We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Marrakech Deal
Ranked #27 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basically perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I really have never stayed anywhere where the staff was so caring and genuinely concerned about our plans and wanting to help us have the best time possible. Me and my friend, two 20 year old girls, talked to the staff and they helped us figure out what would be best to do each day, and gave us advice on what to do in the city and what to be careful with. The riad was beautiful, and even just relaxing on the rooftop was perfect. The breakfast served each morning was delicious, and very very plentiful. I would absolutely recommend this Riad to anybody looking into it! Nothing was missing, and everything was perfect. I cannot recommend this place more, honestly. Perfect location and perfect staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    84
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
379
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you have never been to Marrakech before then Dar Najat would be a fantastic experience.I have stayed in many riads and would highly recommend Dar Najat
Olivier the owner is very hands on.I have stayed in many places where you would never seen the owner and the experience is less personal.It does make a difference when you have someone on hand to show you around and just give you some general advice.Straight away you feel relaxed and nothing is too much trouble.
The riad is very well located and is about a 6-7 minute walk from the square.Olivier and his team are on hand to walk you to the square so you have no fear of gettiing lost on your first day.
Away from the hussle of the medina the riad is really calm and peaceful and we spent a few evenings enjoyings some nice home cooked food.I asked for a Kefta Tagine which Moho cooked for us on our last night.It was the best I have tasted.
We enjoyed chilled out time on the terrace but also being able to walk to the squre in minutes was fantastic
The staff are all lovely and you feel like you are at home.I will definately return and I will look forward to another Kefta Tagine very soon.Thanks so much for making our trip such an easy and relaxing one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful 3 days spent in Dar Najat towards the tail end of our 9 day tour through Morocco. Momo the care taker is an absolute star, he is on his feet from morning until dont know when, but he was always around when we needed something. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the air-conditioning good, but given the building is in the heart of the old city, some of the rooms can be small, we changed from a smaller room to a bigger one during our stay. The service was so warm and attentive that we felt we were spending the time with close friends or family. I absolutely loved the terrace where we had breakfast and drinks each evening, but what I liked best was that there was no fixed time for breakfast which really allowed us to take things easy and at our own pace. We didnt eat dinner there but the other guests highly recommended it. Oliver the owner is very friendly and hospitable and provides good advice on spending time in Marrakech. He also runs a guesthouse in Eassouira, and although didnt get a chance to spend a night there on this trip; had to make do with a day trip ( highly recommend as an excursion though, best seafood ever), but hope to next time. The most outstanding thing was, someone was always there to listen and cater to your requirements.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from a 9-day trip to Marrakesh and Essaouira. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Riad Dar Najat. It's located in a traditional Moroccan house, a dar, in the Douar Graoua neighborhood in the medina on a quiet lane a short walk from Djemma El Fna. Its owner, Olivier, is French and his wife, Souad, is Moroccan. Oliver, Souad, and all the Moroccan staff here, including Momo, Sakina, and Mohammed, are warm and helpful. If you are worried about getting lost, someone will walk with you to make sure you know where you are going. If you need advice, they will provide it. if you need something, they will get it. The food is delicious. A great breakfast on one of the the outdoor terraces every morning (coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, semolina pancakes, croissants, eggs, Moroccan bread, jam, and butter, and fruit.) Dinner is also available if you want it--great appetizers, tajines, and couscous. The outdoor spaces are lovely--dinner under a carpet of stars listening to the sounds of children laughing and playing in the lane below. Breakfast in the sunlight among the plants and flowers, the birds chirping, with pet turtle Oscar underfoot. Plenty of places to sit quietly or hang out. Good Wifi The rooms are clean and comfortable, with air conditioning, or if it's chilly, as it was while we were there, a portable heater. One of the advantages of staying with Olivier is that he also owns a nice riad in Essaouira, Bab Essaouira, and it's easy to spend a few days in Essaouira, then come back to Dar Najat, without having to negotiate with two different hotels. Transport to and from the airport is included, and Olivier can help arrange excursions. The driver, Abdou, is a good guy, very reliable, and a good driver. As others have written, Dar Najat is an oasis of peace and quiet. That's important, because Marrakesh can sometimes feel overwhelming and exhausting. By time we left, we felt very much at home there. Go to the riad's Web site to see pictures. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is in a traditional Moroccan house, it is inside high walls with an interior court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our host, Oliver, was so accommodating and friendly. He sat with us and showed us all the best places to go on a map while we sipped Moroccan mint tea. The riad was right by the Djemaa El Fna but far enough away that it was peaceful and quiet. It is an absolutely breathtaking property and the service is nothing short of superb. Oliver secured a driver for us for 2 days and took care of us like royalty. If I'm ever back in Morocco, I'm heading straight there.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms. Each one is different. I saw 2 besides the one I was in and they were all am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights here with our two children (11 and 14). We chose the Riad because of its location and availability of twin beds, and good reviews. We were not disappointed at all. the Riad is very quiet, calm and beautifully decorated. The roof terrace is very relaxing and comfortable. The service was truly superb. We were cared for extremely well. The meal on our fisrt night was delicious and the breakfasts were lovely too. The en suite bathrooms had first rate showers and the rooms were very clean. My only criticism was our bed was described on the website as being a king size and it was more like a double. Otherwise - all lovely.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms quite cold in April
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We, a young couple from Berlin, had a wonderful stay at Dar Najat. The Riad is perfectly situated in the heart of the Medina.
The rooms are clean and cute, with lots of wood and traditional african art - still the place looks very modern and stylish with a lot of details and and beautiful plants.
We had dinner twice (Lamb & Chicken tangine), freshly prepared in the house kitchen, served on the cozy roof terrace. So good.
Their playlist is classy and well selected - Ray Charles, Eric Burdon, India Ari... mixed with great African music.

The owner and staff were really friendly and so helpful with everything - amazing hosts.

Marakesh is very busy, hot and can be stressfull - here we found a petfect oasis to take a break and chill.

We will be back!

B&T

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.