don't want it don't buy it!

Room Tip: Larges room is 1st one upstairs. 2nd room has a bath and shower above. 3rd room has an amazing show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A charming bijou Riad right in the heart of the medina. Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Rooms are of course, compact but nicely, traditionally, furnished and very comfortable with Immaculate housekeeping. Roof terrace for sunning yourself, with sun beds and tables and chairs. We ate 2 meals in the riad and it was honestly the best food we had , the whole time we were in Marrakech! If you ask, they will get you a bottle of wine for your meal- there is no bar as such and alcohol is of course, not particularly easy to come by in the city- you have to find a supermarket somewhere- Achima out by the Majorelle gardens was the one we used. There are a few bars within relatively easy reach of the riad- Cafe Arabe was a ten minute walk.
Helpful information supplied by 'guest relations manager' Hassan and he will give you a map of the medina to help you find your way around- but you WILL get lost at some point! Dont worry, you will find your way out eventually!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, dont choose the Baignoir room- the bath/showertub is quite difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Unique location, amazing and hospitable staff. Stayed here with my wife in December last year! Pictures do not do justice to the unique qualities Dar Zaman offers. Fantastic chef and food. Apologizes for the delay in writing a review. Thankyou Peter for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers. Hassan was great at making us feel at home - bringing us breakfast on the roof terrace, offering us mint tea and providing friendly and helpful advice about negotiating the streets of Marrakech.

A word of warning - the riad is extremely difficult to find so we would recommend booking a transfer from the airport through the riad. The riad is located at the end of a maze of narrow twisting streets without street names and taxis can't drive down them so even if you got a taxi from the airport it would only drop you at the end of the main road and you'd have trouble finding your way.

We loved feeling as though we were in the heart of the real Marrakech - there seemed to be relatively few tourists in the immediate area around the riad, and the narrow streets were filled with people, scooters, fruit carts and donkeys. We often had people approach us offering to "help" us find our way around for a price but Hassan's advice of covering up, looking confident and not pausing in the street seemed to ward off all but the most persistent hasslers.

There was plenty of space to relax - the courtyard with a little pool to dip your feet into after a long day in the souks, the sun loungers on the roof terrace and the sitting room with a laptop for guests to use. Karima's cooking was delicious, one of the best meals we had while we were there - we would particularly recommend the aubergine salad.

Thank you Peter, Hassan and Karima - this was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the superior rooms - we stayed in both and loved having the French w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind words Rosie, you were lovely guests, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

As Rosie recommends, allow us to arrange your airport transfer and you'll arrive like a VIP :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Boualilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.