We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful city, perfect Riad Hayati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hayati

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Hayati
Save Saved
You added Riad Hayati to your Saves list
27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful city, perfect Riad Hayati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've always wanted to visit Marrakech and came across Riad Hayati quite by chance and after a short email enquiry and reply from the owner, Ron Ciccone who was in Venice at the time, we were booked. Almost immediately Ron emailed again and forwarded information about local restaurants and bars, general advice about the Riad and other places to visit in Marrakech and told us that we should treat the house as our own and ask Abdel and Mina, who manage the Riad, for absolutely anything we needed. We were really looking forward to our short break and were sure we had found the perfect retreat. Abdel met us at the airport and a short drive later we were being shown around the house. In fact this traditional Riad is two connected properties with rooms opening onto two beautiful courtyards. It's the perfect size and would be ideal for a large family holiday but is also ideal for anyone who savours peace and tranquility with the attention and service, if you want, of a 1st class hotel. Ron and his small team have worked this out perfectly and Abdel and Mina are always available to provide anything you could ever need. On our first night we had apéritifs followed by a delicious dinner of vegetable soup, Moroccan salad, chicken tajine with preserved lemon and olives and then the most exquisite individual lemon tarts with the finest, thin, short, sweet pastry. We were there for a stay far too short but decided to eat at the Riad again and honestly felt that we would not find better food or presentation elsewhere. We both love dining and are accomplished cooks and our dilemma was whether to stay in the Riad and be assured of haute cuisine or experiment and risk disappointment in the city. Ron kindly provided many choices but time was short so we avoided the experimentation and simply arranged dinner with Abdel and Mina and then explored the city at leisure and ate street food or in small cafes during the day. We had the top floor room in the Riad, with terrace and plunge pool, although in December we decided not to plunge but had drinks on the roof terrace overlooking the city and watched the sunset, listened to calls to prayer and the brightening lights as the city came to life at night. December was a perfect time for our visit and after sunset is a wonderful time to walk around the city. It's easy to get lost but after a few days you'll get to know your way and will be better for the experience. Abdel arranged a trip into the mountains and our driver stopped at really interesting spots on the way, an amazing emporium of moroccan artefacts, a Berber house, Argan oil production by local women's cooperative followed by a steep walk in the foothills to waterfalls and then down for lunch at the side of the river. A wonderful city, perfect Riad Hayati.....thank you Ron, Abdel and Mina.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    2
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
258
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The entrance is like entering exactly how you imagined the Arab world 500 years ago - with 21st Century luxiries. We stayed at the hotel December 2012. We were met at the airport by a member of Staff and when we got to the edge of the Medina, our luggage was transferd to a donkey cart. You follow your lugage for a short walk through the Medina. You open the gate and you are entering a romantic and authentic Arab environment with palm trees, flowers and the sound of water trickling in the centre fountain.

We were 3 couples staying there for 4 nights. On the first night we had an excellent dinner prepared by a member of staff - soon we chose to eat all our dinners there having tried meals outside the hotel - we preffered the authenticity and the hospitaltiy of the Riad - it was warm, welcoming and personal.

After a busy day of site-seeing, Gin & Tonics on the roof terrace overlooking the rooftops of the city was a delight - we imagined we were in a movie set. Inspite of the fact that you are in the middle of the Medina - once your'e in your little oasis that is the Riad - it is calm, peaceful and quiet.

We fully expected Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Burgman to join us.
All in all the personal attention to detail and hospitality combined with the serenity of the environment was picture perfect. An unforgetable experience.

Room Tip: We were a group of 6 and all 3 couples extremely happy with their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Where to begin ...?
We spent 3 wonderful nights at Riad Hayati in November as part of a week away celebrating my 50th Birthday . This was our first trip to Marrakech and we really landed on our feet !
Abdel met us at the airport and accompanied us to the Riad where we were greeted at the door by Mina.
Between the 2 of them we could not have had better care and attention throughout our stay.
On our first night Mina cooked us a delicious meal which was by far the best food that we ate in Marrakech.I even had a birthday cake.
Abdel arranged restaurant bookings,transport, a guide one day and directions etc.

The Riad is just charming and perfectly located in the medina,down a quiet side street.
Each time we arrived back after a days exploring ,we stepped over the threshold into the most peaceful and welcoming oasis of calm with the sweet scented smell of incense and a smiling face to greet us.Such a feeling of relaxation each time we walked through the door, it felt like magic !

We stayed in the suite with a private terrace, where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning. Each evening we enjoyed a drink up on the roof terrace, before heading out for dinner.It all felt so completely private.
The Riad has clearly been furnished with care and attention to detail and was beautifully maintained.
Although we did not meet Ron, he called us on arrival and to wish me a Happy Birthday and it clearly mattered very much to him that we were happy. In fact, it felt like the most personal and unique service and I felt that we were staying in his home rather than holiday accommodation.
I would definitely like to think that we will return and my daughter and her boyfriend are in the process of planning a trip for early next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our pre-Christmas break at this lovely place was a serious treat for us. Absolutely amazing service in a beautiful setting. The ambience here is gracious, warm and relaxed. Ron the owner is a generous host who is obviously well traveled himself. He knows how to receive guests and when he says "make yourselves totally at home" he means it. Abdel and Mina, the borther and sister team who keep things running flawlessly will melt your heart with their care and warmth.

My wife and i have been fortunate to travel extensively and we have stayed at some lovely places, but our week at Riad Hayati was really so special.

Room Tip: We stayed two nights in the four poster bedroom which has a huge tube and a fireplace in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were in Marrakech for the Film Festival and this year we chose a riad instead of a large hotel. Riad Hayati was the perfect choice. They really know the art of intimate,personal hospitality at its absolute best. It's has a sophisticated, understated elegance. All is subtle beauty but it is also so warm and homey. It's like being received in a charming private residence with long-time staff that are super efficient but warm and very caring.

The Festival can be a bit exhausting so the Riad was a perfect refuge to recharge between parties. Most of the guests we met seem to be regulars and there is a relaxed clubby feeling about the place. There enough room for everyone to have quiet time or come together for a party.Everyone was sleeping late and having brekfast in their robes and relaxing on the terraces of in the lovely salons.

I don't normally write reviews but I am writing this one to say thank you to Ron and his wonderful staff for a truly wonderful week.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful little suite with a fireplace and its own terrace and dipping pool. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Marrakech for our 1st Wedding anniversary and what a wonderful time we had. Everyone at the Riad looked after us wonderfully and the whole experience was a like a 2nd honeymoon!
I would definitely recommend Hyati for a romantic, beautiful, exotic escape.
The rooms are just beautiful and we had everything we ever needed. The staff are wonderful and the owners charming and caring.
Thank you to all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I am not one to write reviews but I had to complete one for the Riad. The owner and staff were so welcoming and helpful. It was our small oasis - my husband and I basically had the entire place to ourselves and were able to come and go easily as it is centrally located. A driver was always available if we needed help getting to a far away restaurant. It is like a very large home with many beautiful rooms and multiple decks. At night you can sit on the open air roof and watch the sky turn orange against the sunset while listening to the sounds if this exotic place. I would stay there again no questions. Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hayati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayati

Address: 27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Riad Hayati Marrakech
Riad Hayati Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hayati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.