We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Marrakech Deal
Ranked #27 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Everything you could want a Riad to be.. beautiful, comfortable, lovely rooms and roof terrace. Food was fantastic! Location good - very central. However, best point would have to be the staff; all so friendly and lovely and welcoming and always happy to help! The perfect place to chill out and take a break from the heat and bustle of Marrakech (the jacuzzi is appreciated with temperatures are above 40!). We were only supposed to be staying there one night but could not leave and ended up staying four! Thanks to Olivier and the other staff for really making out time in Marrakech amazing. :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    84
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
379
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

a fantastic experience for my first time in morroco made all the more special by the wonderful hospitality shown to us by oliviers saeedand crew.extremely laid back riad which we seriously didnt want to leave.made many new friends of differing nationalities and had many a laugh

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This Riad was everything we had wanted and hoped for. Marrakech is a wonderful place but can be a little overwhelming, and Dar Najat was exactly what was needed, a respite from all the hustle bustle, with friendly staff, delicious food and beautifully crafted rooms. The orange juice and tortoises were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

If you are looking for a special first time Marrakech experience you must stay at Dar Najat. Oliver and the team are incredibly friendly and hospitable, nothing is too much trouble.

The riad is extremely relaxed and fresh orange juice and mint tea is available at all times on the terrace. The recommendations Oliver made to us were always insightful and incredibly suitable for us and we are quite specific.

The Riad is extremely central and close to the main square. Once you have been shown the route by one of the amazing staff you will feel comfortable at all hours of the day.

We have been all around the world and stayed in many places, but Dar Narjat is certainly one of the friendliest.

If we return to Marrakech there is no doubt we will be booking a room at Dar Narjat again, the kindness of the staff made our trip! Thank you Oliver and team!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Dar Najat is a great place to stay in Marrakech. I had a marvelous time there and it was a pleasure to spent time with the people of Dar Najat. This is the place if you want to even become friends with the staff who will do everything that you feel great and relaxed. The place in reality is better than on the pictures and the staff is making you feel even better than at home! The rooms are nicely decorated in Moroccan style, very comfortable with everything you need for a nice vacation in Marrakech. The riad is very close to Jemaa El Fna square, 5 minutes walk. The terrace is a great place to spend time relaxing listening to fine music during the hot afternoon or cool night. The riad offers lunch or dinner if requested and the meals are very delicious. I'm very happy that I've chosen Dar Najat for my stay in Marrakech and I hope that I'll be able to come back soon and spent quality time with my new friends!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I have to preface this whole review by saying that I found myself in Morocco under some difficult circumstances. Somehow though the stars aligned for helpful people to fall into my lap. For that I am thankful.

Now to Dar Najat! I booked Dar Najat as a result of the reviews I had read on tripadvisor. I also appreciated Dar Najat`s website and the quick responses I had gotten from the owner, Olivier. So, I booked it. Here you go:

1) The riad is EXACTLY like what you see online and in the pictures of the guest reviews on tripadvisor. In fact, it`s better. It`s cozy, authentic, and beautiful. Rarely do I say that a place exceeds my expectation. Dar Najat definitely exceeded my expectations. It was clean; it was clean; it was clean. This you will definitely appreciate in Morocco.

2) The staff is extremely helpful. Olivier goes out of his way to get to you know you. With that said, it`s not oppressive. Olivier doesn`t get in your business. He just lets you know that he is there for you in event that you have questions or need something. Amine and/or Zaid are at the riad at all times. They will lead you through the medina. They will bring you something to drink. They will basically help you with whatever may present itself. This is a big help.

3) The breakfast is good. They also prepare a couscous dinner for guests who so desire. The cost for me alone was 250 diram (about $31). Just keep that in mind. It was, however, excellent. The portion was HUGE. And everything was fresh and delicious.

4) Now to the taxi situation. The staff at Dar Najat will arrange taxis for you. This, however, does come at a much greater expense (every time I got in one of the taxis used by Dar Najat it was a standard fare of 100 diram (about $12). This is exorbitant for Moroccan standards. With that said though, these drivers are a known commodity. They are nice and professional. Just know that there are other options. You just need to be adventurous and confident in your negotiating skills or have a Moroccan friend with you, as I did most of my stay.

5) Olivier's mother! I could not write this without mentioning what a lovely and completely random day I spent with Olivier's mother and wife in a water park in Marrakech. It's a long story, but to keep it brief, I will never forget Claudine as long as I live. We spent the whole day discussing life, choices, and dreams. It was almost magical, especially at a moment when I was coming to grips with my father's passing.

There you go! Don't hesitate to contact me with questions. I feel confident in saying that you will not be disappointed with Dar Najat. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I cannot beleive the last comment posted about this Riad, and hope that readers look at all the other comments as i did before i booked. I feel the last comment is totally unjustified. Yes the cab fare is 18 euros and well worth it to have someone greet you in a foreign country and take you personally to the Riad. Yes you could get a cab from the airport, but beleive me your first experience would be haggling the price and probably end up paying more, the cab driver more than likely would not be able to find the riad, marrakech is a large city of many places/alley ways. Whilst we were out and about a lot of the cab drivers would say they knew where you wanted to go but they diddn't! Anyway i hope you read my experience of dar najat to get an unbiased truthful revue.
I am 46 and travelled with my husband, I always do extensive research before travelling. I looked at many riads on the internet, and read many reviews on trip advisor in order to make my decision. My husband wanting 5 star Luxury and me wanting to have a real experience, you can stay in a 5 star anywhere in the world and probably not have made any real memories to look back on. We also spent 4 nights at eden andalou resort and spa- a compromise for my husband. My criteria was easy walking distance to the main square- this was an easy 5 mins, Air conditioning-a definate must as the first couple of days it was 48 degrees. Cleanliness- the riad is spotlessly clean, good service- It was evident from the emails before we booked the riad that service was very important here, I have travelled to many places and am delighed to say that the service i received here was better than anywhere else I have ever been. All the staff are absolutely charming, and cannot do enough for you, they have obviously been well trained by Olivier, who is a master at customer service. They would pop to the local shop and buy diet coke, if i wanted it, all at no charge, and were delighted to do it. Made sure i always had tea in the morning with my breakfast. Cooked us a fantastic meal one night. Personally walked us to the square to show us the way. Another occasion to the spice market. When I had a headache, instantly appeared with a tablet, they were all absolutely fantastic. i do feel it is experiences and people that make your trip a good one and coupled with great value for money, you have a recipe for success, This is what the Dar najat has, and on top of that for our stay all soft drinks/tea cofee were free (this offer might only be a certain times of the year so do check with them). I am missing the Dar najat already and hugs and kisses to you Olliver, Amin, Siad and Leyla and the funny man I forget his name. Thank you for a wonderful stayxxx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.