We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely haven in the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Zaman to your Saves list
Riad Dar Zaman
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #47 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely haven in the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A charming bijou Riad right in the heart of the medina. Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Rooms are of course, compact but nicely, traditionally, furnished and very comfortable with Immaculate housekeeping. Roof terrace for sunning yourself, with sun beds and tables and chairs. We ate 2 meals in the riad and it was honestly the best food we had , the whole time we were in Marrakech! If you ask, they will get you a bottle of wine for your meal- there is no bar as such and alcohol is of course, not particularly easy to come by in the city- you have to find a supermarket somewhere- Achima out by the Majorelle gardens was the one we used. There are a few bars within relatively easy reach of the riad- Cafe Arabe was a ten minute walk.
Helpful information supplied by 'guest relations manager' Hassan and he will give you a map of the medina to help you find your way around- but you WILL get lost at some point! Dont worry, you will find your way out eventually!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, dont choose the Baignoir room- the bath/showertub is quite difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    37
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
209
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Unique location, amazing and hospitable staff. Stayed here with my wife in December last year! Pictures do not do justice to the unique qualities Dar Zaman offers. Fantastic chef and food. Apologizes for the delay in writing a review. Thankyou Peter for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers. Hassan was great at making us feel at home - bringing us breakfast on the roof terrace, offering us mint tea and providing friendly and helpful advice about negotiating the streets of Marrakech.

A word of warning - the riad is extremely difficult to find so we would recommend booking a transfer from the airport through the riad. The riad is located at the end of a maze of narrow twisting streets without street names and taxis can't drive down them so even if you got a taxi from the airport it would only drop you at the end of the main road and you'd have trouble finding your way.

We loved feeling as though we were in the heart of the real Marrakech - there seemed to be relatively few tourists in the immediate area around the riad, and the narrow streets were filled with people, scooters, fruit carts and donkeys. We often had people approach us offering to "help" us find our way around for a price but Hassan's advice of covering up, looking confident and not pausing in the street seemed to ward off all but the most persistent hasslers.

There was plenty of space to relax - the courtyard with a little pool to dip your feet into after a long day in the souks, the sun loungers on the roof terrace and the sitting room with a laptop for guests to use. Karima's cooking was delicious, one of the best meals we had while we were there - we would particularly recommend the aubergine salad.

Thank you Peter, Hassan and Karima - this was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the superior rooms - we stayed in both and loved having the French w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind words Rosie, you were lovely guests, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

As Rosie recommends, allow us to arrange your airport transfer and you'll arrive like a VIP :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent stay at this riad. Karima makes great food, and Hassan was wonderful, giving advice on navigating the crazy streets of Marrakech, and took a personal interest to make sure you were enjoying yourself.

Riad is very clean and comfortable, and very close to everything. Felt very safe, a nice quiet haven after the navigating the streets of Marrakech.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INGLEBY BARWICK, STOCKTON-ON-TEES
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

From the minute you arrive at Dar Zaman you feel at home. Hassan is an essential part of this friendly team. When I arrived I wasn't feeling well & unfortunately I was too ill to eat the arrival dinner - Hassan was very helpful, offering me a fan, water etc. My friend & I stayed in the room showed above & this met our requirements, my only complaint is that the bathroom lighting is dark making it difficult to dry your hair or put make-up on. We had complimentary water, in-room safe, air-con, hairdryers & little touches that you don't get if you're staying at a hotel. As this riad is small (only 4 bedrooms), you get to know the other guests - which is nice to chat with other people over a drink at the end of a busy day. The breakfasts seem to be catered for you whenever you get up & are plentiful. Hassan & Peter offer lots of advise, tips & history of Marrakesh. We loved staying at this Riad, I have already reccommended it to people & would definately come again. I stayed at The Atlas Medina & Spa on my last visit & there was nothing notably memorable about it but staying at a riad this time made the holiday more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow!!!! My friends and I had the best time ever at Dar Zaman, having returned just a few days ago. The personal service we received from Hassan, Peter and Karina was amazing, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Hassan met us around the corner from the Dar outside the School and we walked for a couple of minutes to our Dar. We had a lovely dinner included in our package upon arrival.

The rooftop has lovely views and is so tranquil - a perfect place to relax. The rooms are all unique and special - 3 rooms on the first floor and 1 room on the roof area. The rooms are fabulously decorated in traditional Morroccan style and my double bed was so comfortable with a duvet, crisp white sheets and pillows. Air con is provided if you need it and also Wifi was a huge plus as we couldnt get a mobile signal most of the time in the city.Something very unusual - the rooms dont have keys but bolts on the interior and exterior but safes are provided free of charge if you need them. The hospitality and friendliness we experienced made us feel totally at home and we had many fun times chatting to the guys. If you want a table booking at a restaurant Hassan and Peter can organise this along with excursions. I also found the information books Peter put together extremely useful and informative. The atmosphere was so relaxed with breakfast being a very pleasant start to the day!

When we went out the local taxi driver came to the Dar to pick us up, names and phone numbers for return journeys handed to us so we felt completely safe and looked after. Outside the hotel the locals were friendly and a few cute children followed us to accompany us home from time to time!! We didnt experience any hassle in the city, just the usual banter (if you've been to Turkey before it will seem familiar!) and Hassan gave us some advice and recommendations of places to visit along with a great handwritten map.

I would recommend Riad Dar Zaman as a very friendly, extremely comfortable, safe place to stay in a great location just a 10-15 minswalk to the centre yet away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Cannot speak highly enough of this incredible place to stay. Hassan, Peter and Karima make you feel as though you are at home. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and so close to everything you will ever need in Marrakech. Hassan gives great advice and shares his incredible local knowledge of the area which definitely comes in useful when attempting to navigate the souks, riads and medinas.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms in the Riad, all are cozy, clean and warm. The communal areas are clean, calming and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#27 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#167 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#19 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#85 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#38 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison Mnabha
Maison Mnabha
#494 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.