We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay ..........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Marrakech Deal
Ranked #34 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay ..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having researched many Riad prior to our visit and on the basis of many sparkling reviews, we decided to use Dar Najat as our base in Marrakech. Travelling frequently and being used to overly exaggerated reviews, my wife & I gear up for possible disappointment when we arrive at any accommodation, but we were more than impressed by this lovely old building.

Oliver the French owner has substantially renovated this ancient Riad with flair & imagination, resulting in a perfect blend of modern chic and olde worlde charm. The interior of the Riad looks like a Moroccan antique shop with lovely furniture and great colours. The rooms are interesting and cosy and the open terrace on the top floor which serves as a breakfast and dinner area is lovely and open to the sky. There is a Jacuzzi to cool your feet and a pet tortoise which patrols up and down snapping up any available vegetables.

The staff including Moo Moo and Midou were friendly and more than accommodating and positively eager to help in any way. On our first afternoon, Midou showed us the way to the famous Jamaa el Fna square which is very close to Dar Najat - another reason to choose to stay here - and Abdou the person who picked us up from the airport became our personal guide through our time in Marrakech, showing us around the city, to the Atlas mountains and also to Essouria, a lovely relaxed fishing town with lovely beaches and great surfing.

All in all this well located and comfortable Riad must offer one of the best places to 'hang your hat' whilst battling through the hustle and bustle of life in Marrakech. The experienced staff and relaxing ambience coupled with a cold beer or chilled glass of rose - one of the few places we were able to find an alcoholic drink - makes Dar Najat a memorable place to stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sakina which was lovely and had a great shower room. It's on the ground floor so is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    86
    5
    7
    10
See reviews for
86
387
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I prolonged my stay in Marrakech for some weeks and have seen different Riads. But the best was Dar Najat. The staff there takes good care of you and they make you feel at home. Momo and Mido will furfill every wish. And if you need anything, they will get it for you. Super service. I even got the chance to get a ride with them on the vespa through marrakech. A real adventure!!! I've slept in all the rooms they offer. My favourite was the WEEDAD room, cause you have windows out to the medina too. Its very clean, cosy and Olivier the owner welcomes every guest personally and introduces all guests to each other. So even if you travel alone, you will meet new people and be able to explore marrakech with new friends, or someone of the staff. I had a great time and will be back for sure!!! The jacuzzi on the terasse invites you to sit in there and mingle with the guests around you.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have a bit more light than the bottom ones. But all in all, you will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a really good experience in the riad. Everything was preg tu good. First the staff Olivier and the other a were really nice and helpful and always available to give us some advice and take us the first day to the main square so that we dont get lost. Also the rooms were nice and clean and the terrace was incredible. The breakfast was tasty and the dinner in the night is one of the best i had. Thanks for
Make our stay so good. Sure i will come back. If you go to marakesh you have to stay here. You are not going to regret

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for four nights and found it highly hospitable, conveniently located, comfortable, quiet and restful. The latter is an important consideration given that Marrakech is a very intense City. This Riad is the perfect haven - beatifully and tastefully furnished and fitted, with the highest quality personalised customer care. The owner, Oliver is a lovely man and is clearly passionate about maintaining the delivery of this, taking great pride in his staff and team who we found polite, respectful and highly efficient. Ensure that in addition to sampling the best restaurants in Marrakech you also book an evening meal here. An overall standard of excellence - wouldn't hesitate to rebook if I visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The previous reviews say it all really. When the heat is intense and the noise and smells are battering your senses this is a little bit of escapist heaven. Cool, clean and quiet. The roof terraces are lovely and the breakfast tasty. We made our own way there and it is very hard to find. The directions emailed to us could be improved I think. We got quite close then needed the help of a local 'guide'. The boy became aggressive when he wasn't satisfied with his payment. We walked for much less than than a minute and he wanted 'paper money' but we refused, mainly because we only had large notes. I suggest you fix the price before hand so there are no surprises and bring small denominations.

Room Tip: For some reason our plug adaptors didn't work here but did in Rabat. They will lend you one thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi and thanks for the lovely post!
Just few words to say that we really advise to take the transfer provided by the riad instead of going on your own when you don't know.
Our location is in the same area than Pepe Nero in Moulay Idriss Douar Graoua( near the cousin's of the king's palace) with a car access fifty meters from the riad.
You might also come from the big square Jemma el Fna with following the Pepe Nero's panels from the Café de France but one again much better to take a transfer than having to deal with "local guides" who try sometimes as said to have too much money for really.. a little walk!
Yours , Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you enjoy exceptional hospitality, a hotelier who loves his work, you will find all of the reviews understatements. From the moment you are met at the airport until you are dropped off on your return, Oliver and his staff will provide you with exceptional service from sites to see to shopping in the Souks and how to negotiate a price to great places to eat traditional Moroccan food to travel arrangements to visit other parts of Morocco. We stayed10 days combining a global conference, business, and extra days for enjoying the sites. Upon our arrival we enjoyed refreshments on the third floor patio area where Oliver laid out a map and provided us with a general orientation of the city, where we were located, and discussed how Oliver could help with our itinerary making many suggestions and advising accordingly. Overall, the room was spacious, clean including the bathroom, food fantastic, the jacuzzi very welcoming with Harry [Harriet - actually he is a she turtle] Potter living nearby. We enjoyed the upper level patio for seeing out over the city and at night for viewing the ka-zillion stars we never see at home. Oliver arranged all our transfers in an air conditioned SUV driven by an exceptionally safe driver, Abdul who knows Morocco well and speaks very good English. One of our side trips included the High Atlas Mountains to shop for rugs, ceramics, and Moroccan specialties found in the mountains. Thanks to Oliver and his outstanding staff, we were able to relax with confidence. We would definitely return to Dar Najat knowing what a gem awaits us.

Room Tip: All the rooms face an interior open-air courtyard. We stayed in a corner room on the ground floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're wondering whether all the excellent reviews on here about this riad are for real (including this one!) - fear not! This place is 100% lovely! And they didn't ask me to say that! We can't recommend this riad highly enough, it really did 'make' our holiday for us. We wanted a comfortable place where we could relax and get a taste of the real Marrakesh (rather than some clinical International hotel) without spending a fortune. We got it at Dar Najat in spades!! It's beautiful - high quality décor, super clean, romantic, relaxed and friendly...with delicious breakfasts (freshly squeezed orange juice, pain au chocolate, omelette, fruit, bread, jam/butter, fresh coffee). The staff - Moo Moo, Oliver's son and the housekeeper - treated us like old friends from our first evening and the service was personal and impeccable. One of the few places we found in Marrakesh which serves alcohol too. We stayed three nights at first, then took a trip into the mountains / desert. We decided to then return for another two nights before moving on to Essaouirra where we chose to stay in their sister riad there. We would happily have considered staying in other riads as we only had 3 nights booked for our whole 10 day trip when we left England but Dar Najat was so special that we felt we'd found everything we wanted and needed to look no further. Perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.