We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counting down the days till I can return...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murano Resort Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Murano Resort Marrakech to your Saves list
Murano Resort Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Counting down the days till I can return...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Murano Resort offered one of the best, all-round hotel experiences I have encountered. From the moment we stepped through the door we were looked after by a warm and friendly team of staff, who went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely time.

The instant we walked in we were greeted by a glamorous poolside area, where the sunloungers were so big and spaced to such a degree that you never felt that you were on top of the people next to you. Even when the pool was busy at the fantastic Sunday brunch, you didn't have to listen to other groups' conversations. The layout of the resort was also great with individual pools for each Riad allowing you to have a more private lay out if you so desired.

The mix of traditional and modern elements really gave the resort a unique feel and being upgraded to even larger suites made us all the more impressed.

It was potentially designed for quite a young crowd, with tunes around the poolside giving it a laidback Ibizan feel, but the staff were ready to accommodate everyone from families to couples to groups.

It isn't the closest hotel to the centre of Marrakech, but with vehicles onsite you can head down to the Medina whenever you would like and doesn't take very long to get there.

I will definitely be recommending this resort to my friends and family and so wanted to recommend it here as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Directeur d'exploitation at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire staff and myself are also counting down the days until you come back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    86
    27
    28
    19
See reviews for
51
129
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senglea, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Contrary to what I read earlier, this concept has its own place in Marrakech in my eyes. This is also a major attraction of this city in which the purest tradition with modernity spawns creativity. At Murano, specifically, we have both.

The Hotel:

The place is immediately likable. It consists of a main building in which there is the reception, the dining room, living room ... and 3 or 4 other outbuildings each with a swimming pool. Another building, located at the bottom is - or will be- reserved for a spa, "which will open soon," it seems. In the meantime, if you need a massage in the humidity of a steam room (hammam ), across the street is "Les Deux Tours", a sumptuous hotel has a spa. It's nice, nothing more. Between the main building and outbuildings you’ll find the famous red pool around which everyone meets, locals as well as guests. It is true that the pool is prettier at night illuminated rather than during the day but in both cases, it is truly impressive.

The Clientele:

Difficult to describe. Given the concept could have imagined the hotel crawling with "DINKs", but actually not so. There were several families with small children, but as I said, nothing very dominant, at least at the time we went there (the May 1st holiday). Furthermore, the hotel is currently undergoing some rehabilitation, so it offers a lot of specials, which may distort the usual customer profile. To be continued ...

The Location:

The Murano is located in the Palmeraie (a kind of suburb of Marrakech) making it a place in the hustle and bustle of the city, but requires you to take a hotel organized shuttle to the center of town. Count about 15 minutes per trip and 10 € the trip (ie € 20 round trip). This is not very inconvenient to use, we had to wait for the shuttle once. But we understood, the Murano is more suitable for people who want to relax while being able to still go for a ride into town if they wish, not to go for a drink at a terrace of Marrakech on a whim. The gardens are exquisite and very well maintained. Roses abound everywhere along with the local palms and assorted other flora.

The Welcome:

Like everyone else, we were particularly sensitive to the reception of clients, both by the staff as well as the management (a place where the Hotel director regularly asks guests if they are happy is pretty rare and to be noted!). Your every desire is fulfilled with kindness and a smile (a special mention for the famous Slim that makes you feel like family after only 10 minutes on arrival!), In short, we really felt that they were happy to have you among them (and I'm from Paris, so I am familiar with unpleasant service!).

The Food:

Very satisfactory, it varies depending on time of day:

The Breakfast buffet is really good and varied and plentiful. The staff is very helpful again, even if you arrive a little late ;-). We missed the local time change and showed up 1 hour after breakfast was finished. They didn’t hesitate one second to bring out plates of food for us to enjoy and not miss out on breakfast.

The Lunch menu is very "trendy" club sandwiches, calamari and wasabi sauce ... "localized": hamburger lamb tagines ... We did not test everything, but all that we had was very good and plentiful.

Dinner is chosen from a board. This is very good, but the choice is fairly limited (and changes little over a week). Particularly, the service was infinitely slowly (1 hour and half for two dishes on the first night, 45 minutes for the first dish on another day during the week. So we avoided eating there, even if we repeat, it was exceptionally good. The price was close to Paris prices: € 29 for starters / main course / dessert, without drinks.

And finally some tips:

- The Wi-Fi is good in the lobby area, but pretty sparse elsewhere. However, thank God it’s free in 2012! If you need a real connection, take a RJ45 cable (it gets technical!) and a pocket router. In our room it worked well when the office doesn’t stop working.

- The line "tips" shown at the bottom of the bills may not be the best way to recognize good service. If you have a meal or a drink around the pool, a tip added to the bill (according to two staff members) is not necessarily shared with them. Give them cash directly, if you want to thank them.

