We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hayati

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Hayati
Save Saved
You added Riad Hayati to your Saves list
27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've been to Riad Hayati in every season and we just love it. It's a discreet little gem in a perfect location close to major sights and just a few minutes stroll from the Place Jemaa El Fna.
Ron has taken an 18th century merchant's garden house and refurbished it with all modern comforts . The design reflects his travels in the Middle East with references to Ottoman Turkey and Persia. The place just oozes character with a lived-in elegance to be enjoyed

Abdel and Mina provide warm "at home" service which we appreciate so much. It's like spending a week in someone's home with all the amenities and services of a smart boutique hotel. Nothing is overlooked for our comfort.

This is truly a very special place. There is no other way of saying it.

Room Tip: We've stayed in all the rooms, but last few visits we've been in the suite which has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    2
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
258
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Warm memories in cold London. We've just returned after five wonderful days at Riad Hayati. Truly an oasis with refined hospitality and service. The location was just about perfect . Quiet in a little cul de sac but just a minute away from the palaces and markets and a little square where taxis were always available.

Ron's attention to detail is amazing. The house is not only beautiful but extremely cosy as well. Everything has been thought of for comfort and enjoyment. There are charming little nooks for daydreaming and a grand salon for entertainment. The terraces are well tended gardens with fountains and a sweet little plunge pool.

Mina and Abdel are absolute treasures and we were sad to leave them at the end of our stay.
They really looked after us so well. And Mina's cooking totally deserves all the raves.

We generally don't write reviews but this time we just wanted to say thank you for our superb holiday.

Room Tip: We had the four poster bedroom on the gallery which is absolutely charming and extremely comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I think what impressed us so much about Riad Hayati was the ambience of a private home. It's like being invited to someone's dream house with the perfect staff and extremely comfortable accomodations, made even more comfortable by an extremely thoughtful host. A marvelous cook and staff of three keep things ticking beautifully. It's all done with low-key efficiency that looks so easy, but these folks clearly know about hospitality.

The house is an 18th century merchant's home that has been renovated with all modern comforts but keeps its tradtional elegance. All white backrounds with slashes of color coming from antique carpets and Islamic textiles. Bedrooms are light and airy and especially comfortable with bathrooms that are stocked with local herbal soaps and shampoos.

We've been to Marrakech before so we knew our way around. Nevertheless it was the Riad that provided soothing comfort and relaxation after a long day or night out.

Ron said he believes people will enjoy the delights this bustling city more if they are well-rested and well looked-after. We agree totally and hats off to Ron and staff for their wonderful treatment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I have been been fortunate to visit many beautiful places around the world, but Riad Hayati has got to be one o the most charming places we have ever stayed at. This is a home that was obviously built with love and we were delighted to experience it.

To begin with it has a non-pretentious beauty that delights your eyes yet makes you feel at home immediately. Ron the owner. and his staff ,are clearly the most hospitable, generous people around. I happen to mention it was our anniversary and when we arrived there were flowers and wine placed in the room. Then a fantastic romantuic dinner by candlelight with soft music playing throughout the house.

Our room,a little suite actually, was delightful with our own terrace and pool set amongst palm trees. It was completely private from the rest of the house but just a staircase away.The bathroom was huge filled with piles of towels and fluffy robes. Breakfast was fantastic with Mina's Berber crepes, fresh local orange juice, rich French coffee and even egg-white omelettes when we asked for them. Lunches and dinners were sumptuous. Mina is a fabulous cook. She makes it look so easy, but she turns out Moroccan and French specialities that rival the town's restaurants.

I could go on but I just want to say thank you and hats off to Ron and his people for the pride and care they took in receiving us so graciously.

Room Tip: I guess our junior suite was the largest but I also liked the four poster room on the gallery. It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed at Hayati a few times now and it is always a memorable experience. As widely commented Mina and Abdel are excellent at looking after house guests. It is always a real treat to sample Mina's cooking and Abdel is discreetly helpful. We particularly like the part of the Medina where it is located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Absolutely brilliant week at Riad Hayati. It started as soon as we arrived at the airport where Abdel was waiting to escort us to what turned out to be a beautiful haven for seven days. The riad really has a perfect location and you only have to walk a couple of minutes to the Bahia Palace and the spice market of the Mellah ( old Jewish quarter ), and some very cosy restaurants located in the square next to the market.
The Place Jemaa El Fna is a few minutes straight walk along the main market street.

Once inside the Riad is a blessed retreat after the hectic buzz of the markets. The house reflects Ron's old world generous charm and manners, an ambiance of non- pretentious understated elegance . The brother and sister team of Abdel and Mina are long time family retainers who keep things running flawlessly. And, everything we had heard about Mina's cooking was spot-on. Delicious French/Moroccan home cooking beautifully served by Abdel.

We had an exciting time in Marrakech and a week of complete spoiling at Hayati. We reccomend it very highly indeed.

Room Tip: We had the charming little suite which was completely private with its own terrace and tiny plunge p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have just come back from what can only be described as heaven – Riad Hayati!

Having fallen for Marrakech on my first trip there (I stayed elsewhere last time - a mistake I won’t ever be making again) I decided to go back and after reading the reviews on here thought that this time I’d book to stay at Hayati. It is every bit as amazing as described and more!!!

It’s a long journey from Canada but my tiredness soon wore off as soon as I stepped into the courtyard. It really takes your breath away - twinkling candles, singing birds and music playing - such bliss. It’s really hard to do it justice with a review on here, you have to see it for yourself to understand.

The rooms are beautiful and I think about 10 people could have fit into the bath in my room (no exaggeration!). Upstairs on the roof terrace there’s a sunbathing area, pool (much needed in the hot weather) and a table where you can have drinks as the sun sets – one of my favourite parts of the trip.

During my stay I was lucky enough to meet Ron, the owner of the Riad. What a welcoming and charming man! The care and attention to detail that has been put into his guests having the perfect stay is evident and it really makes for a fantastic trip.

In addition to the sheer beauty of the place the food is just outstanding. I did go and eat out for a few nights but nothing compared to the standard of food that we ate there. As is the service - you actually feel like this beautiful place could be your home (if only)!

Riad Hayati is a sanctuary and I cannot praise it enough! If you are undecided on where to stay then look no further - you cannot fail to be impressed.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful - each has its individual charm so it's hard to suggest one. My room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hayati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayati

Address: 27 Derb Bouderba | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riad Hayati Marrakech
Riad Hayati Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hayati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.