We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff, a few cheeky extras though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Bougainvilliers to your Saves list
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and staff, a few cheeky extras though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited marrakech in June 2014 and stayed at this riad. Beofre we went, I emailed Philippe, the manager, and arranged transfers to and from the Airport and was told this was free. When we arrvied we were greeted at the main road by a guy with a wheelbarrow for our luggage. He then took us through a narrow street to our riad. Upon entering the riad, Monsef greeted us and told us to make ourselves at home - nice touch!

The riad itself is like staying at someones house! Lovely personal feel and staff are all lovely! We stayed on the ground floor near the pool and the room was immaculate. A little on the dark side but so very clean! There is no TV in the room or tea/coffee making facilities - although you can order tea/coffee - for a surcharge! The rooftop is fantastic, not great views, but a lovely spot to hang out, sunbathe etc.

We stayed on a B&B basis, and breakfast was nice! Moroccan bread, yoghurt, tea/coffee, fruit, pastries and pancakes.

Location is fantastic, only one straight street leading right into the main square, which is where we hung out most of the time. The street is narrow, but you don't feel intimidated at all, even when walking at night, because it is lined with shops and is always busy.

The only reason this place didn't get the full five stars is because when we were given our bill at the end of the stay, there was an additional £20 or so added for airport transfers, When I showed the staff my email conversation with the manager, stating that airport transfer was free of charge, they said that only applied one way! A little cheeky to say the least, but we grinned and paid reluctantly!

Overall, a lovely place to stay with a fantastic location, just clear all details fully with Philippe before you go!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    44
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
116
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The sheer volume of places to stay in Marrakech is overwhelming. So glad my family of 4 chose this riad. I emailed Phillipe prior to our stay and he arranged transportation to and from the train station as well as an excursion. We arrived at 8:30 am and the staff graciously stowed our bags until our room was ready for check in. Great location - easy to find and navigate the medina and quick access to Jemaa el-Fna. The breakfast was lovely and the staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly. Highly recommend - an amazing value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for several nights in May 2014. The riad was a peaceful and beautiful place to retreat from all of the activity of the city. Breakfasts in the dining room were wonderful. The rooms were very nicely furnished and the rooftop garden was the perfect place to enjoy sunset. The staff were amazingly polite and attentive. There is a beautiful small pool in the middle of the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. The staff could not of been more helpful and friendly. Marrakech was busy and fun and when we got back to our Riad it was another world of peace in such a hectic place. Overall all the people we met were very pleasant, spoke or tried to speak English and never tried to sell something we did not want. Highly recommend a weekend in Marrakech and do stay here, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: I can only say that the two rooms we stayed in were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

12-19 April 2014
If you're trying to choose a Riad in the Medina look no further. This is the one!
We emailed the Riad and got prompt replies from Philippe (the owner) each time and booked it directly (missing out the confusing booking agents). It's pretty, exceptionally clean, very comfortable, great food, friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Great location near all the sites, even got a small courtyard pool and sun deck up top.
Monsa arranged pick up and drop off at the airport, directed us to the best rates for bureau de change........and all best price amongst similar Riads.
Don't think about it - just book it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at this Riad from 4th-8th May 2014 with my wife, young child and two other family members. Prior to my stay I communicated with the owner (Philipe) a few times via emal with questions and queries that I had and he promptly responded. We arranged for the Riad to pick us up from the airport and we found the driver waiting for us at the arrivals hall. After a short drive we arrived near Jemma El Fna and following a short walk (5 mins) we arrived outside the Riad. The riad is easy to locate, it is just through on long alleyway from Jemma el Fna, Upon arrival at the riad we were gretted by a member of staff who did not speak any English but that did not put us off as she had a lovely warm smile and directed us to rooms. We had booked a double and a twin room but as he had a toddler with us the riad kindly allocated us with a family suite on the ground floor and a twin room on the first floor. The rooms are bright and clean along with rest of the property. The breakfast is good comprising of freshly served orange juice, moroccan bread, tea.coffee, pancakes, jam, butter, cheese fruit and yogurt although fried breakfast would have been good as well. I cannot fault the Riad at all, the staff went out of their way to assist us including Hannan, two other ladies (forgive me but I cannot recall your names) who were there during the day and sometimes in the evening and not forgetting Yassin (night manager) who us oustanding and took time out to talk to us about moroccan culture and general chit chat. The only negatives I found but not a complaint is regards to the bathroom in our room. It had a bath tub with a shower head without any shower curtains and each time we took a shower the floor would flood slightly. I informed the manger and he apologied and thanked me for bringing this to his attention. The riad is located well and easy to find as mentioned earlier it is only minutes away from Jemma El Fna through one long alley way, which has loads of shops. It has a plunge pool, terrace with sunbeds, free wi-fi and a living room/public area with a T.V and nice seating area. I would recommend this Riad to everyone for it's outstanding customer service, cleanlness and excellent location. I am already planning to go back next year and wil be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our stay at this Riad les Bougainvilliers was not as expected. The rooms are comfortable and clean and it’s all very pleasant, but probably could do with some updating, especially in the dark bathrooms. The breakfast was hit and miss, not exactly enticing compared to other Riads we have stayed in. The real disappointment was that we were due to come back for another night after visiting the Atlas mountains. Despite booking the family room 3 months in advance it was suddenly no longer available and we were told that 4 of us were going to have share a standard room. The reason for the sudden unavailability was their pre-existing contracts with booking agents. In return for their business the Riad guarantees the availability of a number of rooms. This Riad decided to take our booking on the ‘gamble’ that they would probably be able to accommodate us. As soon as it become clear that all of their bookings agents needed their rooms they simply informed us that they had lots of bookings and they could no longer provide our room. The staff were very apologetic, understood our anger and disappointment and ultimately found us an alternative Riad. So my advice for you is have a look at Riad Dar Al Assad– wonderful rooms, great breakfast and lovely service. Next time we go to Marrakech this is where we will be staying ….

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Address: 5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Bougainvilliers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakesh 4-star Riad les Bougainvilliers, located in Riad Zitoune Lakdim, only five minutes away from the Djemaa el Fna square, offers a special holiday in Morocco, in one of the country's most enchanting cities, rich in souks, narrow streets, palaces, mosques, handicraft and Islamic Art Museums. Passed the Riad's entrance you will be fascinated by a patio hosting a flowered garden with banana and palm trees. A second patio hosts the swimming pool, while the indoor lounge and the terrace offer the ideal atmosphere to read a book and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Les Bougainvilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Bougainvilliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.