We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MASSIVE disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Murano Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Murano Resort Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A MASSIVE disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Murano with my boyfriend at the end of August after spending the previous two weeks travelling around Morocco. This is my first review for TripAdvisor but I felt I had to write something about the hotel to warn people to stay well away!

We arrived at the Murano at 4pm (check in is at 3pm) but had to wait a further 2 hours for our room to be ready. When we finally got into our rooms we were not sure what they achieved in the 2 hours as: the TV and telephone weren't working, the mirror in the bathroom was hanging off the wall, there were white stains all over the shower and in the toilet there was a gaping hole to the outside. The small bottles they give you with shampoo/conditioner etc were half full and the rug in the bedroom had black stains over it. I then went to take a shower but i couldn't as the shower head trickled water.

My boyfriend and I never complain and like to think of ourselves as very laid back guests but we had stayed in other 5 star hotels in Morocco which were amazing and a little less expensive than the Murano so we felt we did have the right to complain to the manager, Slim.
Slim informed us there were no more rooms or suites available as the hotel was "fully booked." He came to our room and admitted to us that the room was not up to their usual standard but there was nothing he could do. We were thinking about going to another hotel by this point but as we had to wait so long to get into our room it was now late in the evening.

After a terrible nights sleep as the fridge buzzed and the air con didn't work we complained to Slim again at 8:30am. I then pointed out we were gold members of an online booking service (we later found out this is where he gets most of his bookings from) and from nowhere, like magic - a suite suddenly became available!! The suite we were given was one we had seen them cleaning after guests had checked out the night before at the hotel (not "fully booked' then) and when Slim gave us the keys to the suite he said to quote "so now we are quits!" - charming!

On the up side the public areas at the hotel are nice (just nice) and the red pool is an unique feature, however this is a lot smaller in real life than in the pictures shown on the website. Another big let down at the hotel is the service which is soooooo slow. For instance we had to wait one hour for a burger and club sandwich to be made. The food choice is also very limited and the quality is not great.

Overall, we were massively disappointed with the Murano as the pictures on their website make the hotel look amazing but don't be fooled by this! This hotel is number 165 for a reason as you can pay the same amount of money for an actual 5 star standard hotel elsewhere in Marrakesh. So go elsewhere and avoid the Murano!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    55
    21
    24
    16
See reviews for
34
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is as simple as the word perfect ! Staff is just so nice, so looking at your confort and trying to do anything that could help you to enjoy your stay -and no commercial expectation here, just to please you-.
The food is at the level of the place... in fact I do not have much to say... execpt that this one of the place to stay in Marrakech.... or perhaps I should keep it secret and hope that it will stay open only for the "fews" ;-)

no doubt, enjoy the noisy part of Marrakech, enjoy some terrific night at the Pacha club...and create your HQ at Murano resort.

The new onwer (beg. 2010) is looking to keep this resort as an intimiste place, whith nice people (in all perspective ;-)... he is charming, and clearly taking care of this place to be as much as possible an unforgiven place!

My warm recommendation here...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

In need of time out then this is the place, amazing setting 15 mins from the madness of the night market offering you the best of both. Beautiful place to chill out, with incredible staff
loved the DJ by the pool relacxing with chilled mint tea on a sunny afternoon. Now planning to take a group for my birthday my new piece of heaven. !!!!

Room Tip: Adelaide - best view in the hotel ! late evening sun on your terrece lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The only good point is the garden and private swimming pool for each villa of 8 rooms. Else is overall bad: terrible service, absence of staff, poor breakfast buffet, latency of staff, weakness in building maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I came to Marrakech for our anniversary and decided to stay at the Murano. We were a little sceptical about the place, but the minute we arrived in Marrakech, we were glad we chose this hotel. We landed at the airport, came out of the terminal and there was our driver, we didn't need to wait or call the hotel to ask where the driver was, and he was very friendly. Then we got to the hotel, from the outside it looked very authentic, once we got inside, we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and comfort of the place.

Slim introduced himself to us and made a fuss over us, which made us feel very welcome. He took us up to the room and showed us around and explained everything to us. Now the room, what can I say??? Absolutely stunning, very spacious, the decor, the beds, the bathroom, clean, even had a choice of having a bath or shower, everything was perfect (the only issue we had was some ants crawling around in the night), but that didn't spoil our time at the hotel.

The staff were amazing and catered to our every whim. They were very friendly, caring, got us what ever we wanted, the guys who worked at the bar in the evening were accommodating and the service was second to none. We were recommended a couple of restaurants by the lady who worked on the reception in the evenings (sorry I can't remember her name) but the 2 restaurants that she recommended were spot on, food was lovely and the prices were just right. They certainly know their stuff when it comes to eating out.

They arranged also arranged a day trip for us to Orika in the mountains, and when we got back the staff were very interested in what we thought about the place and seemed genuinely interested in our trip.

One thing we loved about this place was the peace and quite late at night, we just chilled on the balcony at around midnight with our drinks and we loved it....

When the day came to leave my wife and I were a little upset to be going home, this place felt like a home away from home, and the staff looked just as sad as we did to be going....

The only downside to the hotel is that it didn't have a gym, but thats a very minor downside.

Just to highlight how good this hotel is, we missed our flight home, so I wanted to go back to the Murano, but instead we chose a hotel closer to the airport (the Eden Andelou Spa & Resort) and that hotel was a sh1thole (and that's me being polite), when we got there was had to change rooms 3 times, in the end I was willing to take a hit on the money we paid for the Eden and go back to the Murano, unfortunately we stayed at the Eden.

But if we go back to Marrakech, i'm not staying anywhere apart from the Murano. DON'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!!!

Room Tip: Try not to get the room with a balcony facing West, as the sun is at its strongest in the late after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent the day at Murano Resort after being recommended by a friend. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and the staff incredibly attentive. For such a beautiful hotel the prices were very reasonable as well. They had a live DJ in the middle of the pool playing chill out music and we ate a BBQ lunch which was really great as well! The hotel even provided sun hats as there weren't any umbrellas. There were lots of tables with outside sofas dotted around the grounds to offer shade from the heat.

It's not far from the central medina of Marrakech, about a 10minute drive and having stayed in the centre of the city, I would definitely recommend staying at Murano Resort and getting a local taxi into town rather than staying in the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Directeur d'exploitation at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you vey much for your very kind review. We hope that we will welcome you very soon around our red pool.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Well,im from morocco but ive been living in newyork for the past 15years,My friend and I stayed at murano for a couple of days,we had the best time at this place,the whole staff was so nice and caring,we met the management team wich made our stay splendid,i really recommend murano,u will not find this kind of ambiance anywhere else in marrakech. Thanks again to JEAN-PIERRE,KARIM,and of course MAHIRE. A la prochaine!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Directeur d'exploitation at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Elrouhl,

Thank you very much for your very kind comment, the Murano Resort in Marrakech is definitely the place where we want you to be!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#223 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.