We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Riad Dar Najat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COOLEST MARRAKECH DEAL
Ranked #26 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arriving in the Medina of Marrakech for the first time, you are immediately aware that you are in a world that, while not unwelcoming to visitors, operates according to its own map and rhythms. The old city is a labyrinthe of alleys (derbs), lanes, and courtyards, full of people selling everthing from bananas to leather bags. Pedestrians share this maze with donkey carts, the occasional brave motorist, and small scooters (often carrying an improbable number of passengers -- it's not unusual to see three fully-grown men zipping down an alleyway full of pedestrians on a moped, conducting an animated conversation). Not surprisingly, the buildings that line these alleys face inwards, away from the lively chaos. The traditional riad may show only a single door and a blank wall to the street, but inside that door there will be a richly decorated world, built around a central courtyard, usually topped with a roof garden. If you are staying in Marrakech, you owe it to yourself to stay in a riad; every city in the world has hotels. A riad, on the other hand, brings you into the otherwise hideen heart of the Medina.

Riad Dar Najat is located only a few minutes from the main Djema El-Fna square, by which you will orient yourself in Marrakech. The riad provided us with a reliable, cheerful shuttle from the airport (you wouldn't want to try to find it yourself the first time),with a driver who cheerfully waited the hour and half that our flight was late (immigration control in Morroco is also perhaps not the world's speediest). Likewise, we had booked a meal for our first night, and even though we arrived later than we had planned, our food meal was ready when we arrived, The meal was not cheap (by local standards), but it was a feast of multiple courses, And, the riad discreetly serves wine, even though it is based in the Medina, which contains several important Islamic sites.

The riad itself is made up of single ensuite rooms, all based a central courtyard. All the rooms are decorated with North African art, with a Sub-Saharan theme (reminding us that Marrakech existed originally as the market and meeting point of a number of cultures, including that of sub-Saharan Africa). The public area on the ground floor makes a tranquil (and cool) spot to read in the heat of the afternoon, or to play a game of chess on the marvellous hand-carved chess set. The roof garden (which is also the restaurant, and is where breakfast is served) is lush with plants and birds. The predominant colours are deep browns, cream, with flashes of brighter colours. In one respect, this is what makes the riad so magical. Marrakech itself (particularly the Medina) was originally built from a pink clay; when concrete was introduced as building material early in the twentieth century, the French colonial government introduced an ordinance requiring all buildings to be painted the original pink. In one sense, then, Marrakech is curiously monochrome; going into the riad is like entering into a world of colour.

As a place to stay, we found Riad Dar Najat clean (the rooms were immaculate), and the staff genuinely warm, and welcoming. On arrival, we were made to feel like expected guests; on our first morning, we were guided to Djema El-Fna, and when we were leaving (even though we had already checked out earlier in the day at that point), we were given classes of freshly-squeezed orange juice, and several members of staff walked with us out to our taxi to wave us off.

In summary; if you are going to Marrakech, and you really want to experience the Medina, you need to stay in the Medina in a riad. There may be other riads that are equally clean and attractively decorated; but you would be lucky to find one in which the staff (and the owner) take such obvious pride in making guests feel not just welcome, but at home. We could not recommend Riad Dar Najat highly enough.

