We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True riad style, centrally located, friendly staff - what more could you ask for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Marrakech Deal
Ranked #29 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“True riad style, centrally located, friendly staff - what more could you ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Really don't know where to start - everything was great.

Oliver, the owner, pays attention to every detail, and is super-responsive over email, I must have exchanged over 30 emails with him, before our trip to Morocco - and he promptly responded to every one of them, offering advice about guides, places to stay in other cities, dinner arrangements.

He introduced us to Abdu - a great guide with deep pride in Moroccan history and culture. He knows a lot, but doesn't bore you to death - knows when to stop, and wait for questions and signs of interest. Carefully selects the shops for you to find authentic Moroccan and especially Berber items - cosmetics, jewelry, rugs, etc. Took us on a short hike into the mountains to give us a taste of Berber roots. It was a good taste for the tours conducted by Abdu, into the Atlas mountains and Sahara desert to live with Berber families.

Momo and Mido, the staff in the Riad, made us feel like family - taking care of every detail, from breakfast to laundry.

Room Tip: You can't make a mistake. Just book a room, and then send your requirements in advance to Oliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
hi Dear friends and thanks for such a lovely post!
It has been a pleasure and a privilege to have you home!
Looking forward meeting you again.
Yours,all Dar Najat.
Cheers,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    85
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
380
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fantastic stay in beautiful riad. Highly recommended. Clean, great food, air conditioned rooms. Very helpful staff which made all the difference to making our stay relaxing! Nothing was too much trouble and special thanks to midu for helping us throughout our stay, outstanding service thank you. Lovely atmosphere, in a truly unique morrocan style building. So glad we stayed here. If we come back to morrocco we will definitely return to riad dar najat! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review and very nice words indeed!
Will be a real pleasure having you back in Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Riad Dar Najat is the best place to stay in Marrakech. For starters the Riad is in the perfect location, only a short walk to and from the main square, yet totally quiet and tranquil at the same time and is very easy to find even in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and has everything you need including a nice big jacuzzi on the roof terrace, free wifi and air conditioning throughout. Despite going to a few different places to eat we found that Riad Dar Najat was by far the best quality and very well priced, especially for the huge portions!
What made the trip so special were the people we met, all the staff at Riad Dar Najat were extremely helpful and kind to us, the hospitality could not have been better, a special thanks to Mido, Olivier and Mou-Mou for being so generous with their time and for making us feel completely welcome and at home, they even brought us baby tortoises to look after!! and thank you to Abdou for taking us on so many beautiful day trips and being so insightful and sharing your knowledge of Marrakech with us. Much love to you all and a big thank you from Robyn, Marjatta and Amber.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi to our new friends and huge thanks for your lovely post!
It has been a chance knowing your lovely family and be sure that we will be more than glad to see you back!
Thanks again for your very nice review indeed and best wishes from all Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver&Mido&Momo&Sakina&Fatimzara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Walking through the narrow streets of Marrakech and finding our hotel a surprise was awaiting us as the door of the hotel opend and a small piece of paradise was in front of us. Great rooms and outdoor spaces where you can relax, have breakfast or dinner. decorated with beautifull funiture, small pool, roofterras and a lot of plants it is trully a place to have a great experience of relaxation.

The experience was more then great as staff was always very willing to help and advice in anything and trully friendly in their approach. I would recommend the Riad Dar Najat to anyone and I am sure I will be going back as we only had 3 days and I do believe I want to spend more time here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind post indeed!
It has been a chance knowing both of you and we do hope to see you back dear friends!
You also may try our other guest house in Essaouira to take advantage of both guest houses!
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Dar Najat. It is such a quiet haven away from the bustle of the markets and old town. Mido helped us in various ways, especially to navigate the streets. At our request, Olivier organized a day for us with Abdou to explore the Atlas mountains. Abdou planned an excellent and varied day for us to see the sights by car, on foot and on camelback, and by visiting local artisans and a Berber family. Abdou is completely charming and a wealth of historical information and insight. That was one of the real highlights, not just of our time in Morocco, but our whole trip. Thank you, Abdou! We were so glad to have the experience of staying in the old town for our few days in Marrakesh. It was unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for your warm post dear friends and hope having the chance to see you back.
Cheers! Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really cool Riad in the centre of Marrakech, very friendly service, good location, nice building, nice rooms. Very clean. Warm welcome, nearlly felt at home for 3 days as everybody is really relax. Walking distance to all the nice area to visit in Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for your post!
Cheers,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Do not stay in a conventional hotel. Do not stay in a random riad. Stay at Dar Najat. The service will astound and restore you. Marrakesh can be a hectic place. The streets are narrow thoroughfares for bikes, mopeds, cars, horses and donkey carts. You will get lost often. As a tourist, you may sometimes feel like the city is out to get you. You will often be the object of unwanted attention by hawkers, beggars, shysters, would-be guides, and the list goes on. This is all part of the Marrakesh experience, but it can be a little much if you are used to a more relaxed pace and a little more personal space. This is why Dar Najat is so important. You can withstand anything the city throws at you knowing that you will eventually return to your temporary oasis.

The service at Dar Najat begins before you even arrive in Marrakesh. Oliver, the owner, is more than happy to communicate with you in advance to plan activities and day trips. He is a prompt responder, quick to return your email queries. Once you are installed in the riad he will often ask how your day was and help you plan the next day’s agenda. No question is too naive or complicated. He is extremely patient, enthusiastic and very confident that he or his staff will be able to fulfill your vacation needs.

Dar Najat will arrange for someone to pick you up from the airport. Any address can be hard to find in Marrakesh so it’s a good idea to have the staff pick you up and get you to your temporary Marrakesh home.

Eat at Dar Najat. The staff will make you dinner comparable to any Moroccan meal you might find at any other restaurant. They even accommodate your dietary needs. I am a vegetarian, for example.

Drink at Dar Najat. Yes, they serve alcohol! After a long, hot and dusty day it’s a sheer pleasure to spend a lazy afternoon drinking a bottle of rose on the terrace with a plate of cracked olives. Chat with the staff. Share advice and experiences with fellow travelers. Make a new friend. The tab for drinks and food is quietly, simply and conveniently added to your hotel bill. (Breakfast is good and free!)

The sleeping chambers at Dar Najat are small, as are most at any riad, I suspect. The architectural layout of the riad is designed to get you out of your room and onto the shared terraces looking out over the central courtyard. There are no windows overlooking the noisy streets. The goal of the riad is to get you to look inward towards the peace and lushness of the central patio.

Need some laundry done? Need a dinner reservation? Need an appointment at the spa? Need someone to walk you to your hard-to-find destination? Need a bottle of water for your room? All of this the staff will do for you with a smile. Tipping is not expected for any of these small kindnesses, but it is good karma to tip the staff when you check out.

Day Trips: Oliver will put you in touch with Abdou. Abdou will take you anywhere you want to go. He took us to the Atlas Mountains to see the weekly Berber Market (Mondays) and the waterfalls of the Ourika Valley. We bought some rugs while we were there and he was extremely helpful during our negotiations. It helps to have a local present when you engage in the favorite Moroccan pastime- haggling. He speaks perfect English and was trained as a historian before entering the tourist industry. This makes him very knowledgeable about local traditions. He also took us to the seaside town of Essaouira. We canceled our third day trip since we felt we were spending a bit too much time in a car for our tastes and there were parts of Marrakesh that we still wanted to see. We hired Abdou for a city tour, instead. I had a specific list of sites I wanted to visit (like the smelly tanneries) and he was more than happy to follow our agenda. He also took us the Beldi Country Club, which is essentially a peaceful spot outside of the city with a beautiful pool and lush gardens. It was a great place to swim, catch some sun and have a French lunch. If you are confused by all of the websites offering Marrakesh daytrips, just contract Abdou through Dar Najat and you will not be disappointed.

Your riad is as much a part of your Marrakesh experience as are the souks, tagines and mint tea. If you choose Dar Najat you will be very happy. We are very thankful to Oliver and his staff. We are especially thankful to team who saw to our practical concerns: Momo, the concierge, Medou and Hadim.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Dear Friends!
Huge thanks for your (very!!) lovely and complete testimony about the Riad Dar Najat.
We have been very lucky indeed having the privilege to host such great travelers and friends.
All the staff does remember you as genuine and very interesting guests indeed and huge thanks again for all your kindness with all here my friends.
Looking forward having the chance to see you back.
Yours sincerely,Olli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.