We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff ,Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Najat to your Saves list
Riad Dar Najat
Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COOLEST MARRAKECH DEAL
Ranked #21 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff ,Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staff at the Riad are very accomodating and are exceptional. They absolutely make a difference and treat all their guests with generous hospitality. The meal that Leila cooked for us was the best we had whilst in Morroco and she is definately a treasure.We enjoyed our time with the other staff members and are already missing the fun we shared with Ahmed , Amin,'Maroc'-Mohamed,Mohamed and Tarek. Sorry if spellings are incorrect or we have missed anyone out . Oliver was very hospitable and we saw him most days during our stay.The Riad is clean and the staff were always dusting and polishing and washing.The Riad is in a great location and we felt safe whilst out and about,and we soon got used to the sights , sounds, and smells of this completely different environment.The Riad has lovely charm , ambience and is nicely furnished , the bedding (although clean) could do with updating as a previous guest has already mentioned .But we would definately stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    86
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
87
393
63
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Compared to the prices of similar Riad's we did expect the quality of the furnishings, particularly the bedding, to be of a better quality, also we were placed in a room with 2 singles pushed together which again we didn't expect for that price and after specifically requesting a double.

It is a shame we didn't get to meet Oliver after extended communication with him before our trip, it seemed he had left a team of youngsters in charge.

However!

When we complained about the bed, our room was changed immediately without a problem; the free transfers were comfortable and on time; the breakfasts were good; the communal areas of the riad are lovely and the location is good (5 minutes from the "big square".

The highlight however was one guy in particular who spoke excellent English, gave us great advice on how much we should pay for some items we wanted to buy, saved us from a taxi-gone-wrong coming back from a trek in the mountains, stored our luggage safely while we trekked and even tried to source toys for our children that we had failed to buy in the square! He definitely needs some sort of promotion!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and request a specific room buy name when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hi dear guest!
First, thanks for nice words!
Sorry not to have the chance to see you if i hear you but. May i just say I’m on site 8 to 14 hours/day 7 days / week..but sometimes I did experiment not to see guests even when there and them too! as..some go on day trip very early and go back sometimes very late..and it can happen not to have the luck to meet some travelers even if for sure I try to have the best and direct contacts with all.
but again.. a little surprised as I’m in Marrakech in Dar Najat since 7 weeks without being in our other place in Essaouira on the coast..So sorry if not the luck to meet you and hope to have this chance another time.
I would say that even when not there…you may find the team (youngsters..) with Amin (our Bob Marley.).& Tarek & Aicha & Leila & Malika & Ahmed and Maroc are there to provide the best and we are numerous team to try to do our real best for you with or without me!
i would just say few things regarding your nice post apart the fact that i didn’t meet you unfortunately as it appears:
1)furniture and bed are in the highest standard and all creations and unique in the best essences of wood and done with the most respectable way of production to have the best and only the best.
You may like or dislike the design which is logical but regarding the quality ,again ,dear guest ,we are really creating and buying the best and nothing less.
and..we totally renovate and restructured all the Riad and with also ALL brand new and with highest standards:
The total re looking and work finished in august 2011 after two months of huge work and i don't think that your words do justice to the place where you can find a unique art craft creations and Art from Africa that you didn't ever noticed in your post.
Regarding the bed ,right!
better to have a real double bed than two singles put together but in any Riads in the medina ,when you have the choice with two possible configurations ,it is the same way to do it :or twins or a double bed but again ,i agree on this point ,right ,better having a real double bed and not two singles! you will find the souad & sakina & widded & guizelaine which are only in double beds ( and not in twins) to have a better comfort for the doubles bed accommodations my friends.
The other three accommodations of the riad ,Leila & walida and noura are declinable in twin or doubles ,good to know!
I would just say that we upgraded you to a real double bed room at the minute you did asked and without any extra if I’m not wrong..(so all in all..no shame maybe..)
Last .even if your post is nice and friendly ..calling the team "youngsters" who are clearly dedicated to the guests and their welfare…seems a little odd to me.
..the "youngsters" are kind of family and i will say nice and generous people with the most attentive sense of hospitality(& rather fun.) and all work in dar najat since numerous years.. and i regret even if your post is globally nice that you employ this term of "youngsters" which doesn’t seem appropriate or so nice dear guests.
We are really more than concerned by again having you totally glad of your experience in dar najat and sorry when a guest doesn’t find the place not totally" great "as we try day by day to improve the place and service to provide the best and in the most sincere way to have our guests becoming some kind of friends and ambassadors of the Riad if you prefer.
So..i hope you will give us an extra chance to give you a total satisfaction in a future trip.
With respect ,sincerely yours ,Oliver& team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This riad is a hidden jewel in a great city. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, wonderful food. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Superb food and a really friendly vibe in the heart if the medina

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I had the most wonderful trip to Marrakech mostly due to Oliver and his most thoughtful crew. I loved Marrakech and I plan to return and will again stay at Riad Dar Najat. I was made to feel so welcome and among friends from the minute the driver picked me up at the airport until I left. I will always be grateful for all of the kindness that was shown to me! I can not wait to go back! Thanks, Oliver, and everyone in your house. You have a remarkable group.
With gratitude,
Leslie LeBaron Patton

Room Tip: I stayed in the Widad room, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Wonderful riad with attention to every detail without the commercial feeling. The owner, frenchman Oliver resident in Morocco for 25 years, and his wonderful staff makes their riad the perfect oasis in between excursions in the charming and "exotic" but rather kaotic city. When we arrived, we were immediately shown to the rooftop, seated in the warming sun and served "breakfast" (even though 11.30 am) by the smiling staff. And the genuine hospitality lasted until we left our escort at the airport going home. They also arranged a one-day trip to the Atlas mountains with a very nice guide, including a visit to a Berber market (on Thursdays only!) making you feel 1000 years back in time (I really recommend not to miss this!) and a nice walk to the waterfalls.
And please note that Dar Najat has their own kitchen/resataurant, although you always have to book in advance. We had one dinner here and it really made me convinced that Morroccan cuisine is one of the absolute best in the world.
As long as you are not after a large, luxury hotel with multiple restaurants and a mega-gym, it it virtually impossible to be disappointed with this place! Thanks Oliver!
Please note that this rating is authentic. Sometimes ratings are faked by dishonest people, but if you want to check, please send me a message.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Everything they say about Oliver, the owner, is completely true. He's a warm, friendly, talkative Frenchman, with equally helpful staff, especially Ahmed L'artiste. Makes a big difference to a holiday. When he heard that I'd brought my partner here as a birthday treat, he immediately invited us to have dinner that evening. It was the best couscous that we had in Marrakech. He gave us a mobile phone while we were there in case we got lost and needed someone to guide us back. The Riad was beautifully appointed. Even though our room and bathroom were a little on the small side, the service more than made up for it. It was a short walk from the lively and chaotic Jamaa el Fna and felt like an oasis. Also if you like a drink, it is almost impossible to get one in the Medina unless you're having dinner so we'd often pop back to the Riad for a drink before eating in the main square.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat"Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Najat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.