- There is a Nespresso machine in the room, but bring your own capsules. They are charged at €3 apiece as part of the mini-bar, about 10 times the price you'll pay in Europe. Curiously there are no Kleenex tissues in the rooms. Bring your own if you want to avoid the toilet paper!

- Avoid the standard rooms and opt for their Junior Suites because the former are quite small and are equipped with smaller beds. Trust me; it will be worth the price. Choose a suite on the ground floor if you can, then you walk right out to your “personal" swimming pool and garden.

- The shuttle from the hotel has a fixed price- so no need to to negotiate. But if you go into the Medina you will either need to call the hotel to pick you up or return with a taxi. Frankly, the taxi is easy to get on the spot and they all know the hotel. Taxis are also fully aware of the price (between 80 and 100 Dirhams, but that does not stop them to ask you for 150 or 200! Smile politely with an air of someone who does this regularly and say, "No, 80 Dirhams!" You’ll probably end up paying 100, but then everybody wins.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: - Avoid the standard rooms and opt for their Junior Suites because the former are quite small and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Directeur d'exploitation at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I'd like to thank you for your very precise review.

We're all very pleased that you spent a nice and relaxing moment with us. Be sure that every single point you highlighted us will help us in our mission to deliver our guests the most beautiful experience they can expect in Marrakech.

The entire staff and myself are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have just got back from a week long stay at the Murano Resort Hotel and I really cannot fault it or recommend it enough. I was a little apprehensive about going as I didn't wanted to be disappointed if the hotel didn't live up to the high expectations but I shouldn't have worried as it was superb.

The hotel really does look like the pictures! The rooms are massive with a very large bathroom and balcony. There is a pool for each villa (4 in total) and then the red pool. My friend and I spent all our time around the red pool as it is more lively and as we were two girls we didn't really need privacy. The DJs that play during the day are amazing and play very chilled house and RnB.

The hotel is quite far out from the city centre of Marrakesh (about 15 minute drive) but there is a hotel car that will take you anywhere and also pick you up when you need to. We went in to town a couple of times but to be honest we were happy to get back to the relaxation of the hotel and just sunbath as it can be quite hectic in the centre.

The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and the best thing is you can tell they enjoy working there which is always nice to see. We went out a few nights in Marrakech and everytime the places we went to were recommendations of either the staff or the manager and we had a great time every night.

My friend and I had an amazing time at the Murano and I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you to the staff at Murano for making our stay in Marrakech perfect and we hope to back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Directeur d'exploitation at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Emily,

The entire Murano Staff and myself would like to thank you for your very nice comments, reaching your expectations is our only goal.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again in our resort.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Murano is the perfect chill out destination. The staff are great, the manager couldn't do enough for us. the place is beautiful and the rooms are beyond stylish. this is a very cool resort

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Operating Manager at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Katrina,

The entire team would like to thank you for your very kind comment, we are looking forward to welcoming you at Murano Resort in Marrakesh!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Glen, Leicestershire, UK.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The staff were extremely attentive but not intrusive, the layout was great with secluded villas throughout the grounds of flowering bushes and trees.

The four swimming pools gave the option of private bathing, making you think you were the only people there, or the main pool with staff on hand constantly for everything you may need.

The concierges, Slim and Soukaina made us feel completely at ease from the moment we arrived (a day earlier than planned) after trekking in the mountains. Two weary travellers were sat in front of a real log fire set in a modern lounge, Slim had the staff bring us some warm tea whilst Soukaina looked after our booking and readied the room (as we were a day early). No waiting around at the desk filling out forms and passport data, Soukaina looked after all this.

The junior suite we booked was huge with a dressing room and large bathroom, extremely nice facilities.
The restaurant served up delicious steaks and the waiters were helpful and polite.

The resort is managed by Pierre, a French chap with experience working in Los Angeles, Europe and North Africa, no doubt his experiences around the world have contributed to him ensuring that his hotel is run like a well oiled machine. He is very much seen and not heard as he silently moves around the hotel constantly checking everything is just as it should be.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a suite, it will make the experience so much more fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Operating Manager at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for you very positive review, we all hope that you spent a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We also hope that we will see you again very soon.

We wish all the best for you and your wife.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I just came back from a 5 night staying at the Murano Resort and could not recommend it more. As for value for money this place cannot be beaten, the resort is amazing with beautiful spacious rooms, the service was great and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

The food is really good too, with a big buffet breakfast each morning.

The manager, Pierre Yves, was so helpful in recommending and arranging restaurants for us and directing us to the best things to do, this really added to our stay! But all the staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre-Yves L, Operating Manager at Murano Resort Marrakech, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I'd like to thank you for have chosen the Murano Resort for your stay in Marrakech. Thank you very much for this nice review, the staff and myself are looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Room, location is fantastic . Best place i ever stayed in marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace
1.3 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#190 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
Hotel Les Jardins de l'Agdal
#283 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#103 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kasbah Le Mirage
Kasbah Le Mirage
#219 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murano Resort Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.