We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully relaxing hotel. Great, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Murano Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Murano Resort Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Chichester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully relaxing hotel. Great, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

A great escape from Marrakech, relaxing and beautiful environment. Staff were genuninely friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable, modern and spacious like your own apartment. Everything you could want. This was our honeymoon and exactly what we hoped and wished for in luxury and relaxation. Only downsides were that food and drinks in the hotel were ridiculously expensive - £50 for breakfast for two, £40 for fries and two drinks?! Return taxis to Marrakech were around £30 which added to the expense. The hotel also recommended a hammam/spa which our taxi driver advised us was one of the most expensive and that we could have got an equally beautiful one for less.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    72
    22
    24
    18
See reviews for
46
114
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We had spent the first part of our trip staying in riyads, which had been an exceptional part of our vacation. The hospitality is genuine and the cultural aspects (the beauty of Moroccan art, the complexity of their culture) seem more obvious in the privacy of the family owned riyads. We had booked our three day stay at Murano resort on the assumption that we needed a change of scene after the riyads, and the enticing photos of the delicious red pool surrounded by orange trees- was a good idea to round of our vacation. Well the first bad omen happened already on arrival: Our room had not yet been cleaned, resp. the previous guests had not yet booked out. After having to wait 3,5 hours we were allowed to check into our hotel rooms. The pool is neat and you can pick mandarines from the trees but don't fly to Morocco because of these delights. The rooms are generous and clean but somehow the interior design appears fake and lifeless. There is a private pool for every house which was fun, the water is however very cold (approx. 14-16°C). The food is unoriginal and well, see comment below.
The following day, we asked if we could have a sun umbrella while reading outdoors. Coming from Switzerland, my boyfriend being fair-skinned and both professionals working with cancer patients, we don't consider getting sun-burnt as being glamourous or sexy. The manager however, rudely replied that they didn't have any umbrellas and the guests at the hotel have never needed any. Nevertheless she did finally organise a canvas tent-thing but it was rather an excertion on her part, and we felt as we had committed some social faux-pas.
Finally, the last day we stayed there we both got food poisoning. Ok, there may be a possibility we caught it eating at the food stalls in town but chances are more likely we caught it while having our breakfast there. We calculated the probability where we caught the bug and since we had only eaten at the Murano the within the last 24hours, the likelihood was obvious that the culprit was the breakfast buffet we had had. (The buffet is rather expensive, 25 Euros per person and unoriginal, with the exception of the food poisoning).
If you travel to countries like Morocco, food poisoning may happen and we were fortunate that with pain killers and antibiotics we were able to laugh about the experience. I suppose travelling is about experiences, the dreary, the embarrassing as well as the exciting and sublime. However from our point of view, there are better places to stay in Marrekesh and this is a hotel experience wish isn't worth the money.

  • Liked — The mandarine trees
  • Disliked — The advertisement was much more appealing than reality
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed in the Murano for 3 nights at the end of October, as the photos of the resort looked so impressive and the list of facilities were also exactly what I was looking for. I stay in a lot of design hotels so I thought that the Murano would suit my needs. On arrival, I was disappointed by the lobby area and bar - both were very uninspiring in design and the bar was cold and lifeless. The rooms are lovely and spacious but again the design was more of a late 1990's style than other contemporary design hotels I have stayed in.
The one thing that I was mainly disappointed with was that the website of the Murano said that there was a fitness centre and an indoor pool, but there was neither. I appreciated that the spa hadn't been built yet as mentioned on the website, but very disappointed that the resort was advertising other facilties that they didn't have. The weather wasn't that great and we were told that the outdoor pool would be heated, but when we got there we were told that the heating wouldn't be turned on for another 10 days as they had to hire a specialist to turn it on (?!?!). We were also given a room at the very back of the resort as we were told it was fully booked. The resort seemed empty so we asked another staff member and he told us the hotel was only 30% full. When vacating the resort at 5am, we had to walk through the grounds in the pitch black as they turned off the lights and couldn't see anything, plus our wake up call was 20 minutes late. When checking out no one ever asked us if we enjoyed our stay as I think they knew there were a number of faults with the hotel. We paid top price for a hotel that was not fully finished and the service was very flawed.
On the plus side, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast and brunch they do are expensive but nice.
I would not recommend the Murano but while staying in Marrakech we did visit the nearby Dar Ambre Hotel which is cheaper plus has more facilities and a gorgeous plush design and warm atmosphere. I loved Marrakech and the restaurants are fabulous there (try Crystal and Bo Zin if you are looking for fun, stylish places). I will definitely go back but I will stay in an alternative hotel.

  • Liked — The Sunday brunch, the comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities as advertised, cold uninspiring decor.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights last week, We read really bad reviews here and were worried about staying here, we wehttps://tonic.tripadvisor.com/SavedPhotos-g648645-i18464598-w1-Marrakech.html#18464598re in marrakech for 1 week in total and stayed in 3 hotels , with the murano at the end...

Wish we had spent the whole week there!!! The hotel is amazing and what makes it even better are the staff!! They make it 5 Star! very very caring and helpfull..

We are now going back with some friends next month and i would ecomend this hotel to anyone it really is First rate!

Zak Tyler

  • Liked — Funky styling loved the room
  • Disliked — Need better UK chanels on tv and internet needs to be better in room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I just got back from Marrakech where we went for a short honeymoon. We just can't stop talking about the Murano Oriental to anybody we see since back home.

Staying there has really been the highlight of our honeymoon. We've been pampered and taken care of in such a beautiful place that it was difficult to leave the property.
The staff has been very friendly and available, smiling and pleasant. The hotel manager came to talk with us several times which was agreable, we could see him a lot looking around and checking that everything was going fine on the different outlets, at different moments of the day... and the night... We could feel that he was happy to work at Murano Oriental and that was a plus for us as guests.

The location of the hotel can seem a bit far end but once you enter the garden, you totally forget you've been on a rocky path for not even 10 minutes...
I just felt good there upon arrival. That was exactly the type of property I was dreaming of for my honeymoon.

The grounds are very well kept and you will see frequently the gardeners watering, cutting grass, arranging plants during the day. They are paying attention to the garden and that allows guests to enjoy a very pleasant area.

The red swimming pool can seem originally surprising in day light and will just look like the picture we could see online at night. The pool service is just awesome... We could lie there enjoying the sun, drinking the most delicious home made ice teas ever and still the pool boy would be able to bring this little something you don't even think of. They brought us fresh scented towels and a little cold water spray!!! WOW!!! Just what we needed!!!

We had a drink at the bar in the evening, it wasn't crowed it's true but so pleseant... A DJ was in the garden playing nice ambiance music, the wind was cooling down the temperature of the day and we were sipping cocktails... If that wasn't paradise, it seemed very close to me!!

In the evening we had the possibility to eat in the garden as well, which was so romantic and enjoyable. The Chef delighted us with lobsters and sea dace in plate that were looking as nice as there were good!
In the morning, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet a lot too... It is settled in a very nice and posh way, the products are very fresh and the home made jams sooooo good!!! The chef is also preparing very "colorful" yogurts, surprising? yes at first but so tasty! You'll go for a 2nd one for sure :)

So you can imagine how surprised I am to read the previous reviews about the Murano Oriental... I am really wondering if I've been to the same hotel! If you are still hesitating... go for it!!! You'll love it! It was perfect... We just hope we'll be able to return there once more...

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — our stay was too short
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We were a little afraid by reading costumers e-mail but we went there anyway and we have past with my husband magnificent holidays in lover, 10 days ago. Although the spa is not opened yet the hotel is not any more in works and holds all these promises. There are absolutely magnificent sights on the palmeraie grove since the terraces of rooms, and the very original red swimming pool is also beautiful as on pictures website. The lounge with its giant white murano chandelier, these long sofas and these big fireplace, reflect perfectly the image and the atmosphere for which we hoped, and Rooms offer of a height comfort. Concerning the team they was really very very nice with us, attentive and was for the small care with us.
To resum we hope to have the occasion to return to it and recomend you particularly this establishment

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed at the Murano in October 2007, for a five night stay before heading off to Essuaria.
This being our first trip to Marrakech, we called the Murano before we flew out, to book a car to pick us up from the airport and take us to the hotel. Upon arrival, this was nowhere to be seen. We spoke to the hotel, who set about getting a car to us, which only arrived an hour after we had landed in the arrivals lounge. Not a great start.
The journey out to the hotel was a reasonably traumatic experience - I wish that the hotel staff had warned us beforehand that the hotel is literally in the middle of the desert, with access by not even a dirt track. At 9pm at night, it's pretty disconcerting to be driven in the pitch black into the desert with no idea where you are heading!
However, once there, we were extremely impressed with the hotel - very trendy, with a cool bar (although we never saw anyone actualy drinking here in the 5 days we were there), and taken to our room in the furthest rhiad from the main hotel building. We were the first people to be staying in our room, which was therefore very clean, bright and new. Lovely comfy bed.
Over the course of our 5 day stay, I would say that we remained struck by the potential of the hotel, which could be one of the most amazing places to stay in Marrakech. However, the staff just hadn't got to grips with the whole process and there were numerous glitches that put the dampers on our stay, including phone not working for the whole stay, so no link to reception (when our room encountered a power cut, we were forced to walk through the very dark grounds of the hotel to reception having just got out of the shower to report the problem.) The phone remained broken by the time we left, despite asking 3 seperate times for it to be fixed. Our final night revealed that the inter-connecting door between our room and next doors could be opened by the other side, hence a new guest walked into our bedroom unannounced at 7pm. We complained to reception, but the duty manager informed us that there was nothing they could do until the morning and the rest of the hotel was fully booked, so we would have to stay the night with the potential of another guest being able to get access our room. Despite saying on the night that they would reduce the room rate for that night, when we checked out the next day the same manager advised us that this would no longer be possible and that we should expect some glitches as the hotel building was very new.
A poor end (and start!) to our stay, which could have been so much better if the hotel paid attention to the little details. At the price for the stay, I would have expected more.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#197 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.