We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hayati

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Hayati
Save
You added Riad Hayati to your Saves list
27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
london
2 reviews
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

if there was a heaven i think i found it , the Riad Hayti lives up to every bit of its expectations
from the delicious warm air to the impeccable service from Abdul and Nina who treated us with more generosity and kindest then anyone i know. a true hidden gem
thank you to Ron for letting us stay.

Tahsin

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    3
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
262
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is the first time I've written a review on TripAdvisor, however, feel compelled to do so following the wonderful experience and service we enjoyed at Riad Hayati on our recent honeymoon. One of our concerns about visting Marrakech for the first time was transfer from the airport - Riad Hayati arranged this for us, and despite our delayed arrival, we were greeted at the airport by the very friendly and ever helpful Abdel. So we got off to a good start! We were welcomed at Hayati with a delicious complimentary Moroccan meal. The traditional Morrocan home cooked cuisine prepared at Hayati was certainly one of the highlights of our stay, and having breakfast at the time of our request was a novelty. As well as having the option to have dinner in the peaceful surroundings of Hayati, its location lends itself well to eating out as there are a number of excellent restaurants nearby. The staff at Hayati, without imposing, were always available to ensure we were comfortable and looked after. Djemaa el-Fna and other places of interest are within a short stroll. The tranquility of Hayati is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the vibrant city of Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed for 4 days in March for a birthday treat. Ron provided us with an abundance of pre-trip advice which was particularly helpful.

Whilst at the Riad Mina and Abdel-Haq took great care of us, the meals, the mint tea, the log fires, the tips ... all on the ball. I must say we tried out a fair few guide-book highly-rated restaurants and only one was on a par with Mina's cooking. I even got a birthday cake and song! Definitley try her salads .. they're yum!

The proximity to the Medina is good .. close enough for a quick stroll down but out of the major hubbab, some nice furniture shops nearby and felt totally safe in the area.

In fact on the first day we lost our bearings and when we did get back to the Riad and told Abdel about our shenanigans he already knew as some locals had told him! It was as though there's a little community looking out for you!

The Riad is divine. Beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable ... the rooftop terrace area has some great views. We were comfortable enough to ask for anything and felt like we were staying with friends.

We hope to return next spring and would absolutely recommend the Riad to all and sundry! It's a great find, try it, enjoy it .. and then come back to it! We certainly will.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Our second time at Hayati and this time we took our 17 year old son for a 3 night break. Like us he fell in love with the place. We invited friends for dinner one night and Mina prepared the most delicious couscous. It was a perfect evening thanks to Abdel's excellent service and Mina's wonderful food. Can't wait to return it is the perfect place to relax! We really appreciated the phone call from Ron on our first morning welcoming us back to Hayati!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Where is Ron, the owner who almost everyone on TA mentions as being so wonderful and charming, he was not there when we stayed in Jan. He was, we were told by Abdel, the manager in the UK where he lives, this is fine, but as he is so often mentioned on TA, we were naturally expecting to see him here, as we also read on TA many times, ‘staying at this riad is like staying in a private home’, I would think that the host should at least be present and when he was not, then naturally were let down.

Our Room was a bit surgical looking in a sterile way; a few home touches such as wall pictures would not go a miss. The décor is very nice but hardly in our estimation filled with antiques (unless you consider copies) and typical rugs (hardly the expensive ones you read about on TA), but that is not really important as we are only staying the riad and not buying it.

Coming to Marrakech, we thought we would have a massage and a hammam, but unfortunately this riad which markets itself as a first class property does not even have their own hammam but will gladly outsource it for you. But still as you have to obviously get dressed and go to the Spa and then get dressed and return to the riad, you do not have the same relaxing experience as you would if the riad had this facility in house, it is a pity really.

I may be silly as the warning signs were written on the wall even before I arrived in Marrakech as one has to pay for everything upfront in sterling in the UK into Ron’s person bank account, before you even step foot in the riad. To our way of thinking, this is not the way to run a ‘professional’ business and we are not sorry we did not act on our initial instincts and booked elsewhere, but then again, we relied on TA’s reviews.

Nevertheless, the location is very good as is Abdel and I would recommend it, but not as a deluxe riad that it purports to be but as a good average riad that is well situated in the Medina and run by a good manager, as a Tripadvisor 3 is an average review and I am obviously disappointed, I will give this riad a 2.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My partner and I have been around the world and stayed at many five star hotels. But, I must say Riad Hayati is unique in its serene beauty and amazing personal service.

From the moment we exited the airport and saw Abdel's confident smile we relaxed. Fifteen minutes later we stepped through the door of Hayati and into a slice of paradise. For a moment my wife and I were a bit speechless at the utter beauty and serenity of what we saw. A dream-like courtyard with gurgling fourtain , lush climbing garden, excotic incense and soft souful Arab music. There's even a tweeting canary giving life to all of this.

Our little suite had a huge bathroom with dressing room, fireplace, private terrace and a plunge pool. The touch of a call button produced the fasted service we have ever encountered. Breakfasts were treat with Mina's Berber crepes and of course that marvelous Marrakech orange juice. Her home cooking was so good we ate in most evenings. Wonderful local fresh produce, beautifully presented.

I could go on but i would only be repeating what has been said so many times in Hayati's reviews. Superb and simply magical.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Must thank Ron,Mina and Abdel for making my celebration so special. From the moment I began speaking to Ron about our plans I knew we were in good hands,but frankly I didn't expect the rooms filled with fragrant roses, a surprise birthday breakfast with a candle in my croissant. Then "le diner," so fab ending with Mina's "killer" chocolate gateau then drinks and "le dancing" afterwards in the beautifl grand salon. Perfect. Absolutely perfect!

Bad weather on two of the days didn't bother us as the riad is exquisite and so comfortable with a little bit of serendipity in every corner : Gorgeous books and works of art throughout. Lots of little nooks to curl up with a book or intimate salons to socialize.

The location is ideal. Literally a minutes from the Bahia Palace, Dar Si Said museum, the Mellah bazaar and a couple of chic, restaurants.

This birthday was one to remember. Many thanks to all at Riad

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hayati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayati

Address: 27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Riad Hayati Marrakech
Riad Hayati Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hayati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.