We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great riad in a peaceful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hayane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Hayane to your Saves list
Riad Hayane
Derb Kbala No 147 | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Riad Ksiba)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
1 review
“A great riad in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I only stayed at ksiba for 3 nights but thought it was a great, basic riad. Ali and the rest of the staff were excellent; the rooms simple but classic riad style; a medium walk to the main square but easy to find; a peaceful and understated place to stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We received such a warm welcome from Ali and the room was beautiful with rose petals strewn throughout - very romantic. We only stayed one night and it was it a bit too far from the central square so ate in a nearby local restaurant and had the best night in Marrakech! A truely tranquil riad and wonderful breakfast. Ali couldn't do enough for us. The bed was so comfortable and huge!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We were greeted with wonderful pastries, and mint tea. This was a very quiet and contemplative "sanctuary" - that was a welcome calm after the hubub of the city. The central pool, calm plaster walls and quiet rooms were great. The open showers and fresh rose petals on the towels daily were a nice touch

Great breakfasts - wonderful fry bread, cakes and jam. They also gave us great recommendations on local places for dinner.

Local trip to Atlas Mountains was fabulous too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We were welcomed with tea by a rose petal strewn pool and the news of an unexpected upgrade to the first floor rooms- more light and quieter if someone else has an early breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble, from a chilled glass of wine on the roof terrace to translating the cultural divide that enabled two of us to visit the local hamman. Yes, it is a 15-20min walk into the centre of town, but that gave ample opportunities for taking in the life of the streets unencumbered by other tourists.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We only had one night here before moving on, but it was a perfect introduction to Morocco. We received a warm welcome and excellent refreshments. We were personally escorted a good part of the way into the centre in the evening. Breakfast in the coutyard was fantastic. Overall a lovely location with helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Marrakesh can be hard work so was nice to be in quite a bustling part of the city but be in perfect peace and quiet inside the Riad. The staff couldn't have been more considerate, helpful and friendly - to the extent of lending us cash when we had had trouble with the ATMs! The room was pleasant and comfortable - the strewn rose petals were a nice touch. The public areas esp the roof terrace were comfortable and interestingly and attractively decorated. We had our meal there the night we arrived and it was one of the two best meals we had the whole of our stay. The location was excellent, all the major attractions of the medina within walking distance but away from the major crowds. Mind you, we like to walk, if you don't you can pick up a taxi from outside the nearby Bab Ksiba or the staff will order you one. We loved it and would go back and recommend it to others. I'd say however that any traditional Riad is not the place for you if you expect your accommodation to provide entertainment and all 21st century hotel mod cons. Steep stairs, open plunge pools, lots of ornaments make them, I think, unsuitable for small children. Paying electronically we found could be a problem throughout Morocco; one problem is actually connections, we had probs at ATMs, and as for credit cards remember they get less money if you pay by card and Morocco is not a rich country.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Not quite as lovely as photos indicate, just Ok. Nothing to do in riad. It is just that bit too far from centre of town to bother returning in the day. Maybe better in summer when you could sunbathe on roof terrace. Ali was very obliging. However breakfast out in the cold was none too special. No heating in the riad except for the electric heater in our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayane

Address: Derb Kbala No 147 | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Riad Ksiba)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hayane with 6 rooms has been recently renovated with passion and enthusiasm, while maintaining its authentic architectural structure. It is located in the Kasbah area of the Medina of Marrakesh, close to the Royal Palace and unavoidable tourist places (Saadian Tombs, the Bahia and El Badi Palace). The famous Jemaa El Fna Square and the souks are reached in 15 minutes walking. The riad is easy to find (ask the Bab Ksiba). To go out in the city, taxis just waiting for you at the door. If you have a car, parking is 60m from the riad (20 Dhs per day or 1.80€), the airport is at 10 minutes. Emilie & Franck - the host - and the entire team of Riad Hayane are at your disposal to ensure you a memorable stay and guide you to explore the richness and effervescence of the city of Marrakech and its surroundings. Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Hayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hayane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.