We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're after quality......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Marrakech Deal
Ranked #27 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Baldock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“If you're after quality......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

....then look no further than this Dar in the Medina of Marrakech. This is where you are protected and cossetted from the chaotic atmosphere of the Medina. We took advantage of their offer of staying four nights and having our first dinner free with airport transfers included.

We chose the Sakina double room on the ground floor. Check out the website for details of the room (its very accurate).

The food is both excellent and plentiful (thank you Sakina) and you must try the chicken tagine with potatoes. Our meals were freshly prepared for us but you will have to book your evening meal. Mou-Mou was an excellent host in Oliver's absence for the first few days. The service at Dar Najat is attentive and discreet. At all times we were cared for as visiting friends.

If this is your first time in Marrakech you'll find the location of the Dar excellent for the Jemaa el Fna. We asked Oliver for a guide to help us around Marrakech and he put us in touch with Abdul who took us on two half-day trips within the city (600MAD for 4 hours; 900MAD for a day). From the UK, we had already arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains but we feel that the trip would have been better with Abdul.

We would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: When I go again I will choose a twin bedded room because space around the bed will make getting in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    84
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
377
56
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent 3 days in mid May 2013. I am in the main group of people who really appreciated the stay in this little hotel ( 7 rooms ).
The place is very clean and the athmosphere is really romantic, especially in the night.
For the newcomer in Marrakesh, Dar Najat can appear as a little fortress where to be protected from confusion and life of the Medina.
You can enjoy the life in the streets, the noisy athmosphere characteristic of Marrakesh, then open the door and relax in the inner court of the hotel or on the roof terrace.
No special new comment on staff hospitality, people before has already said all and enough on Olivier, Momo, Abdu, Sakina attitude.... you will discover yourself if you choose them to care about yourself in your stay in this town.
Try one night the meal on the terrace, you won't be disappointed, you will eat well in a silent and personal environment, suitable for romantic people and romantic situations like oure honey moon trip was, but not only for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There are many reasons to visit Marrakech. The vibrancy of the city has no equal, this in part is due to it's location as a trading post but also to the friendly nature of it's occupants. Riad Dar Najat exemplifies this in every way. Oliver says he looked at over 400 properties before choosing this one for his riad. His perseverance paid off. From the moment you trundle your suitcases over the cobbles, dodging the flying moped riders, through the narrow alleys of this essentially residential part of the old town you know you are in for a treat. Push open the door and your are transported into an oasis of tranquillity and calm. Attention to detail is everything and Oliver and his team have all the details covered. His infectious enthusiasm clearly carries over to all who work with him. A true home from home where you can be sure of the best attention at all times. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 day R+R after 1 week in the high Atlas. The Riad was beautiful,the rooms clean comfortable and airconditioned. The breakfast was excellent and kept us going all day.We ate in the Riad for the evening and wasn't disappointed with the beautiful tagine. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi on the roof. We were made so welcome that we felt we were staying with friends.Importantly Oliver accompanied us to the main square and made sure we new our bearing to get back to the Riad. He also arranged taxi transfers which were very reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending this for a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My girlfriend booked this Riad for us, and I was absolutely stunned by my stay here in May this year.

Nestled close to the main square (Jemaa el Fna) where all the action is, you feel like you're right in the center of it all, yet you can enter the Riad and it's completely tranquil. It's so well decorated and I felt right at home relaxing on the terraces, reading on a futon or chilling in the jacuzzi whilst being served the most delicious mint tea by the adorable Momo!

I generally don't bother reviewing because the majority of places I stay are fairly good, but the Riad dar Najat truly delivers exceptional service and a great experience. When I go back I wouldn't stay anywhere else, and will make sure to book my room way in advance.

They walked us to the main square (through the fun alleys) when we arrived to make sure we felt orientated and confident to go and explore the souks, and were always there with a big smile and helpful tips of what to see and where to go during your stay.

The restaurant (we ate there our first night, then booked again for our last night for a treat!) was the best food we had during the whole trip, so even if you don't stay, do make sure to book one evening to have a delicious tagine. It's difficult to describe how flavoursome the food was, the lemon chicken was so light refreshing, and the sweet lamb tagine was a beautiful way to finish the week. The breakfasts were also great, we thought the eggs, pancakes, croissants etc would all be options.. but no.. everything was brought over one by one! All fresh and sourced locally, really great food to wake up to.

I can't sing the praises of this place enough. Just book it and go, you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Dar Najat fro fiur days and experienced great friendlieness.
Oliver a young frenchman is the owner and established a quiet and wonderful oasis in the middle of Medina. He and his team can give excellent ideas to make your stay an unforgetable experience. The riad is a bit hidden but not far away from the large main squaire Jemaa El Fna. If you want to get to the Riad from the airport the best is to accept the offered pickup service by the hotel not to get lost in the small lanes of Medina which often do not even show a name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The riad was spotlessly clean with a modern design that still retained the moroccan essence. It was comfortable, tranquil and only a five minute walk from the main square. We booked four nights so were offered free transfers to and from the airport which removed any travel stress and we were also provided with a complimentary meal on the first night. Not only was this a lovely meal but undoubtably the best food we tasted in the entire stay. The outstanding point to make however is the level of service provided by Olivier and team which was absolutely excellent; personal but professional, friendly but discrete and nothing seemed too much trouble. If it weren't for the fact that this was a first time visit to Marrakech, we would have spent far more time there relaxing on the roof terrace or enjoying the patio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.