We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole from hell !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 4 Route de Fes "vers Tallaght" | BP. 2708, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hole from hell !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wow, what a hugely disappointing contrast between the website photos and when you are actually there - I do not know how this hotel can be rated a five star, more like a two star. The staff were awful upon arrival - we had to take our own luggage to the room after waiting one hour, even though we were promised it would be delivered to our room for us. The staff never showed any sign of politeness, maybe because they were being constantly bashed down by the rather evil looking hotel manager, who aired fear into anyone who dared cross his path and ask for something! It is an incredibly expensive hotel to eat in, for very poor quality food. The menu is pretty weak with little choice. The swimming pool was freezing cold, even though the hotel confirmed to us that it is always heated - complete lies. The hotel is quite out of the way and it will cost you a fortune to go anywhere - expect to pay at least €50 to get to the Medina and back, which is just outrageous. There is absolutely nothing around outside the hotel so your choice is very limited as to what to do. The bedroom was rather poor, as it appeared to not have been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived. Dust everywhere, dirty looking linen, insects running around. And to top it off, we have never seen a Spa in Morocco cost so much money - it's more expensive than London or Paris - a complete rip off !
Overall, we will not go back ever again to this hotel and we cannot recommend it at all to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    46
    16
    10
    17
See reviews for
38
83
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the domaine des remparts a good few days, just long enough to realise that, even though the staff looked friendly at first glance, some of them were real thieves. Several things disappeared from our room, including our brand new mobile phone. We complained to the director, Thierry, but he is not worth more at all. He did not try to help, and the cherry on the cake was the invoice he gave us at the end of the stay: he charged us for things he said he would offer us and also for things which were supposed to be included in the price of the stay. And when we told him we were not ready to pay for those, he became extremely aggressive. We ended up paying as we did not want our holiday to turn into a real nightmare.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here last June and had an amazing time. The hotel staff were more than happy to help with anything we needed and made us feel very welcome. Although we had some issues with our original room, we came back from dinner to find around 50+ large ants had infested the room, as soon as we notified the hotel staff they were very apologetic and changed our room instantly. The rooms were cleaned every day and were very spacious with a large bathroom and private outside area making them perfect places to relax away from the pool. The food was fantastic and offered a range of authentic dishes at both breakfast and dinner (we were only half board but would assume it was the same for lunch). Most of the hotel staff including their taxi drivers spoke relatively good English and were more than happy to suggest some great places to visit! The overall hotel was very clean and a perfect place to relax, it only took about 15-20 minutes to reach the centre of the old town so it was perfect if you just wanted to pop out for a few hours. There is also a wonderful spa on site which is worth a visit especially if you just fancy a relaxing day around the hotel! This really is a fantastic hotel and it made our first trip to Morocco even better!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As soon as you step into the main hall of this boutique hotel you know you are in for a period of serenity, and relaxation. It is rare in 2012 (at least for me ) to be in a place where one is able to hear  their own breathing.

The fireplace to the right of the main entrance entices coziness, but it is the double glass doors leading to the manicured gardens that must be the best feature. As I sat near the fire place I was offered a drink from the little bar at the corner of the hall, and this is where Ibtisam the "receptionist" (there is no reception desk) handled my registration.
The experience was certainly not your  standard hotel check in ritual, this a place where the receptionist remembered your name. Home away from home. After all there are only 32 suites.

While I was being shown around the property including the little library, It was the pool towards the middle of the garden that got my attention. With palm trees reflecting on the water, images of Alhambra of Granada were not too distant.

My suite had a separate toilet, and bathroom. The latter had separate bath and shower, all decorated in the spirit of the desert. The big room opens up to a little garden leading directly to the pool, and it comes with its own fireplace. While bed was normal it was the sheets that perfected the sleep experience.

I tried the spa twice, once for a massage, and another for a hamam and a massage. Nothing to fault, with the added advantage of being good value for money.

I would definitely recommend this place for those who are looking to experience a combination of coziness, relaxation and want to avoid run of the mill establishments.

Room Tip: I walked around property they all looked similar from the outside. You may request to be closer to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

This small resort as a friendly and cosy environment. You can eat by the pool at lunch, and use your own chemny at your large suite. Very interisting for golfers as it is near three golf courses, 5 minutes drive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I could not imagined a better place to relax! The service was at all times excellent: and all employees, they were happy to speak english to us for my friend. We were welcomed warmly although we were dropped off from a dusty SUV in our hiking clothes. we would like to thanks youcef for his help, suggesting and recommendation, he know every thing about marrakech sightseeing (THE YOUNGEST GOLD KEY).
We enjoyed the opulent spa every day, as well as the stunning pools. The room and all public spaces are extremely well appointed with amazing attention to details.

The prices really do not matter at this point. This was an amazing experience,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Just back from a 5 night break and can't speak highly enough of the place and staff. Lovely size suite and private garden with very clean pool. Staff couldn't do enough for us, although it did help to speak French. Even the hotel dog made us feel welcome and sat (slept) with us every lunchtime. Chief happy to cook lighter meals for us when we asked - nothing wrong with the daily menu but 3 course meals twice a day took its toll! The Spa was also first rate. We were luckly that the hotel was under booked and the weather had perked up for our visit, but even with a full hotel we're sure the service would be the same. It was an oasis in a quiet area but only 10 mins by taxi to the centre. Just what we wanted!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa

Address: Km 4 Route de Fes "vers Tallaght" | BP. 2708, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakech's Palm Grove, the Domaine des Remparts, with its 2-hectare park and an astonishing view of the Atlas Mountains, is a genuine haven of peace. Hanging in the Spa Cocooning, the scents of the Orient will delight your senses. Enjoy also a large variety of facilities: heated swimming-pool, clay court, fitness center, shop, library and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine des Remparts Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.