We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Dar Najat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COOLEST MARRAKECH DEAL
Ranked #20 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great experience at Dar Najat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Positives
- Perfect location in the Medina
- Very nice and and peaceful riad, beautifully decorated
- Extremely nice, available and helpful staff who will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible and make you feel like home

Negatives
- unfortunately, the jacuzzi is not exactly a jacuzzi but more like a bathtub with cold water
waterwarunning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi and thank you very much for your lovely post!
Just a small precision..if you desire having the jacuzzi or tub on the roof terrace getting warm..you may ask it four hours before ,and better to ask it the morning ;
In any case, with the hot days coming..shouldn't be an issue..
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    86
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
89
396
64
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Had a lovely time thanks to all those at Riad Dar Najat. Super friendly and kind owners, and staff, made sure that we never went without anything that we needed during our stay.

We stayed in the Layla room, at the bottom of the Riad. It was nice and cool, and a welcome break from the sun, but my girlfriend, who is a Lizard, found it too cold at times. Those of a colder disposition may want to book a room on the first floor, which have windows that open out onto the outdoor part of the Riad. Nevertheless, this didn't matter one bit, as we hung out on the beautiful roof terrace and chilled music placed all day long. No TV etc...but who needs that when you're in Marrakech. Anyway, there was good WIFI coverage so keeping in touch with the latest events in the Premier League wasn't an issue.

The service was exceptional. Much as when visiting relatives that you haven't seen in a while, the staff made us feel part of their family. Upon arrival, they gave us lovely thick coffee and orange juice while giving us a great insight into all the attractions and idiosyncrasies of the Medina. Hétam even walked us down to the Jamal El Fna (the entrance to the Souks, snake charmers etc...), 10mins walk from the Riad, to find a cash point, as we had bought no money. Also, don't bother buying bottled water, as the Riad provides you this, as well as all the Mint Tea you want, for free. This was a lovely, and unexpected, service.

Finally, the food was exceptional, with the kitchen preparing flavoursome, hearty, home cooking, that really does typify great Moroccan cuisine. It was the best meal that we had in Morocco; the chicken and lamb Tagines were spectacular, and the starters took me back to my Grandmother's kitchen, and the North African food she used to whip up for me as a little boy.

All in all, if you want a place to stay that is friendly, honest, and reasonably priced: this is the Riad for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Dar Najat for 3 nights in March and can honestly say that the hospitality was above and beyond anything we have ever experienced. Oliver and all his staff made us feel like part of the family and was always on call to help us with any queries or requests. On arrival, we were given the most amazing mint tea and fresh orange juice, then we were then given a tour of the Jemaa el-Fnaa to familiarize us with the local area. One evening we had food in the riad and it was easily the best food we had in Marrakesh, we had our own private dining room above the roof terrace and the ambiance of the riad was perfect.
Abdul (the Riads tour guide) took us out on a day trip to a local village market and into the mountains where a guide took us hiking. I would recommend the tour as it was easily the highlight of the trip. We will definitely be returning to Dar Najat, hopefully in the near future. I would recommend the airport transfers to the Riad as it is difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

They peg themselves as the 'coolest riad in Marrakech' and they come pretty close. Positioned within walking distance of the main square it was a lovely oasis in a city teeming with activity. The bijou rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little cosy, but we were very grateful for the daily fresh linen and towels in our room over our three days stay in a hot and dusty city. Having arrived in late we opted for the dinner from their kitchen which although wasn't the best meal we had in Marrakech, was tasty and generous. Wine and beer is also available here at a reasonable price. The staff were all fantastic, however, the gem of the riad was Mido, the manager. He was was very passionate about his city and extremely helpful in giving us tips to navigate our way during our stay. We would stay at this riad again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Oliver (Olli) owns the Riad Dar Najat and he has a great team: Mumu, Modo, Sparks, Obelix, little Fatima and many more. There is also Abdul who does the airport runs and we had him for a day into the Atlas mountains. He is the most careful driver.
Seven bedrooms on two levels and dining / sitting areas on the two above, all surrounding a courtyard open to the sky. There are comfortable chairs, african art and cool Mali jazz all of which bring peace and quiet after the frenzy of people, scooters, mules and donkey carts outside in the narrow streets of the Medina. Always walk on the right and you will be safe in the traffic.
The room are small, there is soap in the small bathroom, but no Holiday Inn toiletries. The rooms are made up every day and there are always clean towels.
Olli and his team cannot do enough for you. If you are not sure which way to go to the square or a restaurant one of them will take you outside and show you.
The breakfast is excellent as are the evening meals. There are only three choices and we tried all three. The best is the lemon chicken tagine. The mixed meat couscous is huge, if there are two of you order one; and there is always beer and wine at a reasonable price.
We have not stayed at another riad but I doubt you will find a better one than Dar Najat.
Thank you Olli and the team.
Roger and Gay Green

Room Tip: They are all good; they are all small, some have double and some have twin beds. Your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were here for 4 nights celebrating a 50th birthday away from home. We wanted a place that was not too far from the center, and this was it! It is only a 5 min walk to the start of the souks and the main square (Jemaa El Fna). Very relaxing hotel. The staff is absolutely fantastic, very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. They organize whatever you ask for (dinner reservations at great restaurants, tips for bargaining, transport, excursions, orange juice, tea, etc, etc, etc). We loved it here. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. We had a room at ground level, which was a bit moist, but that may be because of the heavy rains just before we arrived. And the bed was a bit small (or I was a bit too tall...). Other than that, no complaints!
We expected a lot of noise from the scooters that rush through the streets, but nothing like that. At night it was totally quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast was very nice, fresh and having it on the roof terrace made it totally complete. We can highly recommend this hotel to anybody that visits Marrakech for a few days of holiday. Mido and Momo rule!

Room Tip: The size of the bed differs from room to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this Riad for 4 nights in April to celabrate my 50th birthday. We were joined by my brother and his girlfriend, They stayed in room directly below us. We had arranged transfer from airport and I would strongly advise this unless you have been in Marrakech before (and have had some practice in haggling with taxi drivers). When we arrived in the Riad we were taken straight to a table where a lovely lemon chicken tagine was waiting for us. They also serve wine (Rose particularly good), Food was lovely. The Riad certainly looks very cool, with a strong African theme and decent chill-out music. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Midou took us to nearby Dar es Salam restaurant, which was excellent. They also booked trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas mountains, although we ended up waiting for an hour because the transport service simply refused to start before 9 (despite being booked for 8). The trip also included quite a few compulsory stops at road side tourist traps, but we actually quite enjoyed these, especially the traditional Berber's market (which is definately not layed out for the tourists). Also don't feel obliged to pay 15 euros for guide at the waterfalls, just make your own arrangements.
The location of the Riad is pretty good, in quiet side alley, only about 10 minutes walk from main square. At night it's very peaceful, we slept really well. Breakfast is pretty good and plentiful (maybe just serve fried eggs before the sweet bits though). Just around the corner is the superb PepeNero restaurant. On the last day Midou had arranged gorgeous birthday cake, which we shared with other guests and staff. They all came to the square to wave us out to the airport. Love to come back one day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at 1st floor probably a bit less chilly than the ones at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.