Room Tip: There are only six or seven rooms; those on the ground floor might seem a little less private than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi and thank you so much for your very kind post indeed dear friends!
Cheers! Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    95
    6
    7
    9
See reviews for
103
429
71
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We found Dar Najat through Tripadvisor and it lived up to its excellent reviews. It's in a great location, five minutes from the main square, but is secluded enough from the main streets that it is very quiet, ensuring a good night's sleep.
Our room was beautifully furnished, with excellent artwork and a very good bathroom. It was clean and well looked after. There is air conditioning, too. Although there is no TV, radio or phone (we neither expected nor needed these!) there is excellent wifi coverage throughout the riad.
The main area in the riad is the balcony where dining is al fresco (although there is a small inside room if necessary), leading up to a sun terrace. There is also a small jacuzzi - this is nice, but it's best to ask the staff to heat it up for you in advance. It is not always on and takes around four hours to reach its hot tub temperature.
We ate twice - on our arrival night and on our final night and the food is first class. You need to book in advance for a table, as they can only cater for a small number of diners, and buy in whatever ingredients they need every day. The standard fixed-price meal is a beautiful three course dinner of various morrocan salads/vegetables followed by a beautifully-cooked tagine (chicken or lamb etc) followed by fruit salad then mint tea or coffee.
Most important about this excellent riad is the staff. They are extremely welcoming, relaxed, very efficient and nothing is too much trouble for them. There is always someone at hand whenever you need someh They will show you the way through the winding streets to the square or to restaurants, so that you don't get lost, and will look after you brilliantly. We really would recommend this place - they've clearly worked very hard to achieve their excellent rating and are keen to retain it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Walida room, which can be arranged as either a twin or double room, I understand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was our first trip to marroko and it was not our last. We had an excellant stay in Riad Dar Narjat in the center of the Medina - a beautiful oasis within the marrokean chaos. Great service from Olivier and his team! The rooms are in the typical marrokean style, wounderful to relax. We hope we will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A simply outstanding Riad, Oliver and his staff are easily one of the best teams in the business. My girlfriend and I stayed for 10 days and can honestly say that it was a wrench to leave. From the moment we were met at the airport to the moment we left we were made to feel genuinely welcome. The Riad itself is ideally placed, only a couple of minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main square, but so quiet and peaceful that you would think you were there alone. The top floor sun warmed pool (which is ideal, who would want a piping hot hot tub in 30+ degree heat!) and lounge areas make for a wonderful place to relax in the heat of the middle of the day (even in August) and the Riad is of a size which meant that we never felt cramped. Thank you Oliver and your team for a wonderful and relaxing stay, at some point we hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Positives
- Perfect location in the Medina
- Very nice and and peaceful riad, beautifully decorated
- Extremely nice, available and helpful staff who will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible and make you feel like home

Negatives
- unfortunately, the jacuzzi is not exactly a jacuzzi but more like a bathtub with cold water
waterwarunning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi and thank you very much for your lovely post!
Just a small precision..if you desire having the jacuzzi or tub on the roof terrace getting warm..you may ask it four hours before ,and better to ask it the morning ;
In any case, with the hot days coming..shouldn't be an issue..
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time thanks to all those at Riad Dar Najat. Super friendly and kind owners, and staff, made sure that we never went without anything that we needed during our stay.

We stayed in the Layla room, at the bottom of the Riad. It was nice and cool, and a welcome break from the sun, but my girlfriend, who is a Lizard, found it too cold at times. Those of a colder disposition may want to book a room on the first floor, which have windows that open out onto the outdoor part of the Riad. Nevertheless, this didn't matter one bit, as we hung out on the beautiful roof terrace and chilled music placed all day long. No TV etc...but who needs that when you're in Marrakech. Anyway, there was good WIFI coverage so keeping in touch with the latest events in the Premier League wasn't an issue.

The service was exceptional. Much as when visiting relatives that you haven't seen in a while, the staff made us feel part of their family. Upon arrival, they gave us lovely thick coffee and orange juice while giving us a great insight into all the attractions and idiosyncrasies of the Medina. Hétam even walked us down to the Jamal El Fna (the entrance to the Souks, snake charmers etc...), 10mins walk from the Riad, to find a cash point, as we had bought no money. Also, don't bother buying bottled water, as the Riad provides you this, as well as all the Mint Tea you want, for free. This was a lovely, and unexpected, service.

Finally, the food was exceptional, with the kitchen preparing flavoursome, hearty, home cooking, that really does typify great Moroccan cuisine. It was the best meal that we had in Morocco; the chicken and lamb Tagines were spectacular, and the starters took me back to my Grandmother's kitchen, and the North African food she used to whip up for me as a little boy.

All in all, if you want a place to stay that is friendly, honest, and reasonably priced: this is the Riad for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Dar Najat for 3 nights in March and can honestly say that the hospitality was above and beyond anything we have ever experienced. Oliver and all his staff made us feel like part of the family and was always on call to help us with any queries or requests. On arrival, we were given the most amazing mint tea and fresh orange juice, then we were then given a tour of the Jemaa el-Fnaa to familiarize us with the local area. One evening we had food in the riad and it was easily the best food we had in Marrakesh, we had our own private dining room above the roof terrace and the ambiance of the riad was perfect.
Abdul (the Riads tour guide) took us out on a day trip to a local village market and into the mountains where a guide took us hiking. I would recommend the tour as it was easily the highlight of the trip. We will definitely be returning to Dar Najat, hopefully in the near future. I would recommend the airport transfers to the Riad as it is difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Najat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.