We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Murano Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Murano Resort Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are some harsh reviews of this hotel. Our experience of this hotel was great. This place is beautiful. The room we stayed in was huge, cleaned to a high standard every day and had excellent air conditioning (still comes in handy even in October). The staff were attentive and polite, they did their utmost to ensure our stay was pleasant. Room service was very quick and the food was a decent standard too. It is a little off the beaten track but its only 10 minutes and about £10 (depending on your taxi driver) from the centre of Marrakech. Besides the taxi journeys are an experience you need to see to believe.

The only areas that I can see room for improvement in, are; the red pool, not 100% sure on it to be honest, I like the idea but as others have said it looks a bit odd during the day, and being red does not give the same reassuring feel of cleanliness that the blue pools dotted around the resort have. The music at the red pool was terrible. For some reason the only seemed to play awful covers of (mostly) even more awful songs. I think they played one good song in the entire week we were there.

When we asked for the food menu there was a look of panic in the waiters eyes. I don't know why, the food was quality and the service was quick enough. There never seemed to be anyone eating in the restaurant, probably due to the prices compared to nearby restaurants, it a shame because both times we ate there we were happy with our meal. Likewise, there was a look of panic when we asked at the front desk for information about nearby restaurants or activities, perhaps there was a language issue? Not sure, we got what we wanted easily enough.

Finally, there is price. The room was excellent value, don't know if my wife got an amazing deal or not (she is very good at that type of thing), but we paid just over £400 for a week b&b. I am satisfied our stay at the Murano was worth every penny of that. As you would expect the food and drinks are at a premium as they are in all resorts of this type. Top tip; charge the lot to your room, you will save a bundle on tips / non returned change. They do have a “no drinks bought from outside" policy that annoyed me, i.e. you cant pop off down the shop and buy drinks to fill up the minbar fridge in your room. My own fault really I should have read up and taken more supplies with me in my suitcase.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    72
    22
    24
    18
See reviews for
46
114
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel Murano is certainly one of the most beautiful places I've stayed. The grounds are pretty much how they look in photos (however I'd agree that the red pool does look slightly murky in the day). Each riad has it's own pool which is a fantastic touch if you want to escape the pretty average poolside music selection. The rooms (we opted for a suite) are incredible. Huge beds, beautiful fireplace, everything one could ask from a room.

My negative points relate to the service side of the hotel. On arrival, our room wasn't ready for us. We didn't wait too long, but no real explanation was given. When the rooms where cleaned, toiletries weren't refreshed, which I find incredibly cheap. The biggest negative was the EXTORTIONATE price of food and drinks. It's as if they know you are at least a fifteen minute drive from anywhere and definitely take advantage. For example, a simple lunch with soft drinks cost us about £50. A gin and tonic £17! Having dinner at Murano is also a bizarre experience, with terrible service and a morgue like atmosphere. It seems the staff are baffled by simple requests.

We also took a cab from Murano into the medina most evenings (booked via the hotel) and here the driver argued on the agreed price. Definitely puts you out of the holiday mood.

If you're looking for a resort outside of the medina, you could definitely do better.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite. Huge bed, separate dressing area and immense bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place is odd, really odd. During the day it is a 'see and be seen' pool party for rich locals from Marrakech. String bikinis, boob jobs (boys and girls), techno music blaring by the pool, Dom Perignon by the Jeroboam.....
We were kept in reception for almost an hour without so much as the offer of a drink of water or tea or anything before they checked us in. Apparently they were really busy????
If you are paying to stay here and you want to eat, it seems you have to sign up to a 45 euro BBQ when all you want is a sandwich. The place operates as a day resort but if you actually stay here, it has none of the basics you would expect from a decent hotel for example tonight I asked if they had toothpaste and they suggested I take a 20 euro cab into Marrakech to get some?!
When we asked if they served dinner they suggested we went somewhere else!
And when we asked if we could eat here, they went into a panic, it took them half an hour to work out if they had a menu and then they served the most average food at an extortionate rate.
Truly terrible.

If you want the best of the Palmeraie go to Jnane Tamsna or Les Deux Tours. Don't come here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just a short resume as most is already mentioned by other critics. My stay was in june, weekend.

-slow but nice check in
-big suite, clean, nice big bathroom with tub and shower separated, dressing.
- nice "private" pool for every block of 6 suites but you can go to any other private pool.
-relaxed athmosphere around the suites building
-crowdy, disco ambience for the main pool (accessable for outdoor clients).
-breakfast ok but don't compare it to for example to a Novotel breakfast (you would be dissapointed).
-The restaurant doesn't look very inviting, look for outside dining.
-We had our own car but be aware of the transport, nothing is nearby.
-Nespresso coffee machine available. Price of the capsula 30Dhs.

-Staff leaves you nicely alone....although sometimes you would like to come anyone to stop by and ask if you want a drink.

Room Tip: If you want to be calm, choose a suite far away from the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We love murano. We Have visited most hotels And Riads in Marrakech but murano is Special. Relaxing, amazing suites And private pools, super location. Staff is nice. Food has improved so much. For price/ quality is really The top....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Murano...the staff were excellent, food was very tasty & also the rooms were spacious, slick, very comfortable and always cleaned very quickly each day. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to relax & the resort was only a short taxi drive from Marrakesh, golf courses or Nikki Beach!!

Room Tip: Most rooms have their own private pools so you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had 3 amazing nights at the Murano resort!! The room was beautiful, the staff very friendly and always helpful, and over the bank holiday weekend the main pool was very buzzy and had a great vibe created by the resident DJ and the other guests.
My only concern before arriving was it being 20 minutes from the centre, but it didn't matter! It was a little haven away from the bustle of the main city, and the private hotel shuttle made sure it was never a problem to go to and from main city whenever we wished.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#197 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.