We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPAULING SERVICE AT MURANO” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murano Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Murano Resort Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“APPAULING SERVICE AT MURANO”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have never felt the need to write a negative review before now. The service at this hotel is awful, staff are unhelpful and unwelcoming. Of 6 desserts on the menu, only 1 was available and the chef was unwilling to offer anything else. I had to leave before breakfast (at 8) and they were unwilling to even offer a banana for the car. Location is 15 minutes from Gueliz or the city centre and costs £10 (100 dr) to get there but the menu here is atrocious. All 4 of the pools were too cold to swim in. In the rooms there is no room service menu, tv guide, area guide or hotel directory. No advice was offered when asked about the area. Music blaring all day and never asked if there was anything they could offer us. BAD CHOICE OF HOTEL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    68
    21
    24
    18
See reviews for
42
111
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Murano is a lovely design in a great location with and the staff are friendly. That is where it ended for our stay.
I am not a well traveled person who stays in a lot of hotels but this (to my mind) was not a 5 star hotel. Without giving a huge list there was many things wrong with the room such as lights not working and a huge bump in the middle of the bed. The decor (although nice) was a little on the grubby side, much like the rest of the hotel. To be fair the manger moved us into another room which was a lot better but still a little grubby the sinks in the bathroom gave off an unsavory smell and the electric sockets would work intermittently and the sockets could be pulled out of the wall in some places, so if you have children this would definitely be of concern.
The breakfast was awful quality with minimal cooked options to choose from. All of the food is left out for the whole of the whole morning uncovered allowing flies to crawl freely over the bread, fruit and cheese.
All of the pools were freezing and so only for the brave to use and the sun beds were never brushed off so were covered in bird poo and cat fur in many instances.
We went for a meal in `Le Deux Tours opposite on evening and it was lovely and looked a lot nicer (although we did not see the rooms)so we were gutted as it was our honeymoon. You have been warned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed thee with family & friends for 5 nights and had a great room. Service like in most of Marocco was very friendly but laid back. Top Managemnt was even more friendly and you could tell they had trouble getting things perfect with local "laid back" staff...

Anyway the hotel structure is very nice they ae one of the few hotels to have a heated pool which is great in coooler weaner although the setback is that you have more families with young "loud" children during school seasons :-(

Food was ok (could improve) and we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Totally agree with Joss 8d, don't bother booking unless you like chilling music by the
pool. No one has tried to make the hotel special, I just felt the staff did not care.

No tables laid outside for lunch or breakfast. Dinner was inside on an awful plastic table
whereas the other hotel I moved to quickly once I decided I could not stay at the Murano for
long had home cooked food and candles on the tables outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

It is rare that I feel the need to write a review whilst still at the hotel, but this one deserves it. I should have listened to the recent negative reviews!
If thumping day time music, around unheated, dirty pools with algae, surroumded by flies and hoards or fat guys making a racket is your thing then come on down!
Add to that tiny, dinger, cell like rooms with mouldy showers that flood the hall way and no furnishings (I telling the truth when I say that our bedroom had one piece of furniture, a bed, that you had to squeeze around the walks to get in to!). Our room also had no safe, you turned the tv off by unplugging it, the air conditioning wouldn't work and we had no phone (what hotel room has no phone!).
We paid £150 for dinner for 4 where the food was very average and we had to remind them to bring our starters after they had served the mains!
It is also up a dirt track 20 mins or more (£15 taxi) our of town.
I am currently researching other nearby accommodation... Which tells you all you need to know!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks great. Our bedrooms were lovely- nothing to fault on these. Maid service was good. Little bit naughty that they put water by our beds and in the bathroom and then charged us for it at the end. Similarly Nespresso capsules- charged for.
The hotel felt pretty quiet , although they said it was full. The restaurant and bar was pretty deserted in the evening - no atmosphere, no matter , we were off out but it wasn't exactly buzzy and I wouldn't have wanted to eat there. Probably best to go across the road to Les Deux Tours . breakfast was a buffet. Ok but service was hopeless. Scrambled egg was stone cold. We had the buffet lunch once which was fine. ( They were big on buffets... less effort..) 20 euros a person though and no options if you wanted a snack or anything else for that matter. No crisps , no nuts nothing. The pool was nice , but if you wanted a drink .. Well.. Be prepared to wait. A long time. In fact you may give up before your drink arrives. The bar staff were beyond lazy. They barely served any drinks. The pool was not buzzy , there was a bloke there with his decks playing good music but there weren't many guests , even on the Sunday for their " pool . The hotel is really nice , but there didn't seem to be any management and so staff were generally hopeless. Front desk were pretty good. So in all, it's nice if you are using it as a base to sleep and lounge by the pool ( and you aren't thirsty) but not if you want to spend time there and have dinner etc.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The building, pool and interior are the only good thing about this hotel. The food is terrible, beyond terrible actually. Breakfast isn't even worth waking up for. Limited selection to choose from during the day/night and takes over an hour and half to be ready.The bar has an awkward atmosphere as there is no one there. The customer service from staff is shocking. Terrible experience. If you're going to spend the money that they charge, stay in another hotel. You're going to regret choosing this hotel as it's not even close to worth the amount they charge. I hope the other hotels apart of this chain are they same...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.