We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Bougainvilliers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close to the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Only ten minutes from the square via dusty roads. Not difficult to find once you have been shown. A taxi takes you close but get the Riad to send a man with a cart for your luggage to get you to your door. Best get Riad to book the taxi transfer rather than pay over the top via tour operators.
Lovely traditional building with courtyards and balconies. Always beautifully clean. Large fluffy white towels and bath robes. We had a huge room,bathroom,separate toilet and a balcony. Good breakfasts in Moroccan style. Fresh orange juice,bread,cheese,jams,fruit. Dinner by arrangement . Very much home cooking , a three course Moroccan meal but with no choices. Generous portions. Would be nice to know more than a day in advance about the meals and to sample things you don't get in the local restaurants which sell tagines and couscous and not much else. But the cook will make food you like if you ask.
Riad staff are all excellent with the highest standards of service. Trips can be arranged for you. We went to the mountains for the day and to a hammam. There is a roof garden where you can use loungers. Our only problem was the heating that didn't work but was fixed quickly. A wood fire was made in our room during the repair which was lovely. The dining room was cold and needs a fire on in the evening but rose petals on the table are a lovely touch. We visited in February when it was quite cold at night.in summer you would be glad of the cool rooms. Improvements we would suggest are an information book detailing local attractions . A good choice for a medium priced accommodation. Staff speak French,Arabic and English. We enjoyed our stay and had a lot of laughs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    41
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We decided to spend a couple of days in a riad in the middle of the medina before spending some time in a resort during our visit to Marrakech.
The place is nice and clean if a bit basic, but for the prices we really cannot complain. The service was phenomenal, friendly and quick.
The location was excellent with a quick walk to the main square and most of the major attractions.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

It is all those things,that all the previous excellent reviews say it is.
Staff,charming. Room,stunning. Breakfast,perfect. Cool and peaceful.
Short and interesting walk from Jeema el Fna.
Marrakech is bustling and great fun, perfect for a short break.
Bougainvilliers is calm and well managed, perfect for a short break.
Oh, I could go on, just read the others. They say it all.
Highly recommended, top of our list for our next visit.
Thanks to all the very efficient and friendly staff we had the perfect stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Ideal location, just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main square but amazingly calm and peaceful. Clean, fresh rooms with some quirky touches - the bathroom in our room was particularly interesting! Lovely roof top terrace and plenty of public spaces in which to enjoy mint tea and pastries. The staff were especially delightful, very polite, gentle and pleased to help.
We will certainly return to Marrakech and this riad would be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Riad Les Bougainvilliers was a true oasis in the craziness of the Marrakech medina. While the staff/service was the highlight, the raid itself was very nice as well. The outside, like everything in the medina, is completely nondescript and the entrance is an unmarked door in a dark side street in the medina. At times of the night the side street might be a touch sketchy, in particular the corner nearest the riad where some young men tend to hang out and chat, but they never caused any trouble or really paid us any heed whatsoever.

We arrived at the airport on a late flight and we were met by a shuttle driver from the shuttle that we had arranged (not free by the way - we were charged at checkout - but worth it). He drove us about ten minutes and parked outside of the neighborhood and walked us through the dark streets to the Riad. We were met at the door by the kind and friendly Yassin who told us that they had prepared a small late dinner for us, which we weren't expecting but we ate thankfully. It was really delicious and it was served by the truly kind woman who cleans and cooks (we didn't catch her name). She was really delightful although her English is non-existent. She also took care of the breakfast every morning and did all the room cleaning when we were there. Yassin told us that he had upgraded our room to a suites just because there was room, which was really great of him! The room was by pretty and nice and clean. It's no luxury or five star hotel in terms of fanciness/glitz, but it was very nice.

As I said, the service is the absolute highlight of Riad Les Bougainvilliers. Everything was done with a smile, and they were infinitely helpful. They arranged a guide for us on our first day (he was okay - not great; had some strange vaguely anti-American things to say) and it was a wonderful relief to get back to the riad after our half-day tour! I consulted with the guys at the Riad about tips finding stuff in the Souk and whatever advice they had.

On our last day, we had an overnight train to catch, and we asked if they had some snacks we could take with us for the journey. We waited for about 15 minutes, and to our surprise, they came back with a bag full of eats! Delicious homemade bread with some cheese and butter, some yogurt snacks, and plenty of water! All in all, we don't know if we will be back to Marrakech anytime soon, and if we do, staying in the Medina might not be our choice the second time around, but we highly recommend Riad Les Bougainvilliers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Philippe and the staff at Les Bougainvillers were amazing. The riad is a perfect retreat from the often manic streets of Marrakesh. Perfect location for the old town and many of the tourist spots. Breakfast included was simple but ample (pancakes, bread, yogurt, fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee). Would recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: Anthémis Suite was perfect - had a bath, big room, balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here mid-December 2013 had a great few days, and what a peaceful, tranquil haven away from the amazing surrounding area. Would definitely go back again :') Was a great idea to have the Riad to arrange our pick up at the airport that was really nice to have someone waiting for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Address: 5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Bougainvilliers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakesh 4-star Riad les Bougainvilliers, located in Riad Zitoune Lakdim, only five minutes away from the Djemaa el Fna square, offers a special holiday in Morocco, in one of the country's most enchanting cities, rich in souks, narrow streets, palaces, mosques, handicraft and Islamic Art Museums. Passed the Riad's entrance you will be fascinated by a patio hosting a flowered garden with banana and palm trees. A second patio hosts the swimming pool, while the indoor lounge and the terrace offer the ideal atmosphere to read a book and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Bougainvilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Bougainvilliